Ode To Lincoln Logs - My Entry in the Ode Challenge

in #poetry7 years ago


Howdy! This is my entry into The Ode Challenge, sponsored by @japhofin8or. Join in! It's easy and fun!


Just a quick post this morning. Once I saw the topic (TOYS), I had to participate. It didn't take me long to think up this little ditty...


Ode To Lincoln Logs

O Lincoln Logs! O Lincoln Logs!
Thou fine, simplistic toy!
You made an architect out of
This wild, destructive boy.

The wonders of design are hidden
In your notchèd wood,
And though my hands were splintered then
My cabins always stood.

Playthings today, I'm sad to say,
Can't hold a candle to
The beauty of those Lincoln Logs,
The toys with which I grew.



Sort:  

It seems we had more or less the same idea! The simpler the better, it lets creativity work in complete freedom.

I never had Lincoln Logs, hell I didn't even know they existed, but now I wish I did! I did have the OG building toy though, Lego. And that's what my entry is about, hahaha.

Steem on! And may the odes be ever in your favor, hahaha.

The precursor to Legos... Its important to respect your elders.
Resteemed by @rockymtnsteem 🏔❤️

and you're still building things out of them!

Whoa dude. You just blew my mind.

An excellent ode and a definite blast to my past. Great write! Thanks for entering!

You're very welcome! I'll bet you get lots of entries on this one.

This post has caught the eye of @MuxxyBot and has been nominated by the curation team. If chosen it will feature in a curation post by @MuxxyBot. An image from your post may be featured.
Please reply to this comment if you accept or decline.

Accept, and thank you!

Congratulations. This post has been featured in this week's Muxxybot Poetry Curation post.

https://steemit.com/poetry/@muxxybot/muxxybot-poetry-curation-5

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62221.65
ETH 2424.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55