A new Black and white drawing A witch & familiars

in #ntopaz5 years ago

ntopaz-image-0A section of my new Black and White drawing.

Here is the entire piece:
feb25drawing.jpg

I really needed to do a Black and White piece.

This was mainly due to my need for going to my Zen place. I've mentioned before that my black and white drawings takes me to a quiet calm place.

Another Witch and her familiars

as it is a place I like to go for my black and white drawings. My en devour with my black and white is always to tell a bit of a story with only really one colour: Black as the white is the white of the page. Not using midtones and shading can be challenging, but it is part of what makes it rather meditative for me.

Starting with a sketch full of lines and shading to ink over is when the calm begins.

Just 'finding the black' as I call it really can be soothing. And Time, as I talked about last post, seems to suspend a bit during these drawings.

As I finished this up this morning I thought it'd be maybe 20 minutes

only to find that it was two hours when I finally signed it and looked up at the clock; my coffee gone quite cold.
Such Time travel moments are always intriguing.

I sort of inadvertently took a couple days offline.

It wasn't intentionally planned, but if the morning starts off with something distracting, it can be harder to go back on. I don't mind a couple days in between posting and such, as long as it is for my own happiness. I could easily, if it were feasible, simply remove myself from the online world, but alas that is not possible. So, we soldier on in the best way we can.

And of course Steemit always makes me more happy to be online, so thank goodness for our wonderful platform here.

Well, I hope you have a lovely day and get a moment to unplug. Or failing that, find your Zen moment and slip out of time for a bit, it's always a great way to refresh yourself before tackling chores.

If you feel so inclined please upvote, resteem, and by all means comment below.

My Previous Post: My latest Singularity and Internet TIME

Copyright @donnadavisart - All Rights Reserved

Footer_donnadavisart.png


asteemitfooter.jpg

Sort:  

Here is how I know you! I enjoyed 'looking for something crazy' :) I have almost missed the cat on her head - intriguing, detailed, perfect.

It's important to take a few days off. You don't even need to mention that :) Online world is still here and won't go anywhere in a time being :)

I'm happy for you that you got to doing what you love again. For me this is where I see you but I've already told you that :)

Thank you for sharing and have a happy Tuesday, Donna! :)

[nTopaz Curator]

Beautiful job! I like the lines, they are so precise, you have a good pulse.

Thanks @yanes94 I love making the lines over the sketch and filling it in.

It's good that you like it and enjoy it. 🤗


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Stunning and so balanced:)

Thanks @georgeboya I love the graphic quality of doing b/w and I do try and balance the composition, so thanks for noticing :)

Another fabulous black and white piece so striking

Most welcome 👍😎

Love your black and white pieces, Donna :) Your inked pieces have that look that is very you, both the style of the inking and the topic carry your signatures well <3 This witch looks a bit younger in years than your usual witchies and I love both of her cat and doggo familiars <3

And yeah, I understand about wandering off. I do that too with some things, from time to time :D

Gee, thanks @veryspider I'm glad you think them me. I'd say my b/w are very much a style I love to do and really enjoy that inking stage.

Yes, she was intentionally to be younger but as I was inking her and the shading dissapears I thought her cat looked a bit like a Russian girls hat in a way, so I gave her rounder cheeks like a younger girl, a Witch in training, if you will :)

So nice!!! I like the little doggy and the cat on the head of tthe woman, it's a great scene ^_^

Thanks @silviabenforti You know how I love animals! I wanted a funny pose for the girl and then thought, she should have a puppy balancing on her chest. I knew I wanted a cat on her head, almost hidden like a hat. I like, in my b/w pieces, to almost have the animals disappear a bit so you have to sort of discover them as you look, like magic :)

That is an interesting pose and the inking is nice and stark. I wonder what she's doing, is she doing an exercise? Or some kind of rituals together with her familiar?

That's good @scrawly, I want you to wonder :) I started this piece with an idea of a funny or odd pose and then built up from that. In my head she is practicing a new spell that involves some contorting of her body and her funny familiars hopped up on her, as animals often do when we get down on the floor (at least mine always do) and then instead of helping with her spell are simply mesmerized by the failing of the little sparks of magic she is attempting.

But, I wanted it odd and vague enough for the viewer to scratch their head and make up their own story.

🎉 Congratulations @donnadavisart! 👏, your amazing Artwork has been selected to be featured in my curation post.

You are master in b&w!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66751.68
ETH 3487.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.03