🎵 Steemit Open Mic Week 62 - “I Bloom” (Original Song)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

My daughter created this colorful "yain-dio" (that's her way of saying "reindeer").

“I Bloom”

A song about showing up and doing my best, wherever I am.

The Story

Our family holds a nightly ritual of singing together at bedtime and this is the song my daughter requests most often. The song's high-pitched melody and its flower references feel feminine to me, and there is something special in the way it soothes, like a hug. I believe it helps me to soften myself for the kids, easing into these connections, synchronizing with their energies, rooting down and sprouting up, growing together.

"I Bloom" is a positive affirmation and a promise I repeat to myself and to my family. The familiar phrase "Bloom where you are planted," is a message I found in my dad's handwriting, soon after his passing, and it continues to inspire me, along with another classic: "From the mud the lotus blooms." Yes, the lotus flower, a.k.a. water lily, roots down in the murky mud at the bottom of a pond and climbs up, up, up, up, and up to the sunlight at the surface, where it opens its blossom with petals pure white.


The Lyrics

I bloom
Where I am planted I bloom
Layers unfolding
The real me is revealed.

I am
A seed and a sprout and a blossom
Life is awesome
Heavenly and lovely.

I bloom
Like a sunflower at dawn
The sun invites me to
Shine right where I am.

I am
Reaching my roots in the ground
Stretching my stem toward the sky
I am alive.

I bloom
Here in the Garden of Eden
Here in the desert
And here inside my heart.

My Mother
How I admire Your nature
You remind me to
Find joy in every color

I am.


The Muse

Rosalie Sol Lindsay is my 5-year-old daughter. She is brilliant and beautiful, yes, and she is also dynamic, with a range of emotions and colorful character traits. She is a stinging whip at times, and other times she strums the heartstrings. Her name is flowery, naturally, and the "rose" suits her particularly well because of her delicateness, her prettiness, her thorniness... Her middle name suits her too, because she is a sun child, vibrant in the outdoors, radiating that golden glow straight from the soul. Seeing her smile lights me up like a rainbow.

The Steemit Open Mic

Steemit Open Mic Week 62 is a community challenge hosted by @luzcypher. To me, the #openmic is the superlative Steemit event, calling all musicians to step onto the stage and into the spotlight. I am one of the regulars, with over 10 appearances here, and it is easy to see progress I'm making as an active participant. Not only is this experience helping me to perform better, it is also helping me to create meaningful connections with other musicians and music appreciators. I'm thankful to all of the many people who keep on rockin'!

Gratefully,

@cabelindsay

Sort:  

That's so sweet. I'm glad you're enjoying Open Mic too.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Yeehoo! Thank you. Always a pleasure.

Haha so cute. If you like Mozart take a look at my new post about playing music by ear! https://steemit.com/music/@playitforward/amadeus-play-it-by-ear-and-play-it-forward

Yes, I do appreciate Mozart, and I agree with you there is sacredness in his songs! Along the same lines of what you're sharing in your post, I stumbled upon an interesting video, which claims to be an afterlife interview with Mozart. This piece affected me deeply because it introduces the idea that Mozart (and maybe you and I) carries his artistry into the cosmos, continuing to compose and create. I feel inspired by this possibility. Here's that vid.

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

Best harmony ever.

Great song too. Sorry, your singing partner kind of stole the show. :-) The lyrics are a perfect reminder for me right now.

Yeah, that singing partner sure is a cutie. Thank you for commenting on the lyrics and harmony too. This song is like medicine to me sometimes, softening the rigidity. Man, I used to get so stuck stubborn ways, frozen by my worries. And this song eases me into a certain softness that feels both grounded and flowery.

Rosalie seems a bit impatient 😀.

Yes indeed. Yes. Indeed. :)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @cabelindsay to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Beautiful, Cabe! Your little Rosalee is quite precious as is the patience and love that you show her... Much love, brother!

Thank you brother. She and I are both cultivating that patience every day.

she is so adorable. lovely song my friend just beautiful

You're awesome. Rock on! Thanks for your sweet comments.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61840.18
ETH 2589.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55