STEEMIT OPEN MIC WEEK 109 - IDIOT BLUES (ORIGINAL SONG BY STEPHEN MARTIN)

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)



This song is a bearing of my heart and soul to the universe while I was driving a semi over the road, away from my family and friends. It was lonely and I missed my wife and kids. I thought I needed to vent to God, thus this song was born. It was the first thing I wrote on my ukulele. 😎

Lyrics

You've taken the place of the mouse in my mind, rolling it over, then come from behind. I do not know what I'm hoping to find inside of you.

Draining the ditches that fall in the space, roping the bridges that keep them in place, I do not know what I'm supposed to erase, inside of you.

Well, I've been mistaken and I've been refused, I've been reduced to this Idiot Blues, looking for answers and guessing at clues, inside of you. I've been a bastard and I've been ignored. I've been imbued with a sombulant core. Searching for questions, and hoping for more, inside of you.

But now I'm broken, lost in this place, left inside to play alone, without enough space.

I've challenged the maker and picked at the locks, grown quite accustomed to unmatching socks, spoken in sentences covered with rocks, just to please you. I've boiled my alphabet, chucked out my spoons, quarrelled with marmosets, crippled baboons, all in an effort to pacify you, just to please you.

And what does that say? Now, I'm lost in this place. Left outside to play alone, with too much open space

If we could go back to tugging at strings, rolling eachother in colorful things, you'd be an astronaut, I'd be a king, inside of you with the Idiot Blues, with the Idiot Blues, The Idiot Blues.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

To enter Steemit Open Mic please follow the rules. Thank you.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@luzcypher/steemit-open-mic-week-109-record-your-performance-and-win-steem-sponsored-by-pfunk-and-luzcypher

  • You can use DTube but include an embedded YouTube or Vimeo video too.

Why Do I Have To Add A Youtube Video To My Open Mic Entry --- by @luzcypher

You don't need to make a new post, just add a YouTube video to this post, please. Thank you.

Dang. I must have forgot to come back and put the YouTube video into my post. Sorry about that. It's in it now. 😎

I like the idea of idiot blues, but boy does ukulele annoy me.

To each his own. Lol. 😎

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58400.82
ETH 2567.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38