Steemit Open Mic Week 83- Not Tonight // Gentle Ben Atkins (Original Song)

in #openmic6 years ago

mus25.jpg

Howdy Folks!! First of all, thanks so much to everyone who took the time to listen to my entry last week. I really appreciate all the love. I was so encouraged by all the positivity that I'm submitting another song for Steemit Open Mic week 83!!

Sometimes when I'm feeling particularly down on myself, I have a tendency to seclude myself and shut out the people who care about me the most. I wrote this song to give a voice to that feeling. I hope y'all like it :)

Lyrics

The eyes of my ceiling have seen things that could make a prostitute shy
The walls of my bedroom could tell stories that would make an honest man cry
I've been lost before, but I swear I never wanted to die
So if I lock the door, just please leave me be babe and turn off the light
'Cause tonight ain't the night

When I was a child the world frightened me sick so I'd hide
But my skin's grown so thick now my body's its own damn disguise
I've done wrong before, and its not 'cause I thought it was right
So when I cross the Jordan I pray the Lord wraps me in white
'Cause my rotten core is equal parts shame, lust, and pride
So if I lock the door just leave me the key, love, and go on out the side
'Cause tonight ain't the night

Sort:  

Wow, just wow. First, thank you for sharing that song, a song that is so raw and honest. To say that it touched me would be an understatement.... your talent is awe inspiring, and the ability to touch others so deeply with that talent is a true gift. ❤️❤️❤️

well damn, those are some of the nicest words anyone has ever shared with me. its really rewarding to know that i can share something that came from a really dark lonely place and it can resonate with people. i sincerely appreciate you taking the time to listen, and write me that sweet message. stay tuned for more music :)

Wish you would come back, I miss hearing your music ❤️

God damn your voice is powerful and emotional. And the guitar playing is solid aswell. Keep it up man

Cheers!

bass guuuy, thank you so much dude. its a lot of emotions in here trying to get out haha, im glad you can hear it.

Np mate, always.
If you ever need a bass, let me know ^^
my name is that.bass.guy on Discord

Great follow up, brother... Nice, man! I feel the pain, dude... I guess that's the point though... :-)

Tienes algo que decir y eso es lo más importante. Tu voz transmite rabia, tristeza y determinación. Muy buen tema!!!

Your post received an upvote by the @illuminati-Inc music curation team and its partner @curie.

You may consider voting for the Curie witness; all witness payouts are used to fund Curie operations including but not limited to more than 10 curation teams (vote here).

Congratulations @gentle.ben! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @gentle.ben! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Use your witness votes and get the Community Badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60238.27
ETH 3215.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46