Escape the Obligation - New Year's Eve

in #nihilisticrainbow6 years ago (edited)

2018
Another year will soon come to end,
And a new one is bound to happen.
It has been ten years since then,
That I bought a boyfriend in front of my parent.

Another year will start to unfold,
And right now I just feel so old.
How am I suppose to tell everyone,
That I lost the one whom I thought is the perfect one.

In our family, you are obliged to get married when you reach the age of thirty.
What a culture in the family!
And I think they are only playing dirty tricks on me.
They wanted me to get married so in few years I would have my mini-me.

During reunions, it seems like I am running joke.
Because I have not dated since I have been left by that jerk.
Instead of laughing in front of me,
What don't they try to live their lives happily?

I wanted to be free from such culture,
So I decided to run away like a vulture.
I do not wish for a true love's kiss under the mistle toe,
But to get away from Cupid Bow.

runner-888016_1280.jpg
Image from pixabay.com

This is my entry for new satirical contest. Hope I win.
Link can be found here: https://steemit.com/nihilisticrainbow/@sature/new-satirical-poem-contest-still-open-nihilistic-rainbow

DQmcmem2CwaD9dgwGuadYDVRuAP8mZ6kMJjWYGRgo8t9dYL_1680x8400.jpg

Johanna Gail H. Tongco, or also known as @gailbelga, is a twenty four year old freelance artist and feature writer from the Philippines. She graduated Bachelor of Arts in International Studies and took up Masters in Public Administration, but she chose to work with various communities through art and a lot more activities. She uses her steemit payouts as a source of her donations on some chosen charities in her community.
Sort:  

Good story, if I think it is more beautiful to make love after marriage in comparison pacara no ties whatsoever, hope you quickly get married and have offspring, thank you for sharing, regards know.

hi. thanks for this but I actually posted this as a poem for a contest :)

Upvoted and resteemed!
Happy New Year!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65053.86
ETH 3538.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39