Thoughts on Obsolescence I

in #obsoleteness7 years ago (edited)

7day8a.jpg

After the second post on obsolescence the only reader of my posts, @jedau,  proposed to name it: Thoughts on Obsolescence. I didn't use the title then, but decided to create a wrap up of the first round of these short posts in a post called by his proposed title. It's an unusual feeling when someone on the other part of the planet depicts the exact feelings of a person writing posts without ever meeting me. Really, my congratulations! If you ever choose to become only an acupuncturist you might become an incredible one.  

For, once I read a story about a Tibetan monk, Yeshi Dhonden, who performed a diagnosis on someone. The story went like this, ʼFor the past two hours Yeshi Dhonden had bathed, fasted, and prayed to purify himself for this task, which was to examine a patient taken at random … After introductions and a request for a urine sample, the visiting doctor moved to the bedside and entered into a trance-like vigil over the woman.  … His eyes are closed as he feels for the pulse. In a moment he has found the spot, and for the next half hour he remained thus, suspended above the patient like some exotic golden bird with folded wings, holding a pulse of the woman beneath his fingers, cradling her hand in his. All the power of the man seems to have drawn into this one purpose … And I know that I, who have palpated a hundred thousand pulses, have not felt a single one.  … What was the diagnosis? Through a translator, the explanations sounded monk-like, furtive, poetic. Winds had been coursing through the body of the woman, currents breaking against the barriers, eddying. They were in the blood, and were the signs of an imperfect heart. Long before she was born, Yeshi Dhonden explained, »a wind has come, had blown open a deep gate that must never be opened. Through it charge the full waters of her river.« A lecturer then asked for the formal diagnosis of the hospital staff. »Congenital heart disease, » he was told. »Intraventricular septal defect, with resultant heart failure.«ʼ The Healing Arts, Ted Kaptchuk, Michael Croutcher 

Well …, you see, to me those ancient healing arts seem to be speeding into oblivion, into obsolescence. Also the true connectedness with the nature, with the Earth herself as it is thought in the traditional Chinese medicine and »moving meditation«, as well as what Native American people and Australian aborigines explain. It looks like it is vanishing from the Earth with the speed of light or faster. And, this is why I wrote those short posts about obsoleteness. We don't seem to give them the credit for our existence on Earth when we look into the black mirror daily and call each other by the help of it. 

We seem to forget that we live from the Earth and of the earth. We don't live in some simulation or virtual reality, or a hologram. We exist in the physical reality as a spirit manifest, as in a body incarnated spirit with a soul. And when we poison and destroy just everything and everyone around us, will our bodies and souls remain healthy, loving, gentle and kind, yet strong; will our mind perceive the world around us the same as we do now? Will we forget entirely and be forgotten… as beings of nature who have forgotten nature and the way of balance? 

Strange, compiling this posts, I noticed that posts on plastic and food have the same serial number, but it’s no wonder considering what they are about. And, ... the title of this post has a number I simply, if I choose to maybe ever write a sequel.

Obsoleteness I – Cars

Obsoleteness II – Recycling of Waste 

Obsoleteness III – Toys 

Obsoleteness IV – Buildings 

Obsoleteness V – Textiles 

Obsoleteness VI – Plastic 

Obsoleteness VI – Food 

Obsoleteness VII -  Professions 

Obsoleteness VIII – Money 

Obsoleteness IX – Weapons 

Obsoleteness X – Humans and Other Living Beings 

Obsoleteness XI – Magnetic Field 

Obsoleteness XII – The Earth 

Obsoleteness XIII – The Universe  

Sort:  

Interesting :) My wife is now getting into healing oils (I'm not sure if that is the right term though) I'm sure there is a lot we can learn from ancient healing arts.

I remember when we were kids, my brother and I, whenever we're sick, our mom would first take us to a doctor, then proceed to the hilot just next door. LOL. She sure had all her bases covered.

Yes, I've heard that there in the Phillipines they have a massage of the uterus that can be done to the woman after the childbirth and sets the uterus back in the normal state. So, now I know the name. We didn't have any of such practitioners, but I had my grandmothers to explain me certain ways to make my physical existance easier.
Actually that was my point, that we shouldn't just throw away everything that was working well in the past and speed with the speed of light into some novel ideas and technologies - those ancient ones functioned without much technology. Because when everything like this gets forgotten then who is going to explain anything?

The hilot is just the tip of the iceberg here. :) there are a whole host of others that involve witchcraft and magic, the albularyo is an example. I draw the line at the hilot as the others are weird and can be damn scary lol

I read about it a bit in a book The Fortuneteller Told Me by Tiziano Terzani, there a some scary ones from the Phillipines in there, but the Phillipines don't seem to have the exclusivity on scary&weird in this area.

This post has received a 2.98 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @irastra.

Don't beat yourself up, you'll find your niche. Thanks for the shoutout, man. I have been known to empathize easily, so I'm not surprised about the connection. Thanks for the appreciation!

Oh, I decided to etch into this cube whatever is bothering me and I see fit to write about. Doesn't really sound like a niche. But your depiction in a form of a title did come like a kind surprise.

Great post! My name is Morgan Levy, MD. I am an expert in the appropriate use of unconventional medicine. These therapies can be very helpful but, like all good therapies, they can also be harmful. To discover how to most appropriately make decisions for yourself check out my blog http://www.placebomedicine.com/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66222.18
ETH 3310.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70