"Balancing Act" Sketch for a new Piece

in #ntopaz6 years ago

ntopaz-image-0A sketch for a new piece.

The entire sketch:
jan26sketch.jpg

Working with the female form and my favourite animals continues today.

As my black and white drawings seem to be the best focus for me right now with my time being split between only small studio time and other things, I want to continue in that vein at present.

This morning I awoke dreaming of a sort of circus moment with pugs.

I wanted to do a piece called "Balancing Act" and it was the title that came to me before the complete idea.

I had to include a Chihuahua in the piece, as I have always had one.

My current little guy, Monty, is always by my side. I truly missed him when I was in England these past few months and I hope to take him back with me when I return. I know Ivan will be happy to see him, even though Monty often gives his usual response to other dogs, the "Chihuahua greeting of a growl", but he is so tiny he can basically go with me everywhere and often no one even notices he is there.

I actually began inking a few lines for this piece this morning as well, but realized I had better leave it until tomorrow's studio time. I then just went in a bit more on the sketch.

When I am sketching for a painting or an ink I am always picturing the light and dark.

In a piece that will be a painting, and I think this might end up being one as well (Possibly both digital oil and digital watercolour), I am always thinking colour and light and shadow. When I am imagining it to be my black and white inks, as I am this at first, I am visualizing the areas of black. As really that is all I will draw with when it goes to ink, just the black, with the white of the page being the counter to it.

It is much warmer (relatively speaking of course it is NOT southern England warm) and sunny today. That is good. It is lifting my spirit and today I can think about this drawing in stolen moments.

I hope all of you are having a lovely Sunny Saturday wherever you may be and getting a stolen moment to dream of your passion.

If you feel so inclined please upvote, resteem, and by all means comment below.

My Previous Post: Another Black & White Drawing from a study I made

Copyright @donnadavisart - All Rights Reserved

Footer_donnadavisart.png


asteemitfooter.jpg

Sort:  

A very creative idea Donna, you should dream more often. ;)

I like Pugs and the Chihuahua seems to be training them. XD

When Monty and Ivan meet you should draw a picture of the two of them together.


[nTopaz Curator]

This comment from the curator is for information and encouragement. The upvotes from nTopaz and rankings are based on the popularity of your art work when posted to the nTopaz platform.

You can find out more in our Discord: https://discord.gg/bycktuE

I will do that, the meeting of Ivan and Monty also sounds like a good name for a painting. Although they have meet before, but it's been years that they've been together.

The pose is very lovely, Donna and I love that you include many doggos in this one :D They are all very adorable, the chihuahua especially cute in this particular picture as it looks so comfortable on her shoulder :D

Gorgeous eyes and I really like how she holds her hands :)

Thanks @veryspider . I had to include the chi as when I decided to have the pugs (which my dear friend and niece had as an adorable fur baby) I wanted to add the chi, as I have always had one in my life :)

I might be adding some decorative circles to represent balls in motion as part of the circus feel balancing act. I think I'm trying to balance a few things in my life right now, so it makes sense this is the sort of dream I'd have :)

The pug is more bug eyed than usual 🤣 this one looks fun, we’re you able to draw it in the normal amount of time or were you slowed down by laughter 😆

Posted using Partiko iOS

Ha @ryivhnn it is a bug eyed pug and I did smile and laugh when I was making it. Though I have seen some VERY bug eyed pugs, you want to say, "Who are you looking at me or the wall over there?, Both, it looks like :)"

I like how little suggestions come to us and we don't know what else can be there till we actually start. Such a delicately beautiful drawing Donna. She has the quality of Lizzie ~ The Pre-Raphaelite's favourite model, about her. I'm so pleased that you had the time to share it here. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

Thanks @allyinspirit of course I ADORE the pre-Raphaelites and also the Edwardian poster arts so they have always influenced my line and work just because I have obsessed over them so long it just becomes my second nature :)

I was fortunate to have an Art History lecturer that had visited many of the galleries overseas (from Oz) showing some of the Pre-Raphaelite works. At the time minimalism and conceptual art was the rage ~ But he had the most AMAZING slide collection.

I was being drawn to the 'Magical Realists' and like you ADORED the Pre-Raphaelite. It's true something in us is soaking up these images so that they come through us in our own unique way. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

Love all those loose flowing lines, I can't help but wonder what the chihuahua is thinking looking at the two pugs.

Thanks @jeremyrfk I have a pretty loose 'scribbly' style when I am sketching out things. I think that's why I love doing black and white inks over it like choosing the lines to keep and ditching the rest.

Your posts are always like a wonderful warm sunday afternoon. Put my mind at ease, as well as open and curious of what you are going to share the next moment. Your arti is always so positive, peaceful, yet vibrant... great composition and skill and a really good sense of beauty 🌻

Waiting for your entry ;-)

Thank you so much @reinhard-schmid I was just feeling bad about not being able to be too active on here of late, here it is three days since posting, so glad to see a wonderful comment from you :)

great work - I am a little late checking it out, guess my feed does not work so good. I get stuff from peeps I don't even know and the ones I am really interested in I have to hunt down manually.

Thank you @thermoplastic. I know, it's hard to keep up with everyone. I keep a little folder on my desktop with some of my favourites so I can remember to visit people , but the list is so long now that I don't always get to everyone and sometimes people slip through the cracks.

Hello @donnadavisart, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thanks @creativecrypto for stopping by and I hope to enter a piece to be considered in your upcoming show. I am sure it is going to be amazing!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Nice one fam. You are very good in sketching.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54819.76
ETH 2295.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31