The Uniqueness of Castle GreySkull

in #nostalgia7 years ago

For those of us growing up in the early 80’s He-Man was the must have toy and the must watch cartoon. Even though there didn’t seem to be any consistency to the characters or storyline we loved it. The toy line ran from 1982 to 1987 and had 7 generations of action figures while the cartoon show only lasted two seasons. Despite the short lifespan the memories will be with us forever.

In today’s blog I thought I would share an interesting bit of He-man history. Nowadays most toys are made exactly the same to a near perfect degree. Back in the 80’s though it wasn’t quite the case. Castle GreySkull is good example of this. While the shells of the castle are all pretty much identical the paint jobs are not.

When the castles were painted they were done by hand and the painters didn’t always spray the castles the same way. In the pictures of my two castles you can see some differences in color patterns illustrating this. This hand spraying was done on all of the castles and in different countries where they were produced you’ll see a lot more variations if you look at some other pictures found online or ebay.

Since they’re all unique they’re in a sense not unique so the color variations don’t play any role in the valuation of the castles. However, it's pretty cool though…

Sort:  

Omg that’s amazing!!!!! Thanks bro, the different shades are awesome

Ha ha so my husband til this day still every once in a while says something smells like Castle Grey Skull. A very distinct scent to him that reminds him of other things. 🤷‍♀️

I had the She-Ra castle. Mannnn, I loved that thing. I loved the peacock girl on She-Ra!!!

That's bizarre because I always remembered a distinct smell to my He-man toys too...?Speaking of She-Ra, I remember watching She-Ra one night and in that episode she lifted up a mountain and I was like " NO WAY, she can't be stronger than He-Man!" I was actually pretty upset about it. In He-man's defense though, there was an episode where he flew up along side an entire planet and pushed it back into orbit...just sayin...

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious? Read @resteembot's introduction post
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

ResteemBot's Maker is Looking for Work

@resteemator is a new bot casting votes for its followers. Follow @resteemator and vote this comment to increase your chance to be voted in the future!

He-Man and the Masters of the Universe is on Netflix....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63493.34
ETH 2578.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79