Openmic Songwriters Challenge Week 7 - tired of trying

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

Hello my fellow Steemians,

I'm so excited to have reached the second to last week of the Songwriters Challenge!


Why? Because it is a great achievement not only for me personally but for all of us that participated and also....

Because I'm not really happy with my song this week and rather look forward to write a banger next week, hopefully.

This is the right place and right time to thank all the organisers and sponsors of this event as well as all the judges for the amazing work they do providing the opportunity for us all to be able to showcase our work and have an audience. Thank you so much!😍


A lot of things happened this week and inspiration wasn't one of them!

With the existing songs with the "right place right time" lingering in my head it was super hard for me to come up with something original.

Also I wanted to write a different song as what I normally do. Didn't work out as well.

So I'm just ticking this one off my list and move on. Proud of myself for not missing a single week!


Without further adoo, here is my entry for this week.

Oops again I forgot to include the lyrics:
Here they are:

TIRED OF TRYING

Never been at the right place, right time
When have I ever hit the nail on its head
Found a chest full of promises
And a heart filled with regret

I'm so tired of trying
Never finding a way
I'm so tired of crying
hurt's not going away

All the things I've done and tried
All the failures all the times I lied
All add up to a wasted life
If it wasn't for you

I'm so tired of trying
Never finding a way
I'm so tired of crying
hurt's not going away

You were the best thing I ever had
Worth all the mistakes I ever made
So that's why I cannot keep losing (you)
We'll stay together for good

I'm so tired of trying
Never finding a way
I'm so tired of crying
hurt's not going away


See you all again next week
Until then

Lots of

Geena


Sort:  

Hi Geena! I was wondering how you might feel if I did a cover of your song 'Tired of Trying'. I read @pechichemena's cover an artist initiative and this was one of the first songs which came to mind as one I would like to cover. I have worked out a version on piano which I have not yet recorded. All the SBD earnings from the post would be transferred to you. xo

I would be honoured! I have seen @pechichemena 's post and was hoping someone would come around wanting to cover one of my songs! I am not good at performing so I am confident you could make something out of this raw version of mine! Can't wait to hear what you did. Thank you ! x

reading this makes me happy :D!

Such a lovely and thoughtful post preceded what I think is a really good thematic composition! You did better than you think here, Geena! The vocal melodies are great! Nice entry, girl!

Thank you that means a lot coming from you. Again I forgot to include the lyrics, so I edited them in.

Nice one. Remeber to add the lyrics to your post, please. Thanks

Keep forgetting those! Edited them in! Thank you!

Hey Geena! I agree with passion-ground, this is way better than you made out in the pre-amble! I have to say, I found this week hard as well....its the most stuck for lyrics Ive been so far, but hey! Here we are right? 7 weeks in and puffing towards the finish line! haha :) We can be very proud of ourselves and lets make this last week a BANGER just like you said!

Thank you Basil! It's funny because it's just an online challenge and I have no chance of even coming into the first five but nonetheless I'm excited and proud of myself and everyone that participated. I fully intend to have as much fun as possible with this last week. x

exactly :) that is precisely the spirit! I feel proud as well. I think we all should.....its no small feat to write 8 songs in 8 weeks ALL to someone elses themes! Thats like working in the bloody industry for a tv channel or something!

hey geena

you've got a really nice voice!! and what a sincere song! congratulations
we will follow you to hear more nice songs! go on this way

Thank you and same, followed to see and hear more of you guys!

Feeling you on this, Geena. Well done, this is a sweet song (it's actually pretty catchy!) and you have a really great voice. It is strong and sweet at the same time. xoxo

That's so lovely of you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62980.19
ETH 3123.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87