OpenMic Songwriters Challenge Week 1 - Austen Ballard

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

I've been traveling this week and I wasn't sure I'd have a chance to make an entry for this challenge, but here I am sliding in at the last minute with a submission:


Big-time shout out to @meno, @Luzcypher, and the judges @passion-ground, @Kryztle, @verbal-d, @pfunk, and @jessamynorchard for making all this happen.

Open Mic Songwriter Challenge Week 1


Lyrics:

My selfie cam looks wrong today
I’m not about the way it makes my
face appear emotionless and vague

The bathroom mirror must be warped
I know my ego’s not that short
My eyes are playing tricks on me it seems
The shape of my reality looks nothing like my dreams

He looks back from the subway window as we pass beneath the park
Distorted by the darkness, on his lips a crude remark
about the way my image needs to fit these clothes i fit in
But amid the other passengers still somehow feeling different

My mind is playing tricks on me it seems
The shape of my reality is nothing like my dreams
And any way i cast my eyes it’s through a foggy screen
Just broken mirrors everywhere, reflections of me

My eyes are playing tricks on me it seems
The shape of my reality looks nothing like my dreams
And any way i cast my eyes i’m seeing through a shattered screen
And the one thing i see clearly now:

The broken mirror here is me

austenballard.com austenballard.com austenballard.com austenballard.com austenballard.com austenballard.com austenballard.com austenballard.com

austenballard.com

Sort:  

Yet another amazing song Austen!! So proud of you!!! You are the best! <3 i am glad you joined us for the songwriter challenge!

Thanks so much! I liked yours a lot too.

oh, you are very welcome! .. and thanks for checking mine out... :)

No problem!

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

Very cool ! I like how you wrap up the whole lyrics with the last line, very clever 🤓

Thank you :) I try my best

Thanks for entering. Nice song.

Thanks :)

Wow, that was an awesome music man!
Fantastic!

Thank you, I'm so glad you liked it :)

excelent talent my friend ... kiss

Thank you so much! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61038.67
ETH 2626.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62