Meet Fred Stallone and Tour His Off Grid Paradise

in #off-grid6 years ago (edited)

I met Fred Stallone in an online group I recently joined about Going Off grid and loved the journey he shared and continues to take.

I found his adventure into off grid life quite inspiring, he took the leap and moved to a place where he didn't know anyone and the nearest neighbour is far enough off you'd have no problem avoiding them if you wanted. Getting off grid is the dream for many but that first step is the most brutal, the step into the relatively unknown; from fantasy to reality.

That step that proves your commitment to a life of freedom and self sustaining, relying mostly on your own skills and abilities.

After reading some of his posts and intrigued with the photos he shared I asked him in a private chat if I use some of his photos for my Steemit and he was happy to share his adventure. He sent me about a thousand words and I'm going to give you the gist of it. I told him if he had BTC wallet I'd send him some of the rewards. We'll see if makes that leap.

So here is how it started.

"I left California on the 28th of December 2011 with my wife, 1.7 year old son, and, 3 month old daughter to live in the Montana Wilderness. We left blind not knowing what to expect. We purchased our property site unseen relying on photos, and sellers honesty in his description of the property. We knew no one in Montana and have never been there."

He sold all of his possessions and bought just what he needed to make his life off grid possible. That couldn't have been easy and then to go to a place where you know no one and to do it without ever having been to the land first. He simply trusted the photos and what he was told. Good judgement there.

Good Luck finding dear that friendly.

He told me how he lived out of his jeep while he began developing and building the land to suit his needs. Everything was on a tight budget as I'm sure you can imagine.

He mentioned "I have never built a structure before, nor have I ever worked in Construction, so I was a bit nervous. I thought to myself many time that I bit more than I could chew and I'm going to fail my family. I never showed my negativity, or stress to my wife because she was very happy and she believed in me."

Nice and spacious. Pretty darned good work for being untrained if you ask me.

Nice toasty in here during the cold winter nights for sure.

He did it all by hand from scratch. Now that is freedom. That is the meaning life. To build you own home in the wilderness so well it's suitable for a family. That goal is achieved there. I will let the photos speak for themselves.

Look at all that snow. How to decide where to build a fort and snowman. Cross country skiing anyone?

There's so much more to the story and he has many others as well. Maybe they'll get shared on Steemit considering we have quite a few successful off grid folks who also homestead.

Check out the facebook group here and meet him and many others living their life the way it was intended.
https://www.facebook.com/groups/897884390376065/

There still time to comment and vote on my Off Grid Paradise Logo Competition. Win 5SBD

https://steemit.com/off-grid/@solarguy/off-grid-paradise-logo-competition

Thanks for reading. Do share your Off Grid Steemit links in the comments. I'd love resteem it

Sort:  

Sounds so inspiring. But i do not think i could live in wilderness. But great if his family is happy in this place.

Would you visit an off grid retreat for a holiday or weekend? Experience all that it has to offer but not be committed to the lifestyle?

What a life altering decision. How does he feel about this decision in terms of pros and cons ? I can imagine he would be pretty darned happy - but I'm sure there is both good and bad of course like with everything

Im sure there's cons. I never asked him actually. I can imagine the cons at them moment is no running water, it's not a deal breaker but it cold be a pain in the butt.

Everything has become so convenient that it would take some time to adjust - but I can definitely see it being worth it

ow about just visiting one for a holiday or weekend?

I'm actually working on a drawing of a tree house - I would love to create it when I get back to Sweden . I will make it so that it's possible to stay there during winter as well, so it's kind of a big project

do share more when it's ready.

looks like living the dream imo.

Hell yea. With dear that close might want to take up bow hunting.

That close a 4 foot sharp stick would work.
lol

I have a buddy that lives near him...for certain values of "near"
He says that he not EXACTLY in the middle of nowhere..
...but you can see it from his front porch.

ah cool, must be nice to visit him. So much wildlife wouldn't have to go to the grocery shop as often. And living on the edge of the middle of no where is still a pretty sweet place to be.

Never been there.
Northern Montana is gnarly.
Not at all friendly to what I was driving at the time (an eighteen wheeler)

I can imagine those roads are pretty narrow and winding and steep hills. Must be fun when there's ice on the roads. ><

what a creativity!!

You have to be pretty creative to live out there. Figuring out ways to use everything on hand and figuring out ways to things with nothing on hand. ^^

thanks for shareing your tour moment dear sir i like your post @solargy

                           RESTEEM POST DONE

great post.
thanks for sharing

Anather beautifull post i see in steem thanks @solargy for shareing this post

   resteem

Nice post beautiful presented and explained. detail oriented with nice paradise. thank you for sharing

useful post..
thanks for sharing
upvoted

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87