ODE TO COMMUNITY MEETINGS - ODECHALLENGEsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #odechallenge7 years ago (edited)

Meet and greet, greet and meet -
we get together and take a seat
community building, how does it work?
Being an outsider, I tend to lurk

In the back or on the side, its true,
small talk or banter I tend to eschew
in any language, not just here
my uncomfortability seems to be clear.

And then they come to greet me -
to say hello and meet me
Friends and players from all over town;
Come out social spirit don't let me down!

Oh political reunions, you lovely beast
Could be half the people at them show up for the feast.
Crackers and juice, maybe even pan
at the higher echelons I'm sure they serve flan.

Opening with the songs we love to sing.
Remembering all the words would be a blessing.
The national hymn makes me feel humble,
but the state song I can only mumble.

seated in chairs.jpg

Opening remarks, you know we love to hear 'em,
summarizing themes is the mayor's magic serum.
We listen intently, enchanted by his prose,
many snap photos as we wait for him to close.

Tourism is the topic, the reason we have come,
and we'll touch on this word in every way before we are done.
Our tiny little town, how to get it on the map -
Community tourism would be a feather in his cap.

The quantity of companies, entities and players,
associations, cooperatives and many other layers.
The network of legalities and paperwork is vast;
But to the dream of development our community holds fast.

The long list of speakers continues down the line,
Some reading from their power-points, we're having quite the time
listening to these experts, learning what to do
If they keep defining tourism we might learn something too.

Sitting in our plastic chairs, when we dream we do it big,
No one would ever think to say the system may be rigged.
Instead we come together, hear the experts once again
telling us just what to do - How to become Edén.

Speakers.jpg

Now we see some videos, fresh images are shown
other tiny towns we see that succesfully have grown.
Tourism of adventure, rappel and bungee
of course all this infrastructure must start with some funding.

Finally the lights are back, the videos are done;
Writing rhymes in the dark turns out to be quite fun.
now we hear from locals, their stories and lessons
and hear that the philosophy is one of conservation.

The juice arrives and I find out, Its got a bit of bite,
aguardiente with my drink, I don't put up a fight!
We listen to the locals, seed savers and our friends
who want to save the world and see monoculture's end.

The talking continues, late into the night
solutions to all our problems are coming into sight.
We share our dreams and visions, and drink more special juice
The meeting keeps going, getting long in the tooth.

As they finish talking, and wrapping up with thanks,
reviewing all the progress and how high this meeting ranks,
the clear conclusion shows itself, lets itself be heard;
The next step to tourism - come back the 23rd!

Finishing up.jpg
The purpose of all meetings: to make more meetings!

Love and Light to All!

Sort:  

This gave me some flashbacks to meetings from my past... LOL

I've always loathed meetings. Fortunately, Carrie is all over them.

Teamwork - yes I was able to dedicate myself to this poem because I was @ecoinstante's arm candy last night 😂

How can you write such a long poem really??? You need to compile all your creations and make your own book of poetry and titled it something like 'What Steemit Did to Me?' lol

This is the longest I've ever wrote, although I've always dreamed of a truly epic poem like martin fiero or something from shakespeare.

I love the title you suggest! ✌😃👍

Shakespeare's works were amazing really. i'm glad you liked it. Do consider the idea though- I am in awe of your many talents seriously. You are one of my top 10 favorites here. Initially the list had 3 ppl only but I keep meeting great ppl here so the list keeps getting bigger.

Agreed! Its great meeting more and more talented people, it can be overwhelming but I just feel blessed to interact with some people everyday!

Congratulations @ecoinstant! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Oh that was a good read and painted many pictures in my head. And we think our meetings go on and on! Maybe through Steemit you will become their tourism ambassador!

Thanks for reading! I'm trying to practice writing verse so that one day - just maybe - I'll be good at it 😂

We are hitting it at all angles - trying to implement the blockchain into our efforts at sustainable development!

And all of it has taken you out of your box!

More than ever - we've broken out of the box and are spilling onto the blockchain!

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67685.77
ETH 3856.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69