Simple Rainwater Harvesting Rig (Upycled and DiY)

in #offgrid6 years ago (edited)

20180521_121507.jpg

We've had a 55 gallon drum for half a year and never made a rain water catchment system... until this weekend!


I kind of wish we had more hours in the day! Juggling time is a very difficult thing to do when you're building a homestead from the ground up without much of a financial capital!!!

A couple weeks ago we got our Off Grid Home delivered and between working in the city and only goinh to the property on weenends... we never got around to maming any sort of rain water harvesting device!!!

And of course now the rain has stopped!!!


I wanted this post to be in response to @offgrid-online's Off-Grid Contest... but I have been so busy preparing our move off-grid, that I unfortunately missed the deadline!!!! Oh well maybe next time... go ahead and check out the reslults, you may get inspired to enter the next one too!

Here's what I did:

1. I cleared the tiny gutters (u-channel on the roof of the RV) from debris.
20180521_161244.jpg

2. Made a funnel out of a plastic bottle by cutting the bottom out.

Then, I realized the funnel needed to be smaller than the irrigation tubing I was going to use (We have about a hundred feet of it laying around from the previous owners. Score!). For the flow of water, it is best to always think about how to minimize leakage. The top piece should slip into the bottom piece, gravity and flow will keep liquids from leaking at those seams.

20180520_082726.jpg

I got a water bottle with a smaller mouth piece thay fit nicely into the opening of the tubing.

20180520_082744.jpg

20180520_082800.jpg

3. I used tulle as a screen for debris on top of the funnel. The tulle was left over scrap from our DiY wedding back in 2012. Oooh we're starting to pack on the years there!

20180520_082737.jpg

4. The niple of the bottle had something, I decided to cut out of the way of the flow. I'm not really surw what it's for, maybe just reinforcement?

20180520_082950.jpg

20180520_083105.jpg

5. Using gorilla tape (that's really the new and improved duct tape... I do everythong with that stuff, when i can! It also helps working in the movie industry where half used up rolles of tape get thrown out and I collect!), I taped up the seams and the funnel, with it's tubing to the RV, right under the tiny gutter.

20180520_083217.jpg

I can't believe, he was able to tear it off the roll... that is some tough tape! He's a great little assistant.

20180520_083235.jpg

Not one of my neatest jobs on the tape front!

6. Once that was all set in place and looked good enough to hold at least through the next couple of weeks, I placed the blue 55 gallon drum (also salvaged from the dumpster of a film set!) Approximately where I wanted it, to dry fit the tubing length.

20180520_083733.jpg

20180520_085501.jpg

If I may suggest dry fitting the tubing or whatever you use before fixing it to the gutter, is a good idea!

7. I slipped the irrigation tubing through a rubber band, then through a hole I cut out of the center of a small square of tulle.

20180520_090330.jpg

20180520_084137.jpg

20180520_084138.jpg

8. While keeping the tulle and rubber nand from sliding off I fed the tubing into the barrel, stretched the tool over the hole and attached it by slipping the tight rubber band just under the threads where the hole is.

20180520_090405.jpg

9. Using my trustes gorrilla tape, I taped the tulle to the tubbing and exammined the finished product!

20180520_090653.jpg

20180520_090710.jpg

You see how thebrubber band holds the tulle in place, there under the lip where the threads are?


Here's a quick video:

Steem On and until next time....

Steem line 2.png

If you really want to know what is inside this Coconut, take a look at Humans Of Steemit.

QUOTE OF THE MONTH @senorcoconut
In the End, it Always works out
(If you want a quote of yours posted here for a month please tell me)

AS ALWAYS... THANK YOU FOR LOOKING, YOUR SUPPORT IS GREATLY APPRECIATED.
Up-Vote, Re-Steem and Reply. Your comments are very welcome! Don't forget… #DreamsComeTrue!

Sort:  

Very nifty work, that Gorilla tape is awesome eh? I use it too, after I tape something with it, I always run a lighter or torch over it to get the glue warm and an even better grip. ;)

Oh, I never tried to heat it up before! Thanks for the tip. But yeah it's pretty awesome stuf.

Thank you!

A bit small funnel maybe?

Yeah I agree, it's a lkttle small but the spout of the gutter is really small too... I may change it than next time we're up there. Good point

Funny when you cut the extra plastic out of the nipple. You never know why things are there until you remove them. Then I usually get an ugly surprise lol. But looks safe to remove in this case.

Lol, yes the truth sometimes only comes out when remove what's in the way...good or bad!!!!

It was fine and it's integrity stayed strong. I am thinking about making a better funnel next time.

I use a trimmed down plastic bottle on a sink drain - don't ask...but I have found there are a lot of different plastic bottle types out there lol many different designs to choose from

Haha, no worries I won't ask and I won't tell about my two trash cans full of plastic bottles...

Nice and simple! i may have missed you say in the post but is this collection just for grey water i assume as there is minimal filtration?
Im on and off living in my van in the uk and rainwater collection is something i really want to setup in my current build. I have similar guttering on the van so i was going to run a pipe in to a holding tank then into one of these fancy filters https://berkey-waterfilters.co.uk/
i think it should work fine as long as i keep the gutters and roof clean of bird poo and debris!

Hello @robali123, converted transit van is it?

The berkey filter is very good and I have a friend who drinks his collected rain water through one of those filters in Puerto Rico. I'm not sure if it's enough. There are systems that run through a couple charcoal (and other stuff I think) filters and than one UV filter before drinking. I've seen that in a couple converted horse boxes.

I also want to turn our system to feed our holding tank that is in the camper, so soon enough we will research deep into it! For now that water we are collectingnwould be partially for dishes but mostly gardening! And if we absolutely need to drink it we can always boil it first.

Thanks for visiting and great question by the way.

Its an iveco daily im currently converting,my 2nd one now. Thats good to know about the filter. I live in bristol where its rather polluted so id probably boil the water as well before using it. I figured the extra time and effort to filter it is still going to be less than driving to a water point to fill up every few days as before.
Compost loo is also on my to research list!

Oh going full on, in the van! Loads of travelers in thr UK should be able to help you with the compost loos. Google "loveable loos" it's a man from the US who's used them for over 30 years and wrote a book on it. Anyways on his web site you can find his book to read for free and free plans to build the box.

We had an Iveco Daily years ago! Good little buses or vans to convert for sure!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60521.50
ETH 3005.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85