Steemit Open Mic week 91 - Chapters Just Begun - Original Song by Darren Claxton

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

Hi guys! Here's my Open Mic entry this week.

Here's a song I wrote last week, when I got home from work.
My children were happily playing, and let me record it quickly before mauling me like an over sized man-child puppy!
Being a busy parent with a full time job and love for song writing often finds me fighting for time to get my head and heart full of ideas, out and down on paper. On those rare occasions that I get some free time, I'll even capture the audio!


Lyrics

A long long time ago
my boiling blood would flow
straight into my head
caused me oh such shame
and other peoples pain
constant feelings strained

I've flaws that you can see
and others I can feel
but most of them are gone
most of all I'm me
the only one I'll be
refreshing constantly

Take me by the sea
let me tell you stories
of how I used to be
lead me down the road
stories left untold
and chapters just begun
chapters just begun

years and years rolled by
I sat and wondered why
where it all went wrong
the patience that I found
had pinned me to the ground
my tempers almost gone

Take me by the sea
let me tell you stories
of how I used to be
lead me down the road
stories left untold
and chapters just begun
chapters just begun

Take me by the sea
let me tell you stories
of how I used to be
take me down the road
of tales left untold
and chapters just begun
chapters just begun

I've flaws that you can see
and others I can feel
but most of them are gone
most of all I'm me
the only one I'll be
refreshing constantly


Thank you so much for your continued support for me and my music! It really is so appreciated and I just love sharing my stories and thoughts with you all here!

Have a great weekend whatever you are doing!
Darren



▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Sort:  

Steemit_Open_Mic_Winner.png

You won some Steem which you'll find in your wallet and also a 5-card packet of SteemMonster cards with your name on it you can find on SteemMonsters.com

Click here to see who won Open Mic this week:

Steemit Open Mic Week 91 Winners See Who Won Open Mic And Join Us This Week --- by @luzcypher

Hey @luzcypher That's so much for your support! It means a lot to me man!
The Steem and cards are just the cherry on top of the cake!

Cherries! I love cherries!

We have @steemmonsters and @aggroed to thank for those cards.

Ooohh am I really the first comment, and it's already 21 minutes in? I'm gonna type quickly because I have to log off.. but I had to say how beautiful this is, Darren. I've already told you how much I love it, but will say it again here all nice and proper-like... I LOVE IT.

It's like you never run out of energy to whip out the magic. And I dont think I've ever heard you sing out of key. Mystery of life.. Darren Claxton. ♥

You are the first!!!
Thank you! thank you! thank you! for all your love Serena! I'm flattered that you love Chapters so much! being loved by an artist that I love in return, is a really beautiful exchange of musical wonder! Mystery of life! Love it! I might write a song about that one day.
I wish you a great evening Serena!
Thank you again!
D
xx

It was an honour to listen to it live and now here. :) Master of Ballads. Really beautiful song.

Thank you so much Pris you beautiful soul you!!!!

hahah I get tiring saying... oh Darren this is my fav... LOL hahaha like each one that comes up ahhaha XD ahhaha It's really a gorgeous theme.

WHOO!! have a great week too sir, love it.

My steemit Ed-Sheeran. This is mind-blowing, couldn't wait till the song finishes before I made my comment. It's just too wonderful and great to be ignored, I'm contented as usual. Just keep up the good work and I'm sure you're gonna hit not only the street but the world as a whole someday.

As always a beautiful subject, you always delight us with your good songs, an incredible voice I love, what talent you have enjoy listening to you

Dang Darren, you are one incredible muti-tasker, brother! If you do everything else as good as you compose and perform music, I must consider you a true "Superman!" Great song, man - love it!

omg you have a really beautifull voice, so lovely <3 grettings from Venezuela
i follow you

@darrenclaxton, your song was selected to be part of the initial collection set of trading cards for the album of Steemit OpenMic.
Congratulations !!

read more about:

Hi there!
That's great news!
Thanks for your ongoing support!
DC

Darren, I'm one of your funs. I meet you with the song "Resolve" which I love (and by the way, it has its own card).

You have like 5 trading cards waiting for you to claim the authorship. Once you do that you will start getting upvotes from your followers and your cards will be competing for the openmic Trading card competition at the end of the year.

Please, login and claim your cards authorship because you deserve be one of the winners of this contest.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57610.17
ETH 3118.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39