You Gotta Start Somewhere!

in #off-grid6 years ago

Making the decision to get out of the rat race and start a homestead was pretty scary. I grew up on a farm so the lifestyle didn't scare me. But I had gone off to college, got married had a family, got loans to buy houses and cars. All the things society said that I should do.

I had a brand new home, sold it for a bigger home. Had a beautiful fast sporty car traded it for a bigger better car. Got offered a promotion at work....none of these things brought me joy. I spent all my time at work to pay for them and no time to enjoy them or my family!

So selling everything and moving a 1000 miles was scary! We moved to a place sight unseen!! This wasn't our property it was a property that we were looking after while we prepared our land to live on. A caretaking situation if you will. It didn't work out and that setback is one of the reasons why we are not yet on our own dream property.

This spring we will attempt to finally get moved to the property. It is exciting but it's a little scary too.

While the caretaking situation didn't work out and was a bit of a setback we have tried to make the most of it and use the knowledge gained for future success.

I have had these pictures for YEARS and made the video clip a long long time ago. I haven't shared it because every time I watch it I get emotional. You see when I look at it now I see so many newbie gardening mistakes so the perfectionist in me is like OH DEAR. LOL, But there is also another emotional connection. When we landed in the new place we had sold everything and paid off ALL our debt. When my husband arrived and we turned in the Uhaul we had a couple hundred dollars left...that is it! And A LOT of mouths to feed. We didn't know ONE person, not ONE connection. It was SINK or SWIM!!

Oh did I mention that my husbands truck broke down to? Yes, REALLY!

My husband has many skills and luckily a local company snatched him up and within days he was employed. At a job that would help him make many connections in the community.

We were quickly headed into winter. The place we were staying was so miserable. We had not had time or money to better winterize the place and pretty much most of his pay for the winter went to keep us from freezing. Yep, coldest winter in 100 years -15 degrees and we just moved from a tropical climate! Yes, REALLY

So all winter long I stayed up late nights to stoke the little fireplace to keep the house from freezing. It got so bad at one point we could only heat one room. We had electric heaters that were driving the power bill through the roof and still we were cold. The wind just blew through the place!!

I had plenty of time to study, I had been for years but it was time to get SERIOUS!
With one vehicle we decided that it would be best if I stayed home and tended the critters and worked a garden.

So as soon as the snow melted, it was still freezing at night, I started working on a garden spot. The only place was a little hillside. A neighbor told us about a sawmill that would let people take scrap material. So I went there and got some boards to make raised bed terrace rows. You will see them in the video. I had started a compost pile in fall and all winter I babied it. Turning it, covering it etc. It was rewarding watching it steam. We were eating from the grocery store and the cost was extreme and the quality of food was really bad. I knew we needed to eat healthier and we really needed to save some money so I started plants in the house and went full speed.

This little garden isn't anything special to look at but it is special to me. Sharing it is like sharing a part of ME. You see we ate canned goods from that little garden for years. That little garden taught me that I COULD feed myself! Paying off debt is a really big deal but honestly, anybody can do that! To know in your heart that you can grow food and SURVIVE in a life-changing situation that was very EMPOWERING for me, It changed me forever! Not a day goes by that I don't think about growing food! Because I need to and because I WANT TO!

Sugar Creek started in my mind many many years ago but that little garden was THE true beginning of Sugar Creek Homestead. I hope that you will view it and if it inspires ONE person to grow their own food then I am glad that I finally got the courage to share this very personal part of ME.

Thank you so much for stopping by the homestead!
@SugarCreek

Sort:  

I knewthe feeling of having the first harvest of everything that I grew @sugarcreek, and I still save the dream to have grow my own food in bigger garden instead of the pots at the porch too.

I always appreciate those who grow their own foods and have a homestead too, not an easy life or easy decision to make unless you're strong enough and has a strong desire to make it come true.

Really enjoy reading your post and video too.. Thanks for sharing!

Your balance is below $0.3. Your account is running low and should be replenished. You have roughly 10 more @dustsweeper votes. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

Thank you so much for your support and encouragement.
I recently heard someone say that in the beginning there was a man and a woman and a garden... And it was good.
In our hearts we all want to live back in the garden of Eden.
The love of Eden is always in the heart and we must create the garden.
I will be challenged with starting over on a new property again very soon. I believe this will be my last move and I will set out to create my Eden.
It is my dream to some day share it with others so that they know this life is real and attainable..... With a bit of work.
Be blessed your good works are a blessing to others.

Happy New year and Great that I found your blog through @pifc and @cicisaja good luck on your journey in the steemisfere !
Gr. Britt

Thank you so much for your support!

Good luck with your new lifestyle! That takes some courage... I don't think I could do that. :-/

PS: I have found your post because @cicisaja featured you in her entry for The Pay It forward Contest

I do not feel courageous but I do feel determined. Thanks so much for your support!
Be well.

WOW - what a move!
I'm not sure if I could do that ... actually, I'm pretty sure I could not do that.
You had a hard start there - the winter, a broken car, a not too comfortable place to stay in the beginning.
But reading this makes me think you are strong and will make your way there!

I will watch the video later when I have more time.

Found your blog via @cicisaja and her entry for the Pay-It-Forward Curation (@pifc) contest.

Thanks for sharing and all the best for the future!

You would be surprised what you are capable of when put in the situation.
I continue to fight for my dream
Giving up is not an option.
I hope that you will watch the video to see my garden is to see my heart. Thank you so much for your support!

You would be surprised what you are capable of when put in the situation.
I continue to fight for my dream
Giving up is not an option.
I hope that you will watch the video to see my garden is to see my heart. Thank you so much for your support!

I watched it and have to say that you can be proud of you did there!
Great work with great results!

Thank you so much! It was scary and exciting all at the same time. I appreciate you taking the time to watch!

Wow, so great to get more of your backstory! So hard, but so worth it. We optimistically gave up on the American dream to dream for ourselves too. Hopefully those dreams will be coming true!

Sharing is not easy for me. My lifestyle has been heavily criticized by those close to me in the past.
Today I am envied for being debt free. A status I am proud of but the real challenge is staying debt free! There is much temptation and as you know this is not an "easy" life. Being responsible for yourself and others is a lot of work.
But being true to yourself and your calling in my thinking anyway is far more valuable than gold!

Really enjoyed reading this post @sugarcreek! You have to give yourself some credit for getting to a place of being debt-free. So many people, at least here in America, are so “far under” they can hardly imagine getting there. And most for the reasons you cite at the beginning of your post …

”This little garden isn't anything special to look at but it is special to me. Sharing it is like sharing a part of ME. You see we ate canned goods from that little garden for years. That little garden taught me that I COULD feed myself! Paying off debt is a really big deal but honestly, anybody can do that! To know in your heart that you can grow food and SURVIVE in a life-changing situation that was very EMPOWERING for me, It changed me forever! Not a day goes by that I don't think about growing food! Because I need to and because I WANT TO!.”

But … There is something about living close to the earth that words seem somewhat inadequate to express. While I have not done anything as extensive as you, I wrote a Steem post about my time as a hay farmer (professional engineer, so not my line of work …) working with two of my sons. Lifetime memories! 😊

Dropping by to support your post, after @cicisaja featured it in our weekly @pifc community contest. And wishing you all the best for a …

💥 Happy New Year!! 💥

Thank you so much your kind words and support are very appreciated!

Hi...nice to see someone else who has similar passion @sugarcreek, I found your blog because your post was featured by @cicisaja

Thank you for stopping by.
Growing food is a passion and an important life skill. Sharing and inspiring others is an honor.

It's the best feeling after things start to go awry to end up with the crop that you did. I hope you guys are able to get the house taken care of soon. You definitely gave me some ideas. I had started a garden when we move in almost 7 yrs ago. The first version went well until the dogs broke the fencing. My strawberries almost took over the garden LOL, however one of the puppies thought it was a nice cool place to lay. At least he smelled good. I let that one go and opted for beds on another part of yard outside of our fence. Tomatoes and jalapenos did wonderfully, the strawberries ok. As with the first everything died :( Between heat and birds it's been a bit of a task.

You were featured in week 39 of @pifc's Pay It Forward Curation Contest by @cicisaja.

Thank you so much for the kind words. I can't give up on my dream so pushing forward!

I have limited internet so just received this. What an honor to be recognized and be able to inspire others. Be blessed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 68237.15
ETH 3499.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72