Working On Our Beautiful 18 Acre Nearly Off Grid homestead

in #off-grid7 years ago (edited)

We are striving to become self sufficient and fully off the grid on a budget. We are nearly fully off the grid now by using the power of the sun for most of our needs from cooking, to heating water to powering our home.

We are still connected to the power grid for some necessities like the water pump and occasional washing machine use.

We hope to eliminate even those energy needs soon as well by improving our solar power production.

We are working hard on the homestead, beautifying the property.

We are growing a lot of vegetables in our gardens in hope of providing most of our food needs in a year.

I got my riding lawn mower fixed up and running, which you have seen in previous posts, and mowed the lawn in comfort for once. This machine is way better than using a push mower for our huge lawn.

We have been picking blueberries every day for an hour or two while they are in season. We are putting away food for the winter. And blueberries are packed full of nutrition.

We baked blueberry muffins in our GoSun solar oven. It somehow tastes better when cooked with the free power of the sun.

You can watch the video here:

We continued working on our yard and garden plots. Melanie was picking more blueberries as I mowed the lawn. I also mowed pathways for us to walk through our large property. We have 2.8 acres up front and 15 acres of wild forest out back. Our homestead is surrounded by wild State land so we have a nice place to build up our homestead.

I used the last of the free mulch I had received by spreading it on the garden pathways. This gives us a clean place to walk and sit while working in the garden. And it keeps the weeds out so we have less work overall.

Melanie planted some onions that we got for free in our new garden plot.

You can watch the next video here:

I am sharing our videos from the time we moved to our new homestead to the present in order to give you a background story. When I get you caught up to the present, I will continue to share our videos and articles as we make them on a daily basis.

Please follow and keep up to date as we get closer to being self sufficient and off the grid on a budget.

Please Subscribe & follow my daily YouTube videos

Read my articles at The Do It Yourself World

Troy
The Do It Yourself World

NOTE: You will likely notice a whole mess of filth and accusations in the comments below. These are trolls I had blocked on YouTube and found me here. They are on me like a disturbed hornets nest seeking revenge because I blocked them. Their harassment has extended into real life. Do NOT engage the trolls for your own safety.

Thank You

Sort:  

Here we go, the famous oil in the water in the tank video.
Yup how much longer can this be milked, everyone knows it's a just a made up fairy story for drama because views were down.
Real vivid imaginination was used on this one.

Is there really nothing for you to do Molly as I would say before and I'll say it again and again Cry Me a River go somewhere else and sob

You sure are an odd one.

We are showing our daily lives on the homestead.

And you believe its all a fantasy?

How odd.

The thing I do not get is that if you do not believe us, why harass us online and offline like you do?

Troy, how am I harassing you offline?

Oh come on!! Seriously?

I dont have time to go through all your comments to copy and paste but anyone interested can look at your comments and threats against me.

But the big one is TRYING TO GET OUR BABY TAKEN AWAY!!!!!

That is not harassment, that's social working!

Once you go do something that you'd be good at I got an idea since you're so persistent on harassing Troy you can be a pimp and harass prostitutes I'm sure you just beat them

You truly are sick.

Trying to get me in jail on false charges.

Trying to get Melanie deported on false charges.

Trying to get our baby taken away on false cahrges.

IS ALL CRIMINAL

You now have Melanie working with out a green card, thats illegal, and how you ask, Her cooking channel it produces income from your own words, its a business and now on steem it under the DIY-electronics channel, that was done by you and you set it up and guess what after its reported you both will be fined.
Her cooking channel is the business and she is the actress playing the cooking role, and if any of them make money guess what, you just broke the law...

Now you see, you are assuming that we are breaking the law and you are using the authorities to harass us yet again.

This proves to the public here that you are harassing us online and in the real World.

If we get investigated, I will have the camera rolling.

I will show the World your harassment.

Mae the filth be with you!
See yer later.

You will never quit I understand that just a piece of garbage Molly maybe one day you'll quit I don't think you'll quit though but hopefully you will

If you want leave somebody alone and they ask you to leave them alone that means you're harassing them

Remember when he was too stupid to hide the pan of used oil he used on his own truck and showed it in a video?

Yes, sadly every single word you say or write.

Reid When the authorities come to arrest you knowing your this big leader of this filthy cult you belong to will there be a big shoot out like at Ruby Ridge, Waco?

Its a Pentecostal church and I am no leader.

What on earth are you thinking?

Its just Melanie, myself and the baby here.

Gosh can you believe that you'll go there and say that Troy is a threat to hurt anyone all you do is start trouble and try to frame somebody for something they ain't doing nothing to you or hurting you at all and all's I know is you keep on hollering I gave this and I gave that once you give something away you give the rights away as well with it for instance if somebody puts a child up for adoption and the baby gets adopted do you have any rights to that baby anymore no that's what happens when you give something away you don't own it you don't have the say-so over it no more and if something was sold by Troy I'm sure he needed whatever he needed and if he didn't sell anything what you guys are claiming that he did what's it matter to you the stuff was gave to him so leave him alone or keep trolling it doesn't matter anymore because you guys are just Cry-Baby whiny adults

Actually I never sold a gift I received. Dont believe in it.

Troy...that is a flat out lie. Have you no shame?

A flat out lie huh? So how do you know what I do in the privacy of my own home or town?

Please do share with the World you evidence of how you could possibly know what I do privately

Show me hardcore evidence. Put up or shut up and get off my blog.

You guys blow a lot of hot air trying to turn people against me but NEVER show any evidence.

WHY? Because you have never had any evidence to use against me in all your claims.

@thediyworld, What about that leaf blower of John Thayers that he noticed in your garage sale over the Labor Day weekend?
You had Intent to sell it!

Now you are accusing me of theft too?

It never ends!!! All I had was junk leaf blowers left over from my small engine shop.

Everyone knows I had tons of them.

Get a life and leave my family alone!!!!

@thediyworld, YOU wrote above "Actually I never sold a gift I received",
then farther down YOU wrote,
"show me hardcore evidence".

In YOUR video from this year, Labor Day weekend I believe, when you showed what I think was the last day for YOUR garage sale, YOU had a few leaf blowers, two chain saws and a weed trimmer laying on the ground.
John Thayer, the guy that built the Tiny House On Wheels that YOU abandoned in NY, said in YOUR COMMENT section in that video that one of those leaf blowers was the one He Gave YOU.
I believe the tone of his comment was that he was shocked you were selling it.

That was the start of comments regarding your behavior that got Thayer banned and blocked from your fake DIY channel.

Just like all the other good folks trying to help you.

Is that clearer for you to comprehend?

It's a good thing others will be able to comprehend that I Did Not accuse you of theft in this thread.
The real side of Reid.

I have had a small engine shop. Do you know how many leaf blowers I have? Do you realize how many of the exact same model of the same machines I have?

Get real.

And you keep saying John this, John that.

Get a life.

@thediyworld, I don't need to know this or that, all I know for a fact is Thayer did leave you that comment, and I don't for one second believe he made up that information.
All truth!

Actually, Reid did make a threat to @oldcodge a week or two ago regarding the use of a shotgun, so Yes, Reid has the ability and intent to do harm.

All here on the block chain as they say!

He slept with a loaded shotgun in The TinyShit Shack in Pine Bush.
I have screenshots.
The guys whacked!

Yeah, you say I am whacked. Your friends incited people to violence against our property and vehicles. And you say I am insane.

I have witnesses to the 2 to 3 times a week people were at our house in the night.

But sadly since it originates on the internet. NOBODY cares!!!

I am on my own.

So yes, I sleep with a shotgun.

And as you say, the truth is on the block chain. I was saying how the authorities do not come out when people vandalize the property so I said the only solution was a 12 ga. Oldcodge, by his own admission, is disabled and in the UK. So he is WAY far from here.

Anyway, you are just proving what you always do. Twist things around to fit your own agenda.

gilholey, more likely do like Trucker Buck and Shit his Pants!

I liked seeing Melanie picking blueberries. I'm convinced that foraging for edible plants is much easier than gardening, and if you know what to look for, you might be surprised at the delicious things you can find out there for free.
Questions: I see lots of pines, and I'm wondering if you have many oak trees? Surprisingly we don't have many oaks in my part of Vermont so I travel to NH to harvest my acorn crop. Acorn flour makes fantastic pancakes if you know how to process it.
Do you have some good foraging books, and do you forage for other edibles on your land?

I planted apples pears and peaches in my yard and I didn't get to eat one this year so sad

Our blossoms froze in the spring, killing off all fruits. I plan to build some sort of frame to protect them next season. We get many freezing nights all summer I now have learned

Thanks to bad I have never had the chance to eat my own planted food and you do this every day.

Yeah. Well, live and learn. We will have it much better next time.

I love foraging for wild edibles. We have some scruffy oaks around here mixed with pine. I missed the oak harvest this year due to getting everything else ready for winter and still setting up our homestead.

I hope to get a good harvest next year though.

I have a mess of foraging books and I live them.

We have pine, which makes a good tea. You can eat the bark too. And oaks. Blackberries, a wild apple tree, some crab apples, different black berries, strawberries and a hazelnut tree.

IF YOU DO NOT OBEY THE LORD , YOUR GOD ,AND DO NOT CAREFULLY FOLLOW ALL HIS COMMANDS AND DECREES, YOU WILL BE CURSED IN THE CITY AND CURSED IN THE COUNTRY . THE FRUIT OF YOUR WOMB WILL BE CURSED . THE CROPS OF YOUR LAND , THE CALVES OF YOUR HERDS , THE LAMBS OF YOUR FLOCKS .YOU WILL BE CURSED WHEN YOU COME IN , AND CURSED WHEN YOU GO OUT . THE LORD WILL SEND ON YOU CURSES, CONFUSION , AND REBUKE EVERYTHING YOU PUT YOUR HAND TO, UNTIL YOU ARE DESTROYED AND COME TO SUDDEN RUIN , BECAUSE OF THE EVIL YOU HAVE DONE IN FORSAKING HIM

IF YOU DO NOT OBEY THE LORD , YOUR GOD ,AND DO NOT CAREFULLY FOLLOW ALL HIS COMMANDS AND DECREES, YOU WILL BE CURSED IN THE CITY AND CURSED IN THE COUNTRY . THE FRUIT OF YOUR WOMB WILL BE CURSED . THE CROPS OF YOUR LAND , THE CALVES OF YOUR HERDS , THE LAMBS OF YOUR FLOCKS .YOU WILL BE CURSED WHEN YOU COME IN , AND CURSED WHEN YOU GO OUT . THE LORD WILL SEND ON YOU CURSES, CONFUSION , AND REBUKE EVERYTHING YOU PUT YOUR HAND TO, UNTIL YOU ARE DESTROYED AND COME TO SUDDEN RUIN , BECAUSE OF THE EVIL YOU HAVE DONE IN FORSAKING HIM

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62816.09
ETH 2466.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64