The ODE CHALLENGE - IMPROVED

in #odechallenge7 years ago (edited)

ode.jpg

ode - ōd/
noun
a lyric poem in the form of an address to a particular subject,
often elevated in style or manner and written
in varied or irregular meter.



Introducing the improved ODE CHALLENGE. This is a contest to put your poetic skills to task on a particular type of poetry - The Ode. I have made some changes to it's original format which offer greater freedom and interpretation to the subject matter. It will now be focused on a subject instead of a particular item. As long as your ode is themed around the subject you are entered. I am hoping this change will open the contest to a wider audience and help to draw artists to the competition.


THIS WEEKS SUBJECT:
Image3.jpg




THE RULES
-The theme of your ode must be centered on the subject in some way.
Be creative and imaginative. It matters.
-You must post a link to your ode in this post.
-One of the tags for your ode must be #odechallenge.
It doesn't have to be the first tag, but that is the
tag I will be watching for entries. It wouldn't hurt
to use ODECHALLENGE in your headline also.
-The challenge will run till Friday midnight (EST).


AWARDS
1st - 5 SBD
2nd - 3 SBD
3rd - 2 SBD


You can help make this contest more profitable.
Resteem this post. Upvote this post.
Awards will grow as the contest grows and
forward promotion is key.


Steemit is full of wonderfully creative poets. I look forward to seeing your imaginations inspiration.


JAPH2.gif

Sort:  

Hey there! I'd never written an Ode before, but I liked it a lot and I thing I did justice to my subject: Lego blocks. It was the obvious choice!

You can find my entry here.

@japhofin8or,
Here is my Ode:
Ode To My G. I. Joe!
It is done in the similar lyrical style of Ode To Billy Joe by Bobby Gentry. So when you read it think of thet song. Lol!
Thanks for the contest.
@Lymmerik

YES! Great to see the ode challenge back!

May the odes be ever in your favor...

I can't wait to see the odes with the less constricted subject matter. Thanks for the upvote and resteem. Hopefully the challenge will gain a larger following.

Ok so here is my ode to the little toy soldiers I fought many wars with!

I'll get the ball rolling! I knew what I had to write about as soon as I saw your post...

Lincoln Logs!

https://steemit.com/poetry/@chrisroberts/ode-to-lincoln-logs-my-entry-in-the-ode-challenge

Thanks for a great prompt. People love to reminisce about their old toys.

Quit a challenge, I may not be up to at this time.

i gotta try to write something for this! great contest!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63061.76
ETH 2602.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75