Waaaaaah, it's a scam!!!

So yesterday I made a post on my Facebook wall, just a simple post asking if anyone on my friend list was in a couple companies that I mentioned.
The reason for this post was to find out who were as we had something very similar on our front end and I wanted to be able to reach out to a very targeted audience and see if what we were doing was something they might be interested in taking a look at.
Basic marketing.
Anyway, I had some great responses but one person in particular took it upon himself to send me a scam review of one of the companies that I'm not even in but asked about, implying that such company was a scam...
Here's the thing when it comes to online business.
If you join a company and get no results yet others are crushing it, consider the fact that clearly it works or those getting results would not be getting results.. it's not the company, it's the person who can't get results is the problem.
He then went on to say that getting a job doesn't cost money and so therefore that was far more legit...
Ok, so when I worked in social care and was offered the job, the first thing I had to do was to go pay from my own pocket for a police background check, to prove I had no dodgy background and was therefore ok working with vulnerable people. That check cost me like £50 or thereabouts.. the company said if I didn't have the money they would pay for it but take it out of my wages! All in all it cost me. On top of that I had to pay for two lots of uniform since clearly laundry needs doing lol... so before I even earned a dime in that company I had paid out close to £100... must be a scam!!
Well yeah in that case one could argue it was a scam! I'd paid out money! Shock horror my job had cost me something! Do you even consider the cost of travel to and from work? Car fuel, car maintenance and if you're here in the UK you have other stuff like road tax and MOT (smog test if in the States) etc... that job cost me money and the wages were not great so after all that you could say I was doing something I hated and it was costing me money to do so. I was then tied to working for this company doing something I was not enjoying and never in my life ever had any aspirations to do.. I didn't think when I was a kid that that was what I wanted my life to be.. but found myself in a situation where I was backed into a corner and had to do at least this to make ends meet.
Now, when it comes to online, yes there are certainly scams out there.. those I consider beyond ALL to be scams are what's called HYIPs (high yielding interest programs)... these are the ones who say that whatever you invest you don't have to do any work and can make back a certain daily percentage... how can ANY company state what you are going to get paid in 'interest' on your investment, daily?? It's the lazy person's route to '"success" except that it's not.. what happens is when these companies make a certain level of money (ie suckers pony up their savings in the hope it will bring them 10x their money), the company knows it's a matter of time before they are shut down, so they pull the plug and then re-brand themselves in another similar 'product' and go do the same again to a bunch of unsuspecting people and quite often the same who got ripped off the first time are the first to jump into a new one without realizing the same scammers are behind it.
I can relate to this.. Joseph and myself joined the biggest one of all; Zeek Rewards.. it had over a million participants and got so big it even made international news over here in the UK... got shut down by the SEC (I even saw a group on Facebook called "Bring back Zeek Rewards" even after it was proven to be a scam!)
Luckily we got most of our money back, but still, some people put up their entire life savings and even remortgaged their houses to join it.. so yeah there are certainly scams out there and I have been ripped off by them back then when I was a newbie to this online business arena.
However, when you have a product that's digital, call it digital marketing, you buy a product and then own the rights to resell it over and over and over again etc for profit.. nothing remotely scammy about that.
Last year Joe and myself were involved in a product-based mlm in the health and wellness industry.. huge huge niche.. company been around for 7 years or so, going strong, great products, completely compliant with laws etc but if you were to Google that company you'd find a bunch of scam reviews.. is it a scam? Heck no. What those reviews are made up of is people who either are bitching about one company so they can plug their own, OR people who didn't make any money because they sucked at selling.
Joe and myself sucked at selling at one point.. we sucked.. well he was better at it than I was but marginally.. in a previous offer he brought in 2 or 3 people and I didn't bring in anyone, well no actually I brought in like one person but basically we sucked..
We could have said it doesn't work and is a scam but we knew that it wasn't the company that sucked, it was us.. so we learned to get better at it and better at it until suddenly we had a team of 400 people or so between us.
And a team of 300 in our New Year offer.
My point is this: Just because something is online doesn't make it a scam. Take a look at a big store like say Walmart.. they have to buy or build that building to house their wares.. they have to pay for their staff, they have to fill that store with things they want to sell and that's before they even make any money.. it's a business!!!
Why do some people think that something online is any different?? If you have to buy a product before you can sell it, and you suck at selling, does that make it a scam? NO! It means you suck at selling and that's why you're not making money!
Heck I know someone who thinks Ebay is a scam and doesn't trust either Ebay or Paypal when it comes to making money online.. and we started this journey drop-shipping on Ebay.
Are there scams out there? Absolutely. Is everything online a scam? Definitely not. Just gotta be smart about it.

Sort:  

Well described

Congratulations @abigailruth! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Round of 16 - Day 3


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @abigailruth! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59538.61
ETH 2658.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45