Ode to the Dandelion: My First Painting

in #ntopaz5 years ago

zoom.jpg

In tandem with the first of the year, I share the first painting I created as an adult. I took art lessons as a kid, and dabbled here and there as a young person. But the business of adulting led me to abandon this once-loved practice.

Then, one day as I was caring for two under 3, my partner gifted me a shock to my creative energy system. A pack of canvases, a conglomerate of brushes and some paint arrived in the mail.

Putting paint to canvas was like picking up a conversation with an old friend. It came out as a meditative practice once dormant within me, yet there from conception. I make no claim of formal training or aspirations of greatness. I paint as others pray. Birthing my art is as meaningful to me as caring for my human children.

Ode to the Dandelion came out as a physical flow of shape and form. Different hues of darkness swirled together on canvas creating texture and depth. The simple dandelion is light coming from darkness just as the plant itself can grow anywhere. Once planted as a healing food crop, the dandelion is often killed for sport in good American lawns. But in spite of this, the beautiful plant springs from the soil and offers sunshine in the shadow.

Full.jpg


Related Posts:

Bia.Birch Origins
Cultivating Creativity


I am grateful to find a place with rich soil to grow a community. May we take root, and flourish together.

@Bia.Birch 🌱

All artwork, photographs, and content are original and created by @bia.birch unless otherwise credited

Sort:  

You have been 🙏 curated by @njord

Such a lovely painting!

Thank you @njord 🌱

I love the way you caught that luscious dandelion in the eye of the storm! Perhaps the way natural medicine is caught up in the storm of big pharma. Perhaps the way 'natural weeds" feel in the haze of pesticides and white people's stupid standards.

Really love that your partner was so thoughtful and that a fellow mom out there is getting some time and space for herself.

More please!!


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.

Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.

ecoTrain

Oh @artemislives, you are a gem. Thank you always for your thoughtful reply. I appreciate you 🌱

I love the way that the Dandelion stands out from the swirling blackness around it! Impressive first adult reawakening of your artistic skill!

I have featured you and this post for a Curation Contest here:

https://steemit.com/payitforward/@bengy/pay-it-forward-week-91-entry

You can join the fun here:

https://steemit.com/payitforward/@pifc/week-91-pay-it-forward-curation-contest

Thank you very much @bengy 🌱

Congratulations @bia.birch! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 3000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 4000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Well, gee whiz! For the first time as an adult, I think you've done splendidly. I hope you continue to share your progress with us!

I found your post because @bengy featured you in the Pay it Forward Curation contest. Keep up the great work!

Thank you @viking-ventures! And thank you for featuring my work @bengy 🌱

My pleasure!

I had already upvoted this a few days ago... but I've only had some time to visit your post now. Great work, thanks for sharing!

Congratulations on being featured by @bengy in an entry for the Pay It Forward Contest

Thank you for coming back and commenting @trincowski! 🌱

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63248.94
ETH 2576.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85