You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Simple Rainwater Harvesting Rig (Upycled and DiY)

in #offgrid6 years ago (edited)

Nice and simple! i may have missed you say in the post but is this collection just for grey water i assume as there is minimal filtration?
Im on and off living in my van in the uk and rainwater collection is something i really want to setup in my current build. I have similar guttering on the van so i was going to run a pipe in to a holding tank then into one of these fancy filters https://berkey-waterfilters.co.uk/
i think it should work fine as long as i keep the gutters and roof clean of bird poo and debris!

Sort:  

Hello @robali123, converted transit van is it?

The berkey filter is very good and I have a friend who drinks his collected rain water through one of those filters in Puerto Rico. I'm not sure if it's enough. There are systems that run through a couple charcoal (and other stuff I think) filters and than one UV filter before drinking. I've seen that in a couple converted horse boxes.

I also want to turn our system to feed our holding tank that is in the camper, so soon enough we will research deep into it! For now that water we are collectingnwould be partially for dishes but mostly gardening! And if we absolutely need to drink it we can always boil it first.

Thanks for visiting and great question by the way.

Its an iveco daily im currently converting,my 2nd one now. Thats good to know about the filter. I live in bristol where its rather polluted so id probably boil the water as well before using it. I figured the extra time and effort to filter it is still going to be less than driving to a water point to fill up every few days as before.
Compost loo is also on my to research list!

Oh going full on, in the van! Loads of travelers in thr UK should be able to help you with the compost loos. Google "loveable loos" it's a man from the US who's used them for over 30 years and wrote a book on it. Anyways on his web site you can find his book to read for free and free plans to build the box.

We had an Iveco Daily years ago! Good little buses or vans to convert for sure!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70135.32
ETH 3789.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77