Operation Curation Delegation - Update on changes and a Community Poll!

in #ocd7 years ago (edited)

Hey everyone! I started going through the Curator Applications on the announcement post and just wanted to start out by saying a big THANK YOU to everyone for your big interest in the project. Its great to see that so many others are really passionate about the platform and want to make it a lot easier for new users to get noticed and be rewarded for their content.

We had an astonishing 43 Applications for the position of 10 Curators!

I didn't take the rule of being a max 3 month old account to become a curator as serious as I noticed many users who were older but still active curators had very low amount of SP themselves yet were trying really hard to curate as well as they could. Also reminded me a bit of myself when I was curating with low influence for a long time, so that rule got lifted.

What I wonder about now though, and what I want the community themselves to decide on, is if you are willing to up the Curators from 10 to 20.

Since my Steem Power that I can delegate is roughly over 20k that means that each curator would only receive a total of 1000 Steem Power to aid me with the project and nominate deserving posts they find each day.

Like many others though the hardfork has exceeded many of our expectations of how effective our votes have become, that's why I myself am leaning a bit more towards accepting 20 Curators instead. I also want to change the rules a bit more to be able to support the authors a bit better with increasing both their curation rewards and amount of earnings they receive from finding these undervalued gems of posts. One of the biggest changes would be this one:

30% of the SD from that post will be shared among all 10 Curators, 30% among the curators that linked the winning nominations

would be changed to instead post a compilation of the top 5-10 posts voted within the curation steemit.chat channel daily on my account and distribute the payouts like this instead:

25% of the SD from the post is shared among all 20 Curators, 25% added to the Curators of the 5-10 selected nominations for the compilation posts and 50% of the rest of the SD would go to the authors who are in the compilation.

To avoid any confusion of the newcomers we will also require the Curators to let the authors they nominate know about it and ask them for permission to add an image and link of their posts to the Compilation post.

Here is a quick visual on how the Payout Distribution would look like, enjoy.


Let me know in the comments what you think about the distribution method.

To let the community decide if we should increase the amount of curators from 10 to 20 (which means 1000 SP each instead of 2000) please visit this poll and check your preference. Thanks

https://strawpoll.com/4wb87x5


Thanks for reading, I will be choosing the curators soon after the poll is finished!

Link to Announcement Post

Sort:  

nice! Good luck guys!

@acidyo, it's a bit difficult for me to understand the content of this post yet as I am just a few days old here. Learning the ropes bit by bit :)

I feel it's better to have more curators as we can find diverse content. And it's possible that some might not be active everyday. So a good decision!

Is it too late to apply...???
@pocketechange

Yeh sorry, it's already hard enough to choose 20 of the 43.

looks like fair to me :)
how come I didn't hear anything about the curators
application still open?

Unfortunately its not open anymore.

Will be choosing 20 out of the 43 applicants soon.

I prefer 20 curator and I realy like your consept, it is way better then the one of the trails where the trail owner gets nearly everything.

Very nice project!, how do you pick the curators and the authors?

I mentioned it in the first thread, after I've picked the curators myself we will pick the authors on the steemit.chat channel.

That sounds cool! :D

Btw i haven't been able to join the chat in all day, it is just me?

It's been down. :P

Yep, it's blowin' up around here.

I will be helping too. Finding and Voting full power on some good content that fits my standards and taste buds. :) Spongebob Cops 22062017091952.jpg

Check out @bitrocker2020 a whole series of sketches

The pic looks scary, like you are looking for authors to beat them.


Good luck curating good content.....hope you beat the upvote option on authors content.

@themanualbot be assured you have a new user who has passion and skill for great contents that will tickle your fancy...check out my few posts and be assured the better ones are loading as am steeming hot ...

Check my blog 🙂

If you like the Travel blogs .. PLz give a visit to @indiantraveller . I share my travel experiences here

Very nice strategy . You still give a bigger share to new author.. Its great source of motivation .. Thanks

Fightin' da good fight.

This sounds very good. Hope your projects runs well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68168.17
ETH 3256.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67