LUT Studio #28 Coasters

in #ntopaz5 years ago (edited)

ntopaz-image-0It's been a while since I posted a LUT Studio post as I've ran out of medium and haven't got round to buy some new supplies. A couple of weeks ago I was tidying up my stock of coasters and there were a few that I didn't like, so I decided to pour over them. I decided to do two puddle pours and one flip pour.
PSX_20190904_233328.jpg


A puddle pour is where you pour paint directly onto the surface, and each layer of paint is poured on top of the previous like a puddle. The area of the coaster is fairly small, so I poured inside a plastic ring to contain the paint first. You can see the rings of paint inside the plastic ring, and when I lift it the paint starts to integrate with as it spreads out. There's a film at the base of the plastic ring after I've lifted it off the coaster. I think that's because I use glue as a medium.
inCollage_20190904_224951884.jpg

inCollage_20190904_224434187.jpg

A flip pour is another pouring technique. I used a milk carton top for this and poured the paint in, like the puddle pour. The flip part, is to flip the container of paint over the top of the coaster. In practice, its much easier and safer to cover the container with the coaster first, and then flip it over, otherwise the paint will just fly out all over the place! I let the paint settle for a minute or so before I lift the lid up.
inCollage_20190904_224851623.jpg


Here are what the coasters looks like, directly after I finished pouring, and after I sealed them today with varnish. These two are the puddle pours. I titled the first coaster again after I took the photo that's why the two images looks a bit different. And the second one has turned a lot darker, all the blue has gone red. Normally the paint turns a bit dull after its dried, but I'm not sure why it's turned dark...
inCollage_20190904_231106802.jpg

inCollage_20190904_232812644.jpg

And this is the flip pour. The coaster, as it is today, is actually a bit sharper than the photo because I was trying to avoid any shadows when I took the photo.
inCollage_20190904_231517301.jpg


I really enjoy making coasters as they're actually very useful at home. I'm using a couple of my test batch from last month and they seem to be ok as the surfaces can withstanding a hot cup of tea. That's always a good sign when things work!

Sort:  

This technique gives really amazing results and i am sure it is a fun process:) So creative:)

[nTopaz Curator]

The comments from curators are for information and encouragement. The upvotes from nTopaz and rankings are based on the popularity of your art work when posted to the nTopaz platform. Join nTopaz Discord Channel

Thanks @georgeboya, it was fun making them, especially when you can put it in practical use

These are absolutely stunning, it looks like a simple technique but I am quite sure it needs skill to make it work so well. Once varnished they loose a little of their vibrancy in colour - but they amazing and super useful - handy for gifts too everyone needs a colourful coaster to put their !COFFEEA on

Posted using Partiko iOS

I got cake from helpiecake and now coffee from you! Yeah!!!

I think they will go very will with a cup coffee, you coming over to SF? I'll bring a few over and perhaps we can have a cup of coffee together!!!

Lot of great stuff in there nice

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @georgeboya.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

Thanks guys and gals !

This reminds me of a get-together with my sorority sister. We so enjoyed making art work with different colored batter made into pancakes which we enjoyed devouring afterwards. Have a beautiful day, @livinguktaiwan🥰.

Posted using Partiko iOS


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hi, @livinguktaiwan!

You just got a 1.05% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @livinguktaiwan!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.123 which ranks you at #991 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 8 places in the last three days (old rank 999).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 124 contributions, your post is ranked at #35.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

coffeea Lucky you @livinguktaiwan here is your COFFEEA, view all your tokens at steem-engine.com Vote for c0ff33a as Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 59067.30
ETH 2504.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44