STEEMIT.COM, Enough, I'm Out!

in #onboarding4 years ago

Yes, you heard I have had enough, that dApp has had it and I am going to literally force myself from using it and will switch to SteemPeak from today.


Original_Out_Icon.png
Source

@joshman has been giving me some stick about it now and again which I have been trying to ignore, but no more.

Why do.. did... I still use Steemit? A force of habit; we all use what we are comfortable with.


Steemit.JPG
...'never again..., it's time to move on despite what SteemitInc said about improving the original dApp in Bangkok, nothing has happened'...

SteemPeak offers so much more but because I have to learn its ins and outs again, I have been delaying moving over.


SteemPeak.JPG
...'SteemPeak has so many other features including tribe support; is there any reason NOT to use it beside lack of familiarity?'...

Where would STEEM be without it? Am I the last soul to make the move?

RedLine.png

Why I am moving to SteemPeak as my preferred dApp

I tried to onboard an Urban Explorer last week poached from Facebook; I got an account created for him courtesy of @ocdb and he then revealed himself to be a phone user ONLY.

massivepasswords.JPG

After explaining about the 'massive passwords' he told me he had no idea what Discord is. What we take for granted is not known by a lot of ordinary social media people.

A year ago I would have invited him to install Partiko but as the developer did a runner, we now have just one client in eSteem.

freezing.JPG

He installed it and it locked up every time he opened it. After several reboots of his phone, I got this message and slumped into my chair with defeat.

FuckingAbout.JPG

I have since learned SteemPeak works well in a browser session and that could have been an alternative. If I had pushed this he may have started up and this would have counted as a success story.

It does amaze me that we have ONE mobile dApp (which works fine for me), and that is a single point of failure for onboarding.

bugs.JPG

I agree with @mineexploration, it is too much fucking about. He's a Facebook guy and that's all nice and easy.

RedLine.png

More OnBoarding

I have not given up and got the ear of another prominent Urban Explorer who is not quite ready to join yet due to other commitments.

He’s a moderator on one of the numerous Urban Exploration communities, most of which have hundreds and some thousands of members.


abandoned.JPG
...'this UK Facebook community has 8430 members. The STEEM Urbex community has around 2 and I'm one of them. If I could get just 1% interested we would increase our community by 400%'...

This time I will promote SteemPeak to him when he’s ready, and I think he will come back to me.

He knows that there is no delay and I can instantly on-board him. He manages to find these amazing time-capsules, places which have been left undisturbed for years.

I feel he would enrich what we read and I for one will give him my full support if he decides to join.


Holdings.jpg
...time-capsules are places left relatively undisturbed for years, they are rare and location information about them is non-existent for good reason'...

Today I cross-posted my latest Urbex post on SIX Facebook community pages.

FOUR of them have accepted my link (I won’t place my images on Facebook as then they belong to Facebook and not me!), one is pending approval and one has declined.

image.png

My new prospective Steemian is a member of the declined community, noticed it immediately and then mentioned it had been removed (I'm in a direct chat with him).

He had not removed it but another admin had. Of course, we don't have any such thing as 'pending approval' on the STEEM block-chain, and that is one of the things I love.


image.png
...'28DaysLater will not accept links and want to you post directly on to their site. sorry, but I don't do this for nothing'...

It’s their group and their rules and you must abide by them. This is the reason I don’t cross-post my work on the premier Urbex sites such as 28dayslater.co.uk and derelictplaces.co.uk.

...‘They don’t accept links’...

I have tried in the past only to see the link vanish without any explanation.

I would say I am doing all I can to perk people’s interest. If I can promote my work on to some of these community pages, then non-Steemians will click, read and maybe notice.

image.png

Twitter is a good bet, use the correct tags and link your post. I have had a few outside likes from others' but most are already in the STEEM community.

While I try not to promote the reward pool as an incentive, there has to be one.

When they hear it’s crypto the instant guards come up. Crypto = BitCoin = Scam. It's hard work I tell you.

scam.jpg
Source

Why should they leave their comfortable Facebook world and post their work on to this ugly, non-friendly blogging platform that is utterly confusing, mind-blowing and over-complicated?

Yes, why… I keep asking myself that question and yet here I am still trying to incite people to join.

RedLine.png


CurieCurator.jpg

  • Earn Passive Manna by simply signing up for it here. Mannabase is a Universal Basic Income Cryptocurrency
  • Earn STEEM and digital cards while playing STEEM Monsters, the best game on the STEEM Blockchain here.
  • Earn JSECoin buy simply creating an account and Mine while you browse here

line.jpg

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

Well done! Your capitulation has earned you a max upvote from the @joshman!

Doesn't that break your own 10% rule? The post contains that dreaded tag #steem ;)

If I post about #steem, I get 46 comments, Wish my non-Steem content would do the same... sigh.

I reserve the right to break my own rules, particularly in matters of capitulation.

Oh shit, just realized I'm not seeing your stuff because I'm not following you?!

I quite enjoy urbex. One of my fav channels on Youtube:
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC73dVtWf9mpjiWYkXyIlm7A

Easy to fix... just hit follow.. I will allow it ;)

Urbex is my main forte.., it gets rather addictive but I wish I was younger.

Clambering over walls and climbing don't suit someone of my age so well. While I'm not ancient (yet).. I'm not as flexible as I used to be.

I wish there were more Urbex people here. It's just me and @mrurbex. :(

Thank you so much for your Post🤘👍🤘👍🤘👍🤘👍🤘

For a long time now I have been using eSteem for phone and steempeak for my laptop.
I think Steemit inc could make a deal with steempeak to use it as the new frontend instead of steemit.

I think Steemit inc could make a deal with steempeak to use it as the new frontend instead of steemit.

They were talking about adding new features and overhauling it at Bangkok. Such is the speed of SteemitIt Inc. I have had enough of the waiting.

I use eSteem for my phone but much preferred Partiko.

I dont understand why they wanna update the frontend when something like @steempeak exist.
Steemit inc plays catch up x)

Hello stranger! Good to see you and Steve are still here! I’ve been mia since may ish last year and I am completely out of touch with all things crypto 😭😭😭 I have made a vow to get back into it all though and hopefully be inspired to up my photography game also! Speak to you soon! C and the bullies x

Great to see you back, I thought you were gone forever not with you not showing up at SteemCamp last year. There's another one in April ran by @shanibeer. Would be good to see you again.

As I mentioned on your post, lots has changed.

  • The tribes arrived last year, as well as gaining STEEM rewards you can gain other tokens as well as STEEM if you use the correct tags.
  • Most dApps (not Steemit) allow 12 tags now, and you need them.
  • Trending is now mostly organic. The Bid Bots are all but dead. You can still buy votes but you will get flagged to death if you do.
  • Curation is a big thing now the reward system has changed from 75/25 to 50/50.
  • Writing decent content attracts the curation groups, some that have spawned from the old bid bots.

Enough info for you?

Welcome back...

Wow! Some good pointers there, thank you! I was using esteem before, are they still upvoting content? I’ve probably got some research to do with regards to new groups to join in discord. So curating others is more profitable now? What are the timings set at currently?

eSteem only take a 3% cut now, it was 10% before. I still use busy as they take a 0% cut (unless you tick the box that says, tick here to give busy 10% of your rewards) and give you a vote based on your cumulative followers SP.

There is a seperate flag pool (now called downvotes). You can flag and the VP won't be removed from your regular pool.

TheSteemEngine has folded. @enchantedspirit has left, though she may roam about on discord still.

The timings.., yes all changed. 100% is now 5 minutes, I vote at 4 minutes which is 80%.

If I explained all this to a non Steemian.. it would be... 'huh' ;)

I know you understand the native STEEM tongue. It takes months to learn but is hard to forget.

🤣🤪 understood! Hehe I’m sure it will take a little time to catch up but I’ll soon get there. Just doing a little trading To Bump up some sp. what is a decent stake nowadays?

what is a decent stake nowadays?

The new Dolphin is now the Orca (50,000 SP) is decent. 100 quid can buy you 1000 STEEM if you time it right.

Depends what you want, if it ever goes back to anywhere near $1 STEEM I will be in heaven.

Got to agree with all of the above regarding Facebook v Steem - posted about this back in the past.

I moved from Steemit a while back, and one thing that bugs me is that I'm not aware of a way to post dApp-agnostic links.
I.e. I have lots of old post links that I tend to add for those who might be interested.
So some of my links are...
https://steempeak.com/game/@hockney/the-isle-of-cats-board-game-a-review
But the older ones are...
https://steemit.com/boardgame/@hockney/merchant-of-venus-board-game-review-if-you-ever-played-elite

Maybe (probably) I'm ignorant, but there should be a way to just point to the post and let the dApp handle the rest?

Again, this is an obstacle, if your reader is on a dApp, not a browser.
Facebook and its ilk are easy. Most social media users don't give a damn about privacy, (pitiful) earnings, encountering high quality content or blockchains. They want easy access to their friends...

I.e. I have lots of old post links that I tend to add for those who might be interested.
So some of my links are...

https://steempeak.com/game/@hockney/the-isle-of-cats-board-game-a-review
But the older ones are...
https://steemit.com/boardgame/@hockney/merchant-of-venus-board-game-review-if-you-ever-played-elite

Just replace https://steemit.com/boardgame/@hockney/merchant-of-venus-board-game-review-if-you-ever-played-elite
with
https://steempeak.com/boardgame/@hockney/merchant-of-venus-board-game-review-if-you-ever-played-elite.

As it's on the chain you can place whatever dApp URL before it and it will open.

Most social media users don't give a damn about privacy, (pitiful) earnings, encountering high quality content or blockchains. They want easy access to their friends...

Very true, if and when STEEM gets above $2 again just watch them all come back dragging some Facebook goons along for the ride.

To be honest, I lose my shit when Peak goes down (usually a Steemconnect issue, not Peak)...so much easier to use, more info, tribe support, no ads, easy wallet access, the list goes on.

Over the last year or so, despite my trying, I have onboarded 1 new user (my wife 😛). I hear you about the “scam” guards coming up. But Peak is definitely a better place to have new people start.

!BEER
$trdo
!DERANGED

Congratulations @definethedollar, you successfuly trended the post shared by @slobberchops!
@slobberchops will receive 0.34305525 TRDO & @definethedollar will get 0.22870350 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

I'm using it now to reply, I like the fact that you can specific default vote settings. I tend to give an 8% for comments like yours. It's these little time savers that I like.

I know there is more to it than this, adding communities would be good. I did create one and have never used it. I suppose that is beta territory yet.

Drafts and templates are super useful as well. 😀

Yeah, communities are still beta, but it seems like quite a few people are using them to post already.

Drafts and templates are super useful as well.

I have used the former on Busy, I will check them out thanks!

Am I the last soul to make the move?

Nope. I still use steemit.com for the same reason you mention, i.e force of habit and I'm comfortable with it. I also prefer the clean layout of steemit.

The couple of times I tried Steempeak I got overwhelmed by the options and took the easy route back to steemit or busy. Is busy still a thing even? 😁

Since I rarely post now it's not really an issue but, should I come back and post more regularly I will make the effort to switch. I like the idea of templates and scheduling.

Having something easy to get used to for newbies is a must and, as you say, being able to use a phone is definitely needed. Not for this old fogey of course. Texting is still about my limit and even that leaves a lot to be desired. 😂

Is busy still a thing even?

Busy is still a thing, I still use it to post as it gives me that extra vote.

I used steemworld.org to monitor my feed, and the links in that all goto Steemit which is bad. It forces me back to the old ways.

So if you use Steempeak you will lose your busy vote? That was another reason why I stuck with it I think.

Yes you would. I still use busy just for posting. Anything else, is now Peak.

Ah. Got it. Good plan! 😁

I see you have joined the Dark Side Peak hype.

It’s a good frontend.

I know you are a fan, have seen the comments somewhere, probably in the SFR chats.

It is somewhat true that "steemit.com" is lagging far behind, the truth "steempeak" has a very good interface and interesting details even more than to "busy", I will have to consider changing dApp too hehehe

I am using it from the day they launched, and i use steemit only when i really really have to. I did not even got to communities (tried it just to see what it is all about) just because i can't browse it on steemit interface. waiting for steampeak to go live with it.
It is pity that they don't have an app for mobile. it works ok in browser but when ever i get logged out i don't want to bother with retipping this short posting key. but most of my things i do on desktop (photos, video, not into doing it on the phone) so i don't mind that often.

waiting for steampeak to go live with it.

Yes, it needs to incorporate communities. I have not touched communities much since it was announced. Wont happen until beta closes.

they are doing it, but if nothing changed only asgarth is doing the coding so time is needed.

I had to read that title twice just in order not to get completely heartbroken. Thought for a split second you meant steem altogether haha.

My faith would truly crumble if I saw you quit. ANYWAYS seems like that is not the case!

Happy to see you make the switch from that old granny website to something actually a bit more modern. If you really have been living on steemit.com all this time I don't know what to say but you got loyalty problems lol.

Hope steempeak.com will give you such an easier time!
Good luck pal!

Thought for a split second you meant steem altogether haha.

Merely click bait! Were else would I write my shit?!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66272.75
ETH 3183.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09