Mr Corn Man

in #ntopaz5 years ago (edited)

ntopaz-image-0A while ago I saw a TV program about making corn dolls out of corn husks. The program didn't actually show the step by step process but I figured I would save my corn husk first till I worked out how to make them. Recently I found some YouTube videos about Mexico Corn Dolls, and today I tried making one.
PSX_20190731_180829.jpg


First of all, here are the corn husks I've been saving. This is about half of them. The other half are still drying out in the balcony. I think I've had these for about half a year now and they've been collecting dust and dirt. They need to be soaked in water before used, so it's a good opportunity to clean them. In fact, they weren't as dirty as I thought they would be.
PSX_20190731_180858.jpg

PSX_20190731_180922.jpg


To make the corn doll, you need 5 pieces of corn husk and some string. I actually used some spare pieces of husk instead of string. I put four pieces of husk into two piles, and then placed them front to front, ie the two curved sides against one another. Then I tied them together near the top. Next I opened them up and turned them over so the two fronts are facing outside. The top section with the tie is now inside and is a bit bulky. I tied a piece of string just beneath that, and that becomes the head. The section below is the body.
PSX_20190731_181008.jpg

Next I rolled up the fifth piece of husk tightly, and slipped it horizontally between the body. These are the arms. I tied another piece of husk below the arms and the section below becomes the legs. I trimmed the end of the legs so my corn doll could stand up. Finally, I tied some husk around the end of the arms and trimmed them. Now my corn doll is starting to take shape.
PSX_20190731_181101.jpg

I could have slit the legs vertically and tie them at the bottom to make two legs so it looks more like a man. But I made my body too long, and the legs too short so I though my corn man would look a bit odd. That's why I left it as it is. Finally, I gave him a pair of eyes, a mouth, and some hair. These are all from the corn husk, so my little corn man is totally enviromentally friendly!!
PSX_20190731_180829.jpg

This is my first attempt at making corn dolls and I am quite please with it. It's not perfect because I need to work on the body proportions and tie the sections tighter, so next time I will know.

I have made a short step by step video of how I made my little corn man. Hope you liked it!


Check out all my travel posts here on Steemit Worldmap, and also my latest project @LadiesOfAsia where we share fun and cultural diversity across Asia Pacific.

Sort:  

I find it a tad bit creepy hahahaha
I don't think I've seen these
I am so curious to know your plans for them....

Voodoo doll 😂!!!

I have to admit he isn't the best looking guy around. This is just a practice, so I know who things work. There are some other better looking ones which I'm confident (ahem) I should be able to make in due course. Trust me, those are much prettier 😊

You are right!!!
That's what it reminded me of hahahaha

It actually looks well put together... just maybe a bit too well put together...
Anyways, will look out for your next one ;D

Hi, @livinguktaiwan!

You just got a 1.12% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @georgeboya.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

Thank you @helpie and @georgeboya and for bringing the delicious chocolate cakes!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

He is kinda freaky ... like he reminds me of a miniature scarecrow hahaha

I love that he's so clean and environmentally friendly though <3

He may be very popular at Halloween !!

very good! Very original really. I already know how I can use the corn leaves, you should make a couple ;) voodoo doll xD

Scary and ugly voodoo dolls didn't take much effort to make, I managed it on my first attempt *_^

You got a 23.45% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @livinguktaiwan! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 10 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Congratulations! I just stopped by to say that your post has been selected as a daily Featured Post of my personal curation project! You can find the daily Featured Post HERE.
I upvoted your contribution and I put it on the list because to my mind your post is what I call a quality content!
I am @miti, a manual curator that shall make available all his Steem Power to authors deserving of support. Let's make STEEM great again!
Have a nice day and keep up the good work!

Hi @livinguktaiwan!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.090 which ranks you at #1044 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 63 places in the last three days (old rank 1107).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 205 contributions, your post is ranked at #68.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.40
ETH 3576.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75