Recovering Memories | Part Five

in #nosleep6 years ago

Recovering Memories.jpg

Part Four

July 26

I bolted to the bathroom this morning looking for the camera. It wasn’t there and it’s not still attached to my head.

Shit. Shit. Shit. Shit.

I have to go to work today. If it’s not in my apartment...I’ve no time to go looking for the camera before then. I hope it’s somewhere in here and not in the woods. Odds of me finding it out there are slim to none.

Scanning my home turns up absolutely nothing. I’ve looked everywhere and it’s definitely not here. After work, I’m going to the woods to look for it. Watching the previous video over and over again has burned the trail into my mind. I can at least make it to the tree the cloak is hidden under. Assuming I hide it in the same place every day​.

Tromping through the woods is more difficult than I imagined. Honestly, I thought it would be second nature since I do it every night. Whatever takes over my brain and body at night apparently doesn’t translate when I’m in control.

I sound like a stampede as my feet crumble the twigs and leaves beneath them. Quiet just isn’t going to happen. Slowly, I inch my way along the path, looking closely for the camera. I really wish it had been brightly colored at this point.

It takes me nearly an hour to get to the tree. No sign of the camera at all. I slumped down, my back against the tree.

How fucking hopeless. I’m so defeated I want to cry. I don’t want to continue into the woods. With my luck, I’ll get lost and eaten by a bear. Surprised I haven’t already.

Something moved behind me. The leaves ruffled on the other side of the tree. At first, I think it’s just the wind. Then I hear it.

Soft whispering. So soft that I’m not sure if I’m imagining it or not.

I turned my head to glance over my shoulder. Leaning around the tree, a hooded figure stared at me. I jumped to my feet and ran back the way I came. I didn’t look back to see if it followed me. I knew it was. I could still hear it whispering as if it was right beside my ear. Nothing was clear though. It sounded like gibberish.

I didn’t stop running until I was behind the locked door of my apartment. Anyone that saw me on the way here surely thinks I’m a madman​. And they’re probably not wrong.

I’m afraid of what will happen tonight. I’m afraid there will be no tomorrow morning for me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63626.66
ETH 2640.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75