The Road of the 52 tunnels - Photographic trekking on a military mule track built during the First World War on the Pasubio massif, in north-eastern Italy - part 2

in #ocd-resteem6 years ago

Hello! As promised here is the second part of the excursion on Mount Pasubio through the Road of 52 tunnels.
Only by walking as I have done, one can understand the effort they had to make in order to carry out this route, which was then used to bring supplies and ammunition to the front sheltered from enemy fire.

While I'm tired, I keep walking I hear an exclamation coming from a distance:

  • Oh my God!

I turn and see a couple of hikers standing still and surprised by the climb that they had to face.
They had children on their shoulders and she could not take it anymore ... I did not see them again, I think they left.

P1015288.jpg

I follow Riccardo and we do not speak... at that point the slope is 20%

P1015286.jpg

Sometimes there are effigies applied to the rock.
Unfortunately, many people have fallen along this itinerary...
I heard that, some years ago, some athletes used to ride it by bike, people rushed, then they forbade the transit of bikes.

P1015289.jpg

When I was tired, with the excuse of making a video, I took a breath 1 minute...

Here the gallery had a narrow mouth, it seems to enter the bowels of the mountain.

P1015291.jpg

When we entered the gallery, lights were suddenly turned on, which projected some writing on the rock on the ground.
I have never seen such an artistic installation in the high mountains!

P1015293.jpg

P1015296.jpg

And here we are at gallery 19, the longest of all! It is 318 meters long!

P1015298.jpg

Here is the relief made with the laser scanner of the nineteenth gallery made by the surveyor Federico da Pezze.

On 20 July 1917 the galleries were completed.
It has a helical development with 4 irregular spirals that takes light from 10 "windows" that were used to position the artillery.

44426.jpg

P1015301.jpg

P1015302.jpg

Leaving the gallery we crossed a group of Austrians who had climbed the mountain through a "via ferrata".

P1015304.jpg

The view we could see was changing as we got up in altitude...

P1015312.jpg

It was 3.40 pm and we were starving.
Finally we found a space for lunch and recharge your energy!

P1015321.jpg

As I finished the sandwich I saw the group of hikers we had found at the beginning of the excursion ... I think they slept up there and then left the following morning.

P1015322.jpg

A gallery made us go out on a side of the mountain that we had never seen... what a view!

P1015332.jpg

The photo does not make the idea ... it seemed to be in a landscape that reminded me of the country of the hobbits or of the lord of the rings! Really nice, I will be back to make videos !!

P1015333.jpg

The tunnels followed one another until we met this hiker. I had to shoot it! It was positioned too well not to do it!

P1015343.jpg

The clouds moved quickly but we could still see the view that surrounded us!

P1015346.jpg

Look how small that you see the hiker I had photographed...

P1015351.jpg

We were 2000 meters and the clouds were covering everything...

The clouds moved quickly and suddenly we saw the Achille Papa Refuge, our point of arrival.

P1015353.jpg

We were almost there and as soon as we left the last gallery we find tables and benches in front of us!

P1015355.jpg

Take advantage of the tables and I say to Riccardo:

Let's take a picture!

I put the camera on the table with the self-timer and... Click !!

P1015360.jpg

I think this is the picture where I came worst ever! : D: D

But it does not matter, I have a wonderful memory of this excursion!


We had arrived halfway through the excursion.
The tunnels were finished, but then we had to get back to the car!
We decided to come back for another route ... really nice and different from what we had just done.
We even found the snow!

I do not know if I managed to show you this wonderful excursion.
For me it was fantastic and I can not wait to do the next!

As I write, here in Italy it is almost time for dinner, now I greet you and wish you all a good day !! Ciao!

Sort:  

Thank you for your contribution to the Photocircle tag!

Cheers,
@Photocircle Team

Learn about this photo curation project by clicking >here

To learn more about the new project feature, please click on the quest image below.

Such a view and what a walk! And great shots.

Makes you want to go down again by hang glider, less tyring 8-).

Thank you! It would be less tiring... next time! 😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62763.51
ETH 2579.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72