You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Working On Our Beautiful 18 Acre Nearly Off Grid homestead

in #off-grid7 years ago

I liked seeing Melanie picking blueberries. I'm convinced that foraging for edible plants is much easier than gardening, and if you know what to look for, you might be surprised at the delicious things you can find out there for free.
Questions: I see lots of pines, and I'm wondering if you have many oak trees? Surprisingly we don't have many oaks in my part of Vermont so I travel to NH to harvest my acorn crop. Acorn flour makes fantastic pancakes if you know how to process it.
Do you have some good foraging books, and do you forage for other edibles on your land?

Sort:  

I planted apples pears and peaches in my yard and I didn't get to eat one this year so sad

Our blossoms froze in the spring, killing off all fruits. I plan to build some sort of frame to protect them next season. We get many freezing nights all summer I now have learned

Thanks to bad I have never had the chance to eat my own planted food and you do this every day.

Yeah. Well, live and learn. We will have it much better next time.

I love foraging for wild edibles. We have some scruffy oaks around here mixed with pine. I missed the oak harvest this year due to getting everything else ready for winter and still setting up our homestead.

I hope to get a good harvest next year though.

I have a mess of foraging books and I live them.

We have pine, which makes a good tea. You can eat the bark too. And oaks. Blackberries, a wild apple tree, some crab apples, different black berries, strawberries and a hazelnut tree.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56775.06
ETH 2345.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36