You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Open Mic Week 59 - Record Your Performance And Win Steem - Sponsored By @pfunk And @luzcypher

in #openmic7 years ago

This week I wrote a fun little song called Mediocre.


Here is the link to my post, where I link to my other recent originals. I'd love it if you'd check 'em out! Thanks!

Sort:  


I FEEEEEEL this.

Lovely song @chrisroberts. I love the twang of your voice, sounds awesome

LOL Thanks! I don't actually even talk like that. The words just always come out that way when I write country songs. I guess I'm a redneck at heart.

Haha well it's great! You've got talent there so maybe you should keep going with it! I'd like to hear your other stuff too in that case

Classic! Funny–sure, and childlike–yeah, and at the same time there's a real sophistication in it. First, the message feels like a positive affirmation: "I am enough," or "I accept myself exactly as I am." It honestly feels like a very meaningful song to me. Reminds me of the sentimental songs of Randy Newman, and the kiddie verses of They Might Be Giants, with the folkiness of Matt The Electrician... Ooh, and I admire your videography, with that rich vignette and scratchy old-timey film effect, along with the tumbleweed lamp and ukulele I see in the background. This is a standout #openmic entry, in my opinion.

That's really cool, I appreciate your feedback! You seem to get where I'm coming from. It's true. Comparisons are hard. The idea of mediocrity comes from comparing to others. I may have a really healthy ego and a good level of confidence, but to be completely honest, this song came out of one of my less confident days. I'm extremely new to this songwriting game, but so far I like to wrap some heavy issues in cute and clever lyrics. I'm looking forward to expanding my horizons in @meno's upcoming songwriting competition.

Thank you so much for your thoughtful comment, and I'm so glad you enjoyed my song!

I love your song sir..

Lovely. And squeezing the word "dissertation" into any uke song deserves an upvote!

Thanks! I'm glad you noticed. I like when I can fit in the occasional 5 dollar word.

This was thoroughly entertaining. Thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61098.19
ETH 2625.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63