Amon Ra in glory. Handcut collage 50/50cm.

in #ntopaz5 years ago (edited)

Amonaaa.jpg

This is a handcut collage artwork taken from the series A Kingdom in Pieces and created almost 14 years ago with my stained glass technique. It was made after my early experiments with the Great Masters and in continuation what i wanted was to put an idea behind the creations. I always had a fascination for the ancient Egyptian civilization, culture and belief system.

Amonaaaa.jpg

A short description for the series i wrote back then.
The theme of this series is inspired from religious paintings where the forms and symbols are replaced with those taken from ancient Egyptian theology. The reason of this act is not the revelation that the word of christian religion is based on ideas of older religions but the reminder that these ideas are deeply human and not divine at all.

Amona.jpg

Amon Ra artwork was inspired by the image of God at Michelangelo's famous frescoes. I replaced the head with a scarab helmet which a powerful symbol at the ancient Egyptian religion and i think still holds a place to people hearts though these days. Also a few more details lile a rod of power and small motifs were added and the background is taken from my beloved Gustav Dore's engravings.

Amonaa.jpg

It is interesting and surprising that the final result looks more like a Japanese manga character than a classic Renaissance artwork but to me is another sign that everything is connected in the world of art:)

Sort:  

Nice story.. and very interesting result!

[nTopaz Curator]

This comment from the curator is for information and encouragement. The upvotes from nTopaz and rankings are based on the popularity of your art work when posted to the nTopaz platform.

You can find out more in our Discord: https://discord.gg/bycktuE

Thank you so much:)

Thank you georgeboya! You've just received an upvote of 56% by @ArtTurtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your art and music posts

Please come visit me as I've updated my daily report with more information about my upvote value and how to get the best upvote from me.

Oh yeah!, this is great art work from you! I like the artwork. Thanks for sharing.

You are very welcome:) I am happy that you like it:)

Oh god, that's awesome. A delightful job. The helmet that you made from the scarab beetle is an excellent choice, I really like your unique style, I can distinguish your work from hundreds of others and it’s great that you have your own style! I considered your work for a long time, you made it very beautiful. I saw the beginning in him of a samurai from Japanese culture, as you have said, then I remembered Xerxes from the movie 300 Spratans. As you have already stressed, this suggests that everything is connected in the art world!

Thank you so much for your kind words and i like that we have the same mindset on connection:)

The x-ray like dying Roman soldiers in the background are like the decay of an ancient old building. I love it.

Thank you so much Donna:) Indeed, it looks like that i have not noticed it:)

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Amon Yo Ra :D

Hahaha, nice 😊 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

I really like the elements you used here, George ! The scarab's head is so full with interesting meaning as the scarab is often seen as a conduit between life and death, and the name Amon Ra, combined with such symbolism, brings quite a complex feeling to this piece. I also like the red fabric, it is stark and attractive !

I think you nailed the message of reminding others that some ideas are older than some religions, and there are things that belong to humanity that predates certain institutions. Faith, in general, is older than religions, I think....

The only thing that kind of bothers me is the sudden buckle at the waist, it seems a bit abrupt ! Other than that, this is a very lovely work <3

Yes indeed that was the message Spider:) Faith is older and more important than religions. Actually religions only created to make a profit out of people's faith, the same way others make a profit out of other human feelings like love, sorrow, lust anger etc.

The buckle was not a good idea but a good lesson i have learned when sth is glued it cannot be unglued :)

So much energy and movement with your technique; it takes a lot if skill to accomplish this. Beautiful!

Thank you so much @twirble, i am glad you like it and appreciate my efford:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66682.62
ETH 3447.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73