Maurer's Pug (with process-kind-of)

in #ntopaz5 years ago (edited)

image.png

To put it simply, in JWildFire you combine two or more mathematical formulas to create stunning fractals! Each formula has a couple of settings that you can tweak to control the effect of the formula on the final result. Some formulas can produce totally different results according to the settings you use, think of it as choosing different styles for the formula.

One of the formulas I like a lot is named "maurer_lines;" it is a set of lines produced when you put a pencil in the hole of a gear and roll the gear inside a larger frame. Gears and frames of different sizes produce different results. This is a rather simplified explanation of course, but it will do for this post, as it is about the image, not the mathematics!

I used an older fractal as the base and started to experiment with "maurer_lines" until I got a picture that I liked, with many detailed shapes and repetitions:

1.jpg

Maurer's Pug

by @nyarlathotep
A fractal made in JWildFire

Details:


2.jpg

3.jpg


Now here is the interesting thing: the first parameter of "maurer_lines" formula is "curves_mode" and it controls how the drawn lines will connect the points of the curve, and which points will be used. The default mode is "2" which is used in the original older fractal (which is made with many other changes in formulas and parameters); a value of 3 gives the main picture in the current post.
image.png

If the mode is changed though, the style of the fractal radically changes. The following pictures are made with different modes of "maurer_lines", keeping all the other parameters of all formulas intact:


Image00001.jpg
curve_mode:4
Image00004.jpg
curve_mode:5
Image00003.jpg
curve_mode:6
Image00002.jpg
curve_mode:7

Finally, for those interested, the original fractal "PUG" (shown below) is available as a metal print - the link will take you displate.com, if you buy it after following the link I get a better commission. Thank you!

image.png

Sort:  

This art looks so complicated and I love its mathematical precision! It's perfect for people with OCD :) It's beautifully organized, all the shapes are perfectly measured and everything is in amazing order - just great!

If you look at it long enough you start feeling like you were a part of this spiral :) kind of hypnotizing..

Thank you for sharing and congratulations on your curie vote! You definitely deserve it!

Thank you for your comment. It is indeed surprising how a mathematical formula, so strict and precise, can create such shapes and patterns!

Damno mango, now if that isn’t what I would term “pure mathematical” art, then I haven’t a clue other than to call this abstract (which is mathematical) art or go bust. But I ain’t here to hinge on the programming of such, the manipulation of data to produce similar but different forms, the æsthetics of a program to allow differing equations to be put in nor of the complex equations today. Though I would blerrie well ask them if I were to venture into art in a technically specific field like this as to finetune the artistry of software as complex as this. (And just the generally different but similar softwares like spectrograms, electron microscopes and so on and so on.) So I shall stop here, before I go on, by saying great job on earning that @curie upvote!

Rather I am more in love, for now before we all go somewhere else somewhere in the World, on the spirals of the fotos (photos) revealed here. I must just gush over the coiling and the spiral jetties, along with the the geometric shapes jutting out in a choatically orderly fashion. I just love how software plus formulas (functions) / algorithms plus display windows equals beautifully machine-crafted art that is mathematical to the Letter and a perfect abstraction that bends into the realms of Surrealism without it being Surreal. (Or to say another way: lowercase s surrealism is invoked here which makes it lowercase s surreal to me.) But the differing fotos (photos) on one factor being manipulated already gave my mind an ecstasy over an ecstasy. So please, calm down with these exstasy-inducing fotos (photos)!

Yet: continue on programming / plugging new formulas in and happy steeming!
645C05E8-5B1D-4386-84A9-921060DD82F3.gif

That comment... it deserves to be a post on its own! Damn, how can I resteem comments?!

I am also amazed at how the precise and strict mathematical formulas can produce such impressive results, seemingly with no bounds and countless combinations; this is exactly what motivates me to explore more and more into the fractal universe and discover awesome patterns and shapes.

Well yer welcome for the comment!~ ^^

(On resteeming comments... uh... I think you have to go to “replies,” click on the ideal comment you’ve gotten a reply for and then scroll down until yah see the “resteem” button.)

Thanks once again for making and sharing the post!~

Ohhhh I love this, @nyarlathotep, it has an almost classical feel to its abstraction, kind of reminding me of technical layouts of old masters, but yet, it also feels like it comes up fast and swift at my consciousness from the depth where it spirals away...

Very lovely * ___ *

Congrats for Curie, as well <3

Indeed, this art is very lovely in all the mathematical beauty of it and deserves that dang @curie vote. Gotta love how math and the arts intertwine a lot, this be of no exception.

Thanks, and thanks as well ;) Let the spiral lead you into the depths of consciousness; or... far away from it!

I don't want to sin or make a no proper comment for art is really not my strength. I passed by thanks to curie's trail because they always support great content, and as casual as I may be, my eye really appreciated your piece and made me think how hard must have been to get to this level. Cheers!

Thank you very much, most of the time I am in great doubt if what I find interesting in a fractal is also interesting to other people as well. I am glad we share the appreciation!

Amazing drawing!
If I should descrive it, I would say "Curved Lines", but it is a very more complex drawing with a beautiful view!
Congratulations😉👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Some say mathematis is everything, it is in everything.
I regret I did not have the chance to develop mathematical skills. I was good at in HS but did not have the tools to further its studies. Eventually I became a lit professor, but I admire the concrete beauty behind the abstract displeasing look of formulae.
What does pug mean in this context?

There is hidden beauty in maths, awaiting to be discovered. It is never too late to explore the worlds of formulae, not as an academic but as a normal admirer. There are several computer apps that can guide you through this journey, check google ;)

"PUG" is the name of a dog breed, with flat & wrinkled faces and short snouts. When I finished the original fractal (the on eat the bottom of the post) I named it "pug" because... it reminded me of a pug! Thus, this variation of it is named "Maurer's pug," since it is a pug transformed by Maurer's curves.

This is way complicated I made some geometric drawings in my subject Engineering Drawing but none this precise it looks amazing

Posted using Partiko Android

Great math art 👍👏

Posted using Partiko iOS


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hi nyarlathotep,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you curie for your vote and publicity.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54441.42
ETH 2433.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.14