Dragon Horse - oil painting

in #ocd-resteem5 years ago

20180623_113928.jpg

One from my archives. I painted this some time ago now during a live session so unfortunately don't have the process pictures leading up to the final picture and finished its fine details a while after. And although I have shared this on my other social platforms thought it might be received well here on steemit.
I let my imagination run on this one with shape and colour while sticking to the basic principles of a horse.
I just love any opportunity to use really vivid colours in my work as it reflects the mood I'm generally in while painting. This painting took me back to when I was a young lad forever drawing horses and or birds. It was an on session with me from a very tender age and has become one of my great loves in my painting areas. I painted this picture in oils without a sketch and felt very pleased with the results. It now sits proudly in a local gallery along some of my other pieces just waiting for that one person to fall in love with it and take it home with them. I hope you enjoy the picture.

Sort:  

Sits proudly in a local gallery? Congratulations!! What an achievement to have your art in a public place! :)

I somehow missed your title and I was thinking: Is it a horse or is a dragon? Then I read your title, lol :D

It's simply amazing and it's very difficult to determine what it really is so you did a great job with the shape and making it some kind of a 'mutant'. The colors are lovely! It looks so cheerful and I can imagine hanging it in my living room. Oh, and I truly love how the colors blended...

Very well done! In the future you could maybe share some new artworks with progress photos :) This could attract wider audience to your posts - just a suggestion and it's of course entirely up to you how you maintain your account :)

Thank you for sharing and have a nice day!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Beautiful colors. :)

beautiful painting!

Posted using Partiko Android

beautiful colour @jakeknee, yoour horse is a bit tired after long run, right? I can see some air through its nose and mouth.. Love it!!

Your post was upvoted by the @art-venture account after manual review and included in Art-Venture magazine. The upvote and support of Art-venture magazine would greatly appreciated!
Unbenannt-1a.jpg

Congratulations @jakeknee! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 50

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 56847.11
ETH 2970.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29