Steemit's Untalented Contest where everyone wins.

in #nigeria7 years ago (edited)

The answer to the question "who are you?" has always eluded my wits.


@surpassinggoggle's post here painstakingly describes "self discovery". For me, self discovery is a journey with no definite end. A new you pops up daily and change is always constant. It could be your age because with every ticktack, you are drawn closer to your grave, garbed in a shroud of perpetual sleep. I explained this in a post here


I consider this a sort of reintroduction. In the course of this project, I have seen the inner you in you of people.

In a symposium I attended, one of the guest speakers stood for almost an hour while his profile was being read. I was wowed at how rich his bio was. In the bio section of some social platforms, except when specific qualifications are advised, mine always read-"I am a lot of things. And they are beautiful." Scratch that. I do not know what or who I am. Apart from the fact that I am a human being fraught with flaws and all the imperfections of humans, I do not know what else. I still grope in the darkness of that wood. Discovering new things everyday. I have been scathed by life's whip and carressed by consolations. In @surpassinggoggle's words- "fed on consolations"

In the much celebrated TV show "Game of Thrones" when Jon Snow was being introduced to Khaleesi, he was just described as Jon Snow. "And he is King in the North" followed much later after Jon looked disapprovingly at Davos who obviously, made a half-baked introduction and no match to the one given of Khaleesi as the unburnt, mother of dragons and blah blah blah.

But the addition "He is King in the North" did not make Jon snow more of him than he was. The crux of the matter is that no matter your profile or origin. Maybe you've been called a bastard, orphan and all the negatives, you have an inner you in you that needs discovery.


I have been confused most of my years on earth. I was going to be a priest. Yes Harry was going to be a priest. I spent six years in a seminary and after six years of what seemed like a hermitage I'm out. Pursuing a Law degree. Yet I do not feel like this is my life career. I have always done things I never imagined I could do and have not behaved in a particular way to become easily predicted.

"So Harry you dance well" fed my ears after a semi dance I put up at our call to bar dinner in school. And many more of such expressions of surprise embrace me anytime I put up a stunt I didn't even know I could do.

I cannot even claim that writing is my forte. I suck at it. So many unfinished, better put abandoned write-ups. No the ink did not run dry. The brain just stopped functioning and the ingenuity vacated my hollow brain.

And often times, I have seen myself smiling before a camera. I do not smile because everything is Ok with me. Neither do I smile because of the benefits of smiling which I enunciated here. I smile according to the promptings of my mood. I bet I frown as much as I smile. You just do not know because it is ugly. Hence no pictures while frowning. Do I call it a natural tendency to present the best of you and hide the ugliness? Lolz.

Therefore I present myself bare like a tabula rasa. Untalented. And open to your new ideas. Inscribe your knowledge of me on this clean slate.


IMG_20170927_193654_131.jpg
Finally, I thank Surpassinggoggle for this uncommon contest. Uncommon because many contests target quality. Where everyone tries their mettle. This is beautiful anyway and makes one grow. I believe they achieve the same aim. You come untalentedly guess what, everyone wins.

Sort:  

Nice introduction post! Glad you made it onto this platform. It’s going to change your life, hope you have a good time. If you have any doubts, you can always join Steemit.chat and ask for #help.

Thanks. I appreciate

This connected with my story on so many different levelz. .. I am grateful for the contest too

That's cool. I just read your work and it was so evocative, actually like you spoke through me, from the feminine lung of me. I just followed you because I cannot miss any more of that. Thanks.

You have a beautiful way of describing yourself..

Your welcome

Hey there , how are you doing ?
It is great to have you join us here in the steemit community, we are glad you are part of this successful community, I hope you have a great time here , would be looking forward to reading more of your post.
Hey you can follow my page and check out my post , I'm sure you would like them
Wecolme again harrywill. Have a great Time here

Thanks. See you around

Thank you very much for participating.
i will need to do a full-blown reading over time. i decided to just stop by a bit for now. The turn-out has kept growing (currently around 150 posts that i have to read and counting and support with vote but i submit all entries to some friends as well to support. The experience has been awesome. I will come back for a full blown comment to empower you when i fully read. This is beyond a contest, so there will be a ton of variations to participate in, for fun, community and ultimately to bring about success in every facet, steemit and beyond. The whole endeavor is a curriculum from "school of life", raw down-to-earth stuff, without books involved; stemming from unadulterated love for humans; humans.
If you want to read some of the entries too: visit all the resteems on @steem-untalented

To understand better the gravity of this "untalented" initiative, read this post: https://steemit.com/life/@surpassinggoogle/if-you-can-t-find-a-stranger-to-love-love-me-and-entertain-freedom-when-you-do

Thank you so much Terry. You are such a motivation. And the initiative got me all teary. Keep doing good.

The tears are kept safe in Jehovah's skin bottle. These tears are in no way wasted, even the unfell tears

I will shut my eyes and squeeze them. So tight, the unfell would trail down.

You spoke sense. This is the difference btw the real deal, down-to-earth human and what the world paints. "Perfect Jesus knew he was about to resurrect Lazarus, yet he gave way to tears. but it takes a level of depth, human, real life to understand these things. Let them tears trickle, wail them out, resolve anew and let's go!

Welcome to Steemet
follow me @lomidze

Congratulations @harrywill! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

welcome to steemit.... : ) I'm new to steemit, I just uploaded my first story, please support me and follow me, this is my way, thank you. MUAA ........; D

You're welcome

HI .... congratulations from my side .welcome to steemit platform ..I commented on your post...I have created a fb page " steemit global community" join us...we will give you all the help needed.
Get to make new friends..
Follow me on @abdullahkhattak..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 60191.28
ETH 3302.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36