Steemit Open Mic Week 70 - Skeletal Umbrella by @bennettitalia

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

This week I experimented with adding homemade "drums", lead guitars, and layers of backing vocals... which kind of ended up being a bit of a mess 🙄 It can be very difficult to add drums after the fact, especially when using an empty plastic jar for a kick, a pen and the side of a guitar for a stick/snare, and a shaker for a hi hat.

My first attempt, with a song called "Something Awful", came out sounding great! I'm super happy with it. It's a brand new song, and aside from the fact that my brief stint in the Songwriters' Challenge seems to have honed my writing skills a bit, the mix came out pretty sweet sounding for something thrown together using a video soundtrack 🤣 I added a second acoustic guitar playing melodic hooks over the top, as well as an electric guitar solo. I think it's the best thing I've done on Steemit so far. Check it out at the Steemit Talent Contest here: https://steemit.com/steemittalentcontest/@bennettitalia/steemit-talent-contest-week-3-something-awful-an-original-song-by-bennettitalia

Skeletal Umbrella on the other hand... well I can't even tell at this point, I've had my ears glued to my computer speakers all day, trying to get a listenable mix 😜

I like this song a lot though, so hopefully it works. If not I'll have to try again at some point... without the homemade drums!

"Skeletal Umbrella" was written in response to Rihanna's song "Umbrella", and is about the entertainment industry and its use (abuse?) of creatives.

Want to listen to more Steemit Open Mic entries, or enter one of your own? Check it out at: https://steemit.com/openmic/@luzcypher/steemit-open-mic-week-69-record-your-performance-and-win-steem-sponsored-by-pfunk-and-luzcypher

Big thanks as always to @luzcypher, @pfunk, @meno, @passionground, @soundlegion, @verbal-d, @jessamynorchard, @krystle (I hope I'm remembering everyone!)

Skeletal Umbrella

Skeletal umbrella just the bare bones
And the rain keeps falling the rain keeps falling
This spiderweb just scatters crystal drops round
And the rain keeps falling the rain keeps falling

So underdeveloped so overexposed
She shines in the limelight
All eyes on her
Stargirl
Do as you're told
And it'll be alright
A priestess must never be

Touched by tears
That Heaven cries
Paper thin
These alibis
Paper money paper dolls
Paper hearts and paper souls
All melt away when the rain comes

Skeletal umbrella just the bare bones
And the rain keeps falling the rain keeps falling
It's casting shadows all around your mind now
And the rain keeps falling the rain keeps falling

And it looked so good on paper when he got
The offer he couldn't kill
What choice did he have
After all?
His life in their pockets
Now he's left standing naked

In these tears
That Heaven cries
Paper thin
His alibis
Paper money paper dolls
Paper hearts and paper souls
All melt away when the rain comes

So never let them say you're too far gone
That they own your soul now
It's just the same old tired Prince of Lies
He speaks with many mouths
All you feelers
healers
Take these tears that Heaven cries
Hold on tight and say goodbye
To paper money paper dolls
Paper hearts and paper souls
All melt away when the rain comes
All melt away when the rain comes

When the rain comes

©2018 Bennett Italia

Sort:  

Dig the way your cosmopolitan lyrics evoke both the urban milieu and the ennui that calls it home. This mix with the other vocals distracts from your lyrics too much for me. Obviously there are any number of things you could do with or without them, but I'd prefer to keep these words very clearly understandable. Cheers and thanks for a great song/performance!

Hmmm I was afraid of that... I need to put the lyrics in the post. Thanks for the heads up and glad you liked it! Will definitely make use of your feedback when I get around to recording audio tracks for dsound :)

Good performance

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Nice, brother! I think this is my favorite of yours thus far! NICE!

Wow thanks @passionground, glad you liked it! It was really hard for me to gage this one by the time I posted it, I'd just been working on it for too long. It sounds like the mix captured the performance ok.

Eventually I want to use drum tracks and MIDI keyboard to record songs for an EP, so setting myself the challenge of mixing these two was good practice :)

Posting my Steemit Talent Contest entry here, because I love it and really want people to hear it! :D https://steemit.com/steemittalentcontest/@bennettitalia/steemit-talent-contest-week-3-something-awful-an-original-song-by-bennettitalia

yeah, i'm digging this track. the lead guitar really adds almost a mournful feeling for me to the song. sure, you can spend forever mixing but I am the opinion that done is better than perfect. also really love the fact you used some video effects to spice things up, makes it a lot more interesting than typical.

Thanks man! Glad you liked it. I saw keeping the lead guitar going under the vocals on the last verse as a gamble, but I think it ended up working. I really enjoyed your performance this week, looking forward to hearing more :)

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69471.12
ETH 3758.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83