My Black and White finished piece for #inkart

in #ntopaz6 years ago

ntopaz-image-0A section of my finished ink for the @ntopaz #inkart contest.

The entire piece finished

march28mermaid.jpg

As you may remember I made the sketch for this contest the other day.
march23mermaid.jpg

I of course had to add animals

and what better companion for a mermaid then another sea mammal whose tail has a mermaid quality.

And I'd like to imagine my mermaid a witch of sorts,

and such a creature would need a familiar to do her bidding on land. And what better familiar than an owl?

As I like to do with my black and white pieces

I will often sketch using shading and the like, but then wish to really commit to no mid range tones but merely black. In fact the only colour in the final pieces IS black as the white is the white of the page.

My black and white are always my Zen place

and being rather busy and hectic this year thus far, having their soothing lines and contours as a place to escape to is pretty important to me.

For process, here is a gif of sketch and a few layers.

Having spent my morning thus far lost in the black and white of the page, I must now get to the rest of my day. I hope all of you found a moment of Zen before your days started.

I'll hopefully 'see' some of you in the comments later so by all means feel free to upvote, resteem, and of course comment.

My Previous Post: An English landscape from an Autumn Day

Copyright @donnadavisart - All Rights Reserved

Footer_donnadavisart.png


asteemitfooter.jpg

Sort:  

thanks for sharing beautiful drawing

Thank you for enjoying it @alirazavi

Yay!!! you do it 😁 👏👏👏

Beautiful artwork @donnadavis!!! 💙


[nTopaz Curator]

This comment from the curator is for information and encouragement. The upvotes from nTopaz and rankings are based on the popularity of your art work when posted to the nTopaz platform.



Join nTopaz Discord Channel

It is really amazing Donna! Good luck with the contest:)

[nTopaz Curator]

The comments from curators are for information and encouragement. The upvotes from nTopaz and rankings are based on the popularity of your art work when posted to the nTopaz platform. Join nTopaz Discord Channel

Gee thanks so much @georgeboya and thanks. You know I didn't even think to realize if there is a 'winning' in the contest. I just wanted to engage more in @ntopaz as I like how so many of we artists have collected up there with that tag.

ohhh Beautiful! It's great you joined the contest, I wish you success @donnadavisart and I hope to see your other entries =)

[nTOPAZ Coordinator]

Introduction to nTOPAZ · nTOPAZ Posting Guidelines
Visit our website · Follow us Steemit
Join Community Discord · Bounty Program: Topaz Token

Thank you @smeralda I love posting with @ntopaz and realized I should engage more with contests. The black and white one is just perfect for me!

And what better familiar than an owl?

Indeed.

The final result is simply fantastic, but I have to say that also the first sketch was super! Well done, dear Donna ^_^

Thanks so much @silviabeneforti yes I use more detail in the sketches but that just helps me 'find the black' of my ink drawing :)

the seal and Owl really make this outstanding Love this

Thanks @tattoodjay I had to animals and the balance is improved by them as well, I think.

Yes indeed it gives some nice contrast and balance I think

You are so very creative, I often wish I could see inside your head lol!

You probably would not want to stay in there too long @fishyculture or you'd get lost on the minutia of silly detail :)

Lol! A little like Disneyland, a little is great but there comes a point where I just want to go home? Well, I am so glad you share some of the best parts with the world!

Wonderful work!! Ive always loved ink work.. its what I used to ONLY work in! Lovely work cant wait to see more fellow artist ^_^

Thanks @nyctoinc I love oil/digital oil watercolour/digital watercolour too but my black and white inking is my relazing meditative space.

I love your things as well I just read about your show in Chicago looked like fun.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 64578.03
ETH 2533.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64