Open Mic Songwriter's Challenge - Week One - "Act My Age"

in #openmic7 years ago

I have really been looking forward to this Songwriter's Challenge, not only because I am in need of a guitar, but I love the inspiration competition like this can provide.


Here is my first entry in @Meno's contest! The topic this week was Broken Mirror.



Act My Age

Lyrics

As I'm chokin' smoke into this broken mirror,
The lines on my face have never been clearer,
What have I done? Tell me, what have I done?
I've lost the one thing in the world that kept me feeling young.

Don't know how or why I kept you this long,
But I'm not gonna cry, I'll just write me a song,
What can I say? Tell me, what can I say?
Trash my place if you want, I'll clean it up in a day.

CHORUS
You can break all the mirrors,
You can leave and take my car.
You can thank me for the quarter tank,
But it won't get you far,
You can wake all the neighbors
In your fit of jealous rage,
'Cause now I'm through, should've known that you
Could never learn to act my age.

VERSE
I knew you were wild, but I just couldn't tame you,
Now my stuff's in a pile, going up in flames, you
Set me free, you know you set me free.
I'm better off already girl can't you see.

CHORUS
You can break all the mirrors,
You can spread all the lies,
Go for broke, make me a joke,
But that won't make you wise.
You can take all my money,
'Cause I work for my wage,
Now I'm through, should've known that you
Could never learn to act my age.


I was lucky to get this recording done, as the very next chord I played broke my g-string. You can hear the tone really slipping at the end of the video. I hope I can find a new set of strings before Wednesday; It's harder than I expected to write a song on demand in just five days.



@Meno's one of the grooviest cats in all Steemland. This contest is his brainchild, and he's generously sponsoring with an amazing Grace Harbor guitar as the prize.

Thanks to @luzcypher, @passion-ground, @krystle, and @meno for judging!


Sort:  

I think I'm going to be backing you in this great contest! I might pop in for a week or two throughout the 8, but the entire steem blockchain would benefit with getting @chrisroberts a new guitar!!!

Thanks! I really appreciate the support.

The odds may be stacked against me, but I have the power of positive thinking! After eight weeks, guitar or no guitar, I'll sure as heck be better at songwriting!

Nice song, man. Good job. Thanks for entering.

That was great!! how long did it take you to write it?

i don't think i have seen you on open mic before... are you new?
Upvoted!

This first week's entry was tough for me. I had a bunch of ideas that I was wrestling with all weekend, then on Sunday I realized that the deadline was monday. I then had to make a decision and write a song. This is a crazy challenge for me; usually my creativity doesn't have a good consistent discipline.

I've actually entered a few songs in #openmic, but right now I'm focusing on the #songwriterschallenge. My open mic entries have mostly been satiric country songs I wrote.

Thanks for watching!

Awesome! I have never in the past been able to write just because... i have to have an emotional reason to, otherwise nothing good comes out. So far, for the challenge i have been able to write.. and with specific themes in mind... i never thought I would.. but so far so good. Let’s see hie it goes with the ither themes lol

Nice one... Music is soul

Thanks for listening!

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

Nice entry, Chris!

Ok and after 8 weeks when you win the new guitar I want to see you putting out an album - the best of early steemit

Yeeha! Tip!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44