Painting from my Sketch of Woman and Irish Setter

in #ntopaz5 years ago

ntopaz-image-0Here is the painted version of a sketch I made previously

This piece was made as a sketch when I was still in England.

jan18painting.jpg

I began the year determined to make many decorative pieces involving animals (starting with dogs) and of course sometimes including the female form. Since having to return to America early, I've been working on this sketch in digital oils and pastels for the pure pleasure of it.

This was the original sketch

jan9thumbnail.jpg

And with a bit of watercolour. Not super impressive, merely a study.
jan9sketch.jpg

Having had to be in airports and deal with various interrupted days, I've kept playing with this piece in stolen moments or early morning hours.

As my original intent for this year's Art Resolution is to revel in the decorative, I cropped this piece in the oval, almost like a cameo and am considering making a repeat with another image containing just Irish setters to create a fabric/wallpaper/design that would look good on things.

As I am not in complete control of my days currently, I hope you will be happy with my merely posting some of my art I am making time for.

And I hope all of you can steal a few moments to practice or revel in your own passions. We have to make some time each day for that, even if just a few stolen minutes from an otherwise busy day.

If you feel so inclined please upvote, resteem, and by all means comment below.

My Previous Post: Back in USA & hoping to find an Art Schedule again

Copyright @donnadavisart - All Rights Reserved

Footer_donnadavisart.png


asteemitfooter.jpg

Sort:  

[ nTOPAZ COORDINATOR ]

Hello @donnadavisart! This has been one of our favorite illustrations of the day. We love your style and the way you combined the redhead girl with her pet, their colors are vivid and look like an art painting that you would hang at home. Thank you for sharing your impressive talent through nTOPAZ.


You want to learn more about nTOPAZ ?
Follow @ntopaz to be informed about new contests. Visit our website to discover the artworks from the community. Or just join our Discord server to chat with other users and get help from the team.

Introduction to nTOPAZ · nTOPAZ Posting Guidelines · Guide for CO, CR, and CU

Thank you @cafeconleche and @ntopaz, it was my honour :)

Such a lovely painting @donnadavisart Love your art !
You may know the nTopaz rule that artists who received the Daily Top10 vote will be systematically excluded from the Daily Top10 vote of the next day.


[nTopaz Curator]

This comment from the curator is for information and encouragement. The upvotes from nTopaz and rankings are based on the popularity of your art work when posted to the nTopaz platform.

You can find out more in our Discord: https://discord.gg/bycktuE

have I ever got the top 10 vote? If so, that is so cool :)

@donnadavisart you can check Daily Top 10 artworks on @nTOPAZ :)

Dog and owner alike... ^_^ This is beautiful Donna ! 😍

It looks more wonderful now in vermilion paint. The lady doesn't seem bothered that her doggo is very close to her face, I am usually giving them enough space so they can't lick my face hahaha.

I am just like this lady I painted @scrawly and always let a dog get right into my face and kiss. I'm definitely a dog person :)

you have such a talent for these sketches and painting I always love seeing your work

Thanks so much @tattoodjay Now to get back to a schedule so I can make more of the ;)

This is lovely Donna! I have included this post in my weekly curation Ocean of Art!

Oh , thank you so much @juliakponsford. You do so much for all we artists on here, I'm honoured :)

Ah, what a lovely drawing, Donna ! The bond between the woman and the setter is so palpable, what a companionship <3 Gorgeous colours, also <3 <3 <3

Thanks @veryspider I think I'm going to do a few of these 'bonded dog and owner' pieces.

This is such a beautiful painting Donna. I love the way the girl's hair merges with her dog, giving the impression that they are inseparable companions. Love the direct gaze of the girl ~ And her blue eyes are a striking highlight of the work. Also, it's really wonderful to sense the freedom of your sketches ~ They have so much life. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

Thanks @allyinspirit I'm glad you got that, it was the intention to show the bond of the pair through their hair :)

I like it. A lot.

My Dad had a couple of Irish Setters over the years. The first one was a birthday present and turned out to be a great dog. My Dad wasn't anywhere near patient enough to really seriously train that dog, but the fool could hunt and was a great companion. The second one was a replacement for the first (from the same breeder) and just dumber than a box of hair. He lived out his days in absolutely clueless wonderment.

I'd had a German Shorthair and had gotten my beloved English Springer by the time my Dad got the second Setter. You talk about a couple of dogs that could hunt...

Glad you are getting at least a little time for your art. It IS important.

Isn't it funny @bigtom13 how different dogs can be. We might think a certain 'breed' does this or that, but they still have their own individual intelligence and personalities just like we people.

My brother had English Springers and they are amazing hunters. It is always brillant to see them in their hunting element.

I impressed my friend in England when we were walking Ivan. We were coming across a big field (all the footpaths in SE England are through field and wood and are great hunting of pheasant and such, when he began to slow up and walk next to me, looking up at me for direction, and sniffing the air.

I said, "What is it boy? What's up there?" and told my friend. "We should put his lead on him, he is hunting something" and my friend laughed. Then a few seconds later a horse and rider came cantering round the corner and he would have been off, if I had not had him on his lead.

Growing up with hunting gods and animals, you get to know their language, And it was funny to see Ivan, the funny poodle/schnauzer mix, acting like a good bird dog, well except that he would have chased the pray (but he doesn't know what he is doing, so I forgave him).

I'm trying to carve out mornings for myself. My family just have to accept it for now.

It is amazing the differences. The Shorthair was just an intuitive hunter who once started could not be stopped. The Springer was so calculated as to be unbelievable. I could whistle him off of anything. And I don't think he ever missed a bird. Ever.

Sam is a hound, my first. He's a good boy and incredibly trainable. He WANTS to do the right thing. I can call him off of almost anything except, so far, rabbits and squirrels. With the rabbits I have to just let him go, he is intense and fun to watch. After a quarter mile or so I can usually get him back... Sooner if he catches the rabbit.

He was funny the first time we encountered horses. He just simply wasn't sure what his response should be. Fortunately, I had him on the lead so could keep him under control. They are a lot more 'normal' now, and he's pretty calm. But he really wanted to check those creatures out the first time...

Very intensive colouring. And that stare.... :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63537.51
ETH 3405.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55