[CR] There’s something wrong with Henrietta

in #ntopaz5 years ago (edited)

ntopaz-image-0



Checking off another fulfilling day.

After my last post was made I kicked back and began to view my day in a different light. The weather was slightly overcast but not terrible. I suggested to @guthrie that we move to the front of the shop and doodle outside before it rains. We both sketched our own demonic looking characters, it was a good time. We were later joined by @mada and @dartstrife, agreeing that today was the day for leisure activities. It started to sprinkle moments after we settled back into our self proclaimed assigned seats.

@dartstrife and I played 3 games, I lost and decided to sit out just as @tarotbyfergus made his arrived. I picked up my iPad to draw again, an old anime series in the background and I shifted my eyes from one screen to the gameplay beside me. I began sketching lightheartedly and something amazing formed before my eyes. I showed off my new illustration to friends and got to chatting with another artist who regularly sketches life drawings at the shop. He told me that my sketch reminded him of The Gibson Girl. We chatted a bit about Charles Dana Gibson’s creative process and even the scale of his drawings. I love interacting with other local artists.


All my drawings are original sketches drawn digitally by me on the Procreate App using the iPad Pro with Apple Pencil.


Going back to my normal habit of starting my sketch with the brown and then moving to the eye. I’m using my favorite reed brush tool which can be found under organic in Procreate. When I got to the second eye, I thought about subtle ways to draw the viewer in. I wanted this character to be beautiful but also have one eerie trait that’s hard to overlook.

If you can tell, I’m somewhat of a sucker for symmetry but it doesn’t rule me. I try my best to get my facial features to line up but I enjoy the imperfection. The ears are a bit crude but they’ll mostly be covered.

I imaged her with big hair and curly pigtails. It looks kinda funny but I started working on the draped pigtails first. I ran out of space so I had to shrink the image down. One great perk of drawing digitally.

Once I got the curls looking the way I wanted, I began to shape the hairline which looked extremely rectangular and the top of the head. I went back in with my liquify tool to shape the hairlines, rounding it out a bit so it looks like it actually forms around the head. I also too thought hard about the hairs structure, weight and how it would naturally fall.


The next step would be inking! Which is where she comes alive!

Thanks for stopping by to view my work!🦊

Sort:  

Beautiful! <3
she got them Yin yang eyes!
she kind but you know she can kill you. :)

Beautiful portrait even without coloring. Her curly hair looks like her scarf.
Looking forward to your next step.

[nTOPAZ-Curator]

The nTopaz Curation Team recognizes your work as being of outstanding quality and an enrichment to our community. We encourage you to use nTopaz again for your artistic creations, and are looking forward to your future posts.


Join our Discord: https://discord.gg/bycktuE

Thanks @catwomanteresa! Omgosh, I could totally see her hair as a scarf. Funny thing, while sketching it I thought it was starting to look like a fur collar!

Cool detail with the eye:) I enjoyed the process gifs also. A well presented artwork is always a sign of someone who values and cares for her work:)

[nTopaz Curator]

The comments from curators are for information and encouragement. The upvotes from nTopaz and rankings are based on the popularity of your art work when posted to the nTopaz platform. Join nTopaz Discord Channel

Thanks @georgeboya! Glad you liked the gifs, they’re always a treat to create.

Beautiful!!! love that portrait with just lines <3


[nTopaz Curator]

This comment from the curator is for information and encouragement. The upvotes from nTopaz and rankings are based on the popularity of your art work when posted to the nTopaz platform.



Join nTopaz Discord Channel

Aww yay! Glad you liked it @melooo182!

🎉 Congratulations @vermillionfox! 👏, your amazing Artwork has been selected to be featured in my curation post.



This post has been manually selected, curated and upvoted by CI mod staff team. Supporting all posts that are in high quality and don’t get enough recognition.



This post was submitted for curation by: @theironfelix
This post was voted: 100%

Love the expression! Reminds me of Rachel from Blade Runner, if you know her... ;) Oh, that face!

Thanks and yea, I could definitely see that!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Really cool sketch @vermillionfox 👌😁 I like the eerie feeling the right eye gives off. What program do you use to sketch in on your iPad? I just recently got one to start doing digital artwork and I’ve been using adobe sketch.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks @artbyclark! I’m using Procreate. I’ve tried others and I keep going back to it. Each update keeps getting better and better!

Always nice to see your drawing comes together, foxi :) This portrait brings so much narrative just by the small details you put in the character design ! The eye, of course, but then also, the hair style, and the earrings... Who is she? What period does she live in? Is she wealthy? Is she cursed?

I definitely look forward to seeing the next step with your inking :D :D :D

I’m so excited that you’re loving this image! I’ve been trying to come up with a story for her but I wonder if I should use her for a foxtale. Hmmm.. we’ll see! I’m still working on inking her and hopefully I’ll finish her up soon!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56443.25
ETH 2493.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23