More Layers in my Latest Animals in Chairs Frenchi

in #ntopaz6 years ago

ntopaz-image-0The next WIP layers of one of my animals in chairs.

Here is the larger version of what I've done thus far.
march2frenchies.jpg

You can see the colour story in the bottom right

I like to finalize what those colours will be before going into the final layers of these pieces. As I want and like a more graphic decorative feel to the pieces, knowing my colour story before hand (after trying various iterations) informs what colours will go where in the final piece.

As with my other chair series pieces, I like the animals to be either in digital oil or watercolour.

The contrast of their more 'real' (fairly loosely interpreted) amidst the flat graphic nature of the rest of the piece is what I really enjoy.

This piece will also have a patterned background, which I have also tried various versions of.

Here is one of the sketches I shared before laying out this piece:

feb16study.jpg

I really love going from sketchy art journal work to graphic finalization.

As these pieces are meant to be ON things from clothing to housewares as well as prints I think such combinations just work well.

Having only a few stolen hours each morning of late for things, I have been not as active on Steemit as I should like to be, but I find if I set a timer in the morning and then get to a few, I can enjoy them more and feel less rushed to speed through all the posts I'd like.

In this morning's perusal I came across this wonderful post from our good fellow Steemit artist @natureofbeing. She poses some interesting questions for all of we creatives and you should check it out. Her final question sort of had me thinking this morning. She asked:

I'd really like to hear what these words spark in you....what do you see as life-giving paradigms for creatives as a whole and what are the destructive forces you observe or experience?

My response to this query was long winded

and I was going to share it here today as part of my post, but on second reading it seemed a bit dark and I think I might delete it from her comments section as well. Typing out how I truly feel about our current state of the world, one in which I think we've been moving into for a long time, did give me pause; and not the cute paws like on my animal drawings, if you know what I mean. And finding postivity is usually the better place to be, I decided against it.
Anyway, you should pop over there and give answer to that question. It's a good one and I'm excited to see what others answer or think upon it.

Well, that is me for today. I hope all of you find time to consider @natureofbeing question and also find time to be unplugged and creative today.

If you feel so inclined please upvote, resteem, and by all means comment below.

My Previous Post: A new Black and white drawing A witch & familiars

Copyright @donnadavisart - All Rights Reserved

Footer_donnadavisart.png


asteemitfooter.jpg

Sort:  

Nicer doggos Donna 😁👍 💎💎💎


[nTopaz Curator]

This comment from the curator is for information and encouragement. The upvotes from nTopaz and rankings are based on the popularity of your art work when posted to the nTopaz platform.



Join nTopaz Discord Channel

Thanks a lot @meloo182 I'm pretty happy with them.

I love the simple but striking compination of colours Donna, it creates a pleasing and balanced result:)
I will check the article you suggested also

[nTopaz Curator]

The comments from curators are for information and encouragement. The upvotes from nTopaz and rankings are based on the popularity of your art work when posted to the nTopaz platform. Join nTopaz Discord Channel

Thanks so much @georgeboya for me the colour story is like ONE of the characters in these pieces. I love colour and pairing and combining colours, so I do a few versions in my journal or even on the computer with just quick fills to get an idea of what I want to work with.

They are so adorable ❤❤ Beautiful graphic finalization and I also love to see your sketches, very artistic

[nTopaz Curator]

The comments from curators are for information and encouragement. The upvotes from nTopaz and rankings are based on the popularity of your art work when posted to the nTopaz platform. Join nTopaz Discord Channel

Thank you so much @livvu I really am a two sided artist in that I love both the graphic/decortive as well as the more painterly oil 'fine art' both seem to be in me and want to get out, so I let them both have their own lives :)

Wow that so tender things, those dogs look very precious lying in that chair. 🤗


[nTopaz Curator]

This comment from the curator is for information and encouragement. The upvotes from nTopaz and rankings are based on the popularity of your art work when posted to the nTopaz platform.

You can find out more in our Discord: https://discord.gg/bycktuE

Thank you @yanes94 to me, all dogs are pretty precious. These animal series let's me get all cute and cuddly over the idea of animals :)

I also love dogs but my favorites are the Golden Retriever and Siberian Wolf, I am in love with these two races. XD

Ah, I always love the little dogs in chairs. Such a fun series, the chairs. And I'm going to name these macrotus I and II, as their ears remind me so of this speci. Hope that is not insulting to the small pups, but just a biological observation I cannot help ( :
The colors and contrast between the chair shape of sort of 50's living room industrial (I'm SO in tune with furniture fashion...right!), is so interesting. I love the organic dog and rather non-organic chair look. And as usual, the whimsy always makes me happy. Looking forward to the final background part. Few things beat 1950-60's wallpaper design. Oh classic stuff.

As for @natureofbeing's post, I'll go check that out. I think I voted on it, between snow removal all-niter's, but had little time to digest and respond. But I think this is a constant struggle... to maintain positive thought, and a sane, positive mental state in all parts of life, and the art that is so important within it, with all the nasty stuff going on daily in the world around us. Always been a struggle for me, to stay positive, even as a kid. And I think humor has always been a push back. My friends and I over the years have always used humor as a constant in all of life. It sure helps. I've written some pretty dour things in the past, in reaction to events, but try to focus on the other side, for public and my own creativity. I suppose in some ways that may be putting your head in the sand, but one has to do what one has to do to stay on even keel. And happier things just seem to help. The world can use all the positivity possible. Lord knows there's enough negative to fill the Glenn Canyon dam. (That's why I have all sorts of odd, fun creatures perched around my work desk. They make me smile or laugh a lot. Mr. Cauliflower and Mr. Chicken #7 are sitting on my printer right now, making faces at me as I write. Crack me up.) Well, I went on and on there, so will end this and let Saturday things that need to be done, get done. Hope all is well out yonder, and cheers to you. DD

I'm so happy to see your wordy reply @ddschteinn so like me, although I've been a fair weather commenting friend to you and do beg for forgiveness :)

Yes, I adore the mid century. But, there I am also of two minds I love mid century modern but I also ADORE antique and georgian proportions and even some victorian ornamentation. Toad Hall (likely to get a name change soon if I plan on using it as I might for design) is actually mid century but of course, in making it over I want to make it more georgian, I guess we artists aren't ever happy with what we have, we must change and manipulate the world.

I think in some ways we are just like little Gods, at least in our own minds ;)

I'll be back at the Hall in a week I think, can't wait! I need to get some seeds started I NEED Spring!

I love the big spaces in the chair and the detailing then of the dogs Donna. Delightful work.

I do the same sometimes. Write a blog in response to something and then realize I was releasing something I felt 'righteously indignant' about. But asking myself 'were my words the most positive?' I'll delete them if the answer's 'no.' Somehow it's cathartic for the writer, but it's great when we know it can stop right there. BRAVO. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

Thanks @allyinspirit and yes, I try to be as positive as I can. And my own response to the query wasn't particularly negative but I began to see that it's realities of how I see the digital world we are ever moving into does have a darker side, but my talking of it isn't going to make it any less so :)

This illustration is coming along nicely. The dogs that are filled with personalities, even when they're just chilling against that lovely big grey chair.

When inking them I always try and give them little expressions and they sort of come to life then. You have to love cute doggos, right? I'm sketching another Italian Greyhound one, as I have been missing my sweet IG this month.

Congratulations @donnadavisart! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 5500 replies. Your next target is to reach 5750 replies.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63101.67
ETH 2588.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74