Let's Have Some Clam Chowder

in #oldtimers7 years ago (edited)

20180106_175039.jpg

When It's Cold Outside

You cant beat clam chowder!!!

Lately it has been too cold to do much anything, so cooking this made for a beautifulSunday post

A special shout out to @ace108 for always hosting the beautiful Sunday challenge

I made an easy to follow along video!


Clam chowder is quick and easy to make!

Lets start by cutting and boiling 4 peeled potatoes.

Chop up half an onion and saute it with 2 celery stalks and some carots.


I use half of the half and half carton. LOL
and a half cup of milk.


I use corn starch to thicken things. However, you must use corn starch properly, Mix a couple of tablespoons with cool water then add while constantly stirring. It should be a thick paste.




I use 2 cans of clams. Personally I drain off the clam juice because I don't care for the very strong fishy taste.

Be careful to keep it well stirred! Can you tell how tick and yummy it is? Salt and pepper to taste.

20180106_174027_Burst01.jpg

Guaranteed to Warm You from the Inside!

Do you prefer the white or red versions of chowder???

20180106_175005.jpg

Thanks for stopping by!

All words and images are mine and can be also found on my various social media sites.
Twitter
YouTube Main channel
YouTube Photography
YouTube ASMR/Mukbang
Twenty20

footer.png

Sort:  

This hits the spot, @old-guy-photos! A delicious bowl of clam chowder will warm up anyone from the inside out.

I'm a fan of the New England White Chowder, but, I have been known to partake in the red now and again. Oh, you know if it swam for a living, I am sure to give it a whirl.

Thanks for the fast and easy recipe. I am pretty sure that there are a few stories we could all tell about the cornstarch. Mine are being saved for another time and space. Or a blooper section. Ugh... I am not sure I even like thinking about it.

Upped and Steemed tip!

Oh yes corn starch can be very ornery and must be treated with kid gloves. Ive had some lumps the size of boat anchors before I learned how to use it properly LOL

I want to like this stuff because it looks so yummy but I can't make myself and I have tried. lol

It's got to be the clam taste that gets me.

Well look on the bright side, its not known to exactly be a healthy, diet friendly meal LOL

Yes, I like the idea of cutting slow and have all my digits intact. That got me laughing. I cut slow too.

Better safe than sorry I always say!

I LOVE clam chowder. What a perfect meal for the winter

Yes indeed. Warms you from the inside!

Hi @old-guy-photos! You have received 0.1 SBD tip + 0.05 SBD @tipU from @dswigle :)

Check out new tipuvote! feature :)

I swear, I could smell that, as soon as I opened it up. Amazing this whole idea of appetite-induced, gatro-suggestion. Nice job.

Indeed now the good folks over at Google need to perfect Smell-o-vision!

I'm betting it won't be too long now. Then we late-night writers are in trouble. We'll NEVER quit eating, as it will stimulate the appetite all the time. Uh oh...

Mmmm.... CHOWDAH!
I prefer New England (white) over Manhattan (red) chowder but whether it's red or white, homemade is the best!

Oh yes thank you for the correct pronunciation! Upped

So nice 😄 check my channel and see my food posts 🙏💘

I really liked your pizza!

just Awesome..

Thank you. Upped!

I don't think I've ever had clam chowder but that looks pretty good. I'm more of a gumbo man but it's impossible to find decent gumbo up North.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65306.74
ETH 3488.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51