I´m going VEGAN (almost) – And I could REALLY need some help! (A Steemit experiment)

in #norway7 years ago

HOLY COW! I cant believe I´m doing this. I´m going VEGAN! (almost)

If you knew me well, you´d go: “You!? Going vegan?? Haha! You don’t fool me! You´ll never make it!”

Yeah, if you knew me you´d know I spend a whole lot of time in my BBQ shack doing stuff like this:

14457520_1045039335615300_4829277055771037407_n.jpg14516440_1045039538948613_628074212952740859_n.jpg

and this..

IMG_0980.JPG

and this..

FullSizeRender(2).jpg

Yeah, you get the drill..

So why on earth, you may ask, would you go vegan (almost)??

Well, that´s a very good question!
It all started about half a year ago. I was at this organic food festival in Oslo and had the pleasure of hearing an awesome Swedish chef talking. He has a couple of restaurants and they more or less ONLY do vegetables (sometimes with a little meat or fish as garnish).

He does this experiment on the audience. He says; Imagine the best piece of meat you could get. Now take some time and think of how you´d cook that piece of meat and what you would do with it.
Now, imagine a carrot. Go home and do with the carrot what you wanted to do with the meat!

I found it really inspiring and went home and did a couple of experiments.
They turned out pretty good, however it didnt take long before I was back on the meatwagon.
But since then I´ve been building up inspiration and motivation and have been more and more primed to go veggie/vegan!

I´ve off course also seen a lot of those food documentaries that tell you meat and dairy is the source of all evil and will cause death and destruction to you and the planet we´re living on.
Those films have a double effect on me.


On the one hand I really believe a lot of the things being said is true. A lot of it is backed up pretty well in big peer-reviewed studies. I let myself be inspired and they motivate me to wanting to eat much more veggies, fruits and nuts and less meat and dairy.
On the other hand I tend to think that food science is extremely complex and our bodies are extremely complex and I don’t swallow everything being said in those docus.

Another thing that´s pushing me to try this is my own health and wellbeing.
Over the last 3 years I´ve gained almost 20kg (44 punds) and I´m starting to think I really need to do something now. It´s not that I´m extremely over weight but I have this feeling that if I don’t do something now it will just be harder and harder to change my lifestyle.

There are other things that motivate me as well, but I wont go into more right now.

My plan is to take it step by step. Meaning: I´m starting with ONE week. 7 DAYS.
To me that feels manageable. And having that feeling is really important!
If I´d go; “I´ll be a vegan for the rest of my life” at this point.. I would fail.

SO! Now we come to the part where I need YOUR HELP!

The experiment is this:
Will the Steemit community be able to help me, a more or less complete stranger to most of you, to accomplish my goals??

I know myself pretty well by now.
I´m a hedonist. I want to enjoy life and EVERYTHING it has to offer. Gluttony is my deadly sin..

I´m 100% sure that this will not be very easy for me.
And I`m 100% sure that I cant do it alone.

WILL YOU HELP ME?
What can you help me with?
Although I´d very much appreciate your upvotes and resteems, what I would like the most is your comments.
Comments about awesome recipes.
Comments on how to get 3 boys age 1-7 to eat vegetables (This is a never ending discussion around our dinner table…). I´m not turing them into vegetarians or vegans, but would be awesome if some of you have some tricks up your selves on how to get them to eat a bit more vegetables.
Comments about how your transformation from meat to veggies were.
Comments of encouragement.
Basically anything you think could help me based on your own experience.

So am I going VEGAN or VEGETARIAN?
Well, I´m going to try to lean as much as possible to the vegan side, but I´m not going to be 100%. So an egg, some cheese or some dairy products here and there is ok. I´ll probably not buy any myself, but if I´m offered and there´s not much else to have I might eat it.

I will be trying to do one post each day about the progress.

BONUS GOALS:
Work out 3 times this week and NO candy, chips, beer, snacks etc.

DAY 1
Today I had my first day and it actually went pretty well. High motivation helps a lot! (I´m expecting that to drop substantially on the days to come...)
I had some cheese though. It was on a wholemeal baguette I had for breakfast.
For lunch at work I bought a salad, an avocado, some nuts and dried fruits.
For dinner I made home made tomato soup with tomatoes, vegetable broth, kidney beans, lentils, garlic and red onions. Wholemeal bread with some butter on the side. That soup turned out quite good, but my two oldest boys (who usually love the “tomato soup” you get in the stores, you know the powder crap that you add water to) didn’t enjoy it much…

I also played football (soccer) for 1 ½ hours! It was really intense (haven’t played for a very long time!) but a lot of fun and a really good feeling to be that exhausted again!

Alright everyone!

Let´s see if this experiment will work! Will the Steemit community deliver? Will I deliver??

I have faith.

Peace, Peter

Sort:  

That's a great resolution mate! I wish you success ahead!
I think I can bring my help by suggesting you follow these amazing people who post great vegan-vegetarian recipes very often, you will like it for sure!
@vegetarianbaker , @amy-goodrich , @natashahall

Cheers
@progressivechef

Thanks for the support man!
And thank you for the tips one those people. I´m checking them out as we speak!

Most welcomed @cryptopet! Hope their post will help you out!

I am not "vegan" but ended up eating several meetless meals s week accidentally.

That´s a nice story! :)

Yeah, right now I´m also thinking that long temr I´ll probably not go 100% vegan. I might even have some meat or fish every now and then. But in the beginning now, I´ll be very strict with NO meat and fish. Let´s see how it goes.. :)

Hope it works out for you!

There are some great non-meat meals that I would've never tried if it weren't for my openness, so rock on!

Thanks!

Yeah, I´m actually really looking forward to experimenting on my smoker with low´n slow smoked vegetable meals. I have a feeling it can be amazing!

Smoked vegies sounds great!

We've been grilling up a ton of 'um, but haven't tried that.

I did this not too long ago: https://steemit.com/norway/@cryptopet/smoked-sweet-potato-n-cheese-burgers
Smoked it for about 2 hours. Turned out really good!

I hear ya man! I'm going through my own meat-less dilemma right now, but moral implications being the primary driver. All the things you listed though are spot on. Hope to see some posts in the future of your success :) All the power to you and best of luck!

Thanks for you support man!

Yeah, I definitely do this for some moral reasons as well. I didnt want the first post of this experiment to be too long, but I´ll probably will touch on this in an upcoming post.

What are your primary moral reasons? And have you started eating less meat already?
Would love to hear about your progress as well, if you want to share :)

I try to live by the non-aggression principle. It has come to my attention that maybe animals (for multiple reasons...they feel pain, they are vulnerable, they don't want to die) should also fall in the category of those I should not aggress against. Questions posed to me were "why be against eating dogs, but not chickens"?, "if your cat died, why wouldn't you eat it?"...and so on. It made me think....which is a good thing!

I have been trying to cut down on what I specifically purchase. My wife is going around telling people we're vegan now, and I just laugh. Like, this is not an overnight thing for me, it's going to take time. Same with my political belief journey, it wasn't a quick thing. It progressed over time.

I'm still consuming meat when it's offered, but I have definitely cut down which at least is a step in the right direction. Been trying out some new stuff at the grocery store and have had good luck with some new items. Also found a new shop called the "Herbivorous Butcher", which looks just like a deli but all the 'meat' is made from vegetables and other things. Pretty neat idea.

Thanks for sharing. Those are some interesting thoughts.
I too live be the non-aggression principle. Regarding animals I´m in a bit of a re-boot regarding what I´m thinking. Will be interesting to see where I land..

"Herbivorous Butcher" - what an awesome name! :)
And sounds like a good place to get what you need. So, are the products there any good?

They have 'cheese', 'hot dogs', 'burgers', breakfast sausage', all sorts of things. Those are the few items we tried. I wouldn't say I preferred it to the real thing, but it wasn't a bad substitute. I am sure they won't be the only place doing this in the near future.

Upvoted! Good luck being a vegan in Norway! @cryptopet Let us know how it went.
Try ''Krishna's cuisine'' restaurant in Oslo (at Mojorstua)

Thank you @digitree!

I´m quite often in Oslo and will definitely check out Krishna's cuisine next time!

I´ll post regularly about this journey so please check in once in a while to see how it goes! :)

Peace, Peter

I will help you Peter!
Lets get some BBQ vegies on the grill! Dont want you to end up like Ron Swanson
:

@thegoodbrews!!!!! WELCOME TO STEEMIT! I knew you´d love it! ;)

Well that´s the problem. Ron Swanson is my hero. But sometime you need to kill you idols right?

Late thirties. Why?

Just curious. It could help to know. Your body may take a little while to adjust to a vegan diet.

Yeah, it probably will.

I´ll do one post of every day this first week. Will be interesting to see if there are any changes in how I feel in my body during this first week.

by day 3 you should feel a different.

That soon you think? Cool!
I´m really excited to see what happens!! :)

Depends on how serious your diet is.

I´m gonna be as serious as I can.
As I said in the post: no meat or fish, and I´ll do my very best to stay away from dairy. If I do dairy it will be very small amounts.

So you were vegetarian for 10 years and now vegan for 1 year.
Have you felt any difference?


This post got a 22.35 % upvote thanks to @cryptopet - Hail Eris !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62082.09
ETH 2434.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66