This is the Intro ...

in #nickz6 years ago (edited)

I am a soulful singer/songwriter born and raised in San Diego, California.

My songs invoke intimate evenings of wine and vinyl records, or dark city streets with the allure of neon lights and romantic possibility. My sound is smooth, easy and beautiful, but beneath the polished voice are songs of depth and prose.

Like many of my peers in the suburbs of the 90’s, I learned guitar by playing Metallica licks. Yet it was my parents' record collection – particularly the soul, jazz and R&B records – that I fell in love with.

Friday nights were spent in shadows on the San Diego State campus, in the entrances of buildings that provided great echo for singing.

It was in this scene that I discovered Jason Mraz, a resident songwriter who had attracted local attention. The experience of seeing Mraz was a revelation to me:

"I went to see Mraz perform solo in Ocean Beach at Java Joe's. I was totally mesmerized by his performance. I had never seen anyone combine jazz vocals and guitar in the way that he did. I started to realize that singing and songwriting was my path."

I joined my best friend in the Bay Area in 2005, where I began playing in the songwriter scene of San Francisco and Berkeley. I worked an office job to make ends meet, and continued to hone my craft. It was here that I met a variety of fine musicians, allowing me to form the band Melodic Jones for a brief stint. The band gave me an edgy and bottom-heavy sound, but I longed to return to my solo efforts.

Born out of this impulse, and the strength of my live show, I recorded Live at the Red Vic in San Francisco, featuring 11 solo performances of my best songs to date.

Sort:  

@nickz.music, welcome and congratulations on making your first post! I gave you a $.05 vote! If you would be so kind to give me a follow in return, that would be most kind of you!!

Thank you @introduce.bot

Welcome aboard Steemian Z! Looking forward to learning more about you and your music using the Steem channels.

Some words from a noob herself to help you learn to swim with the minnows ;)

Feel free to write in the 1st person, it's more personable. You should edit your post and add the tag introduceyourself as the 1st tag. Introduceyourself posts are the most seen and one of the most important because people really want to build the community. So you will want to do it right.

Also, you will want to post pictures and links to help your readers get a better feel for you.

Also, do check out @dlive and @dsound because it'd be awesome to hear you playing some live tunes.

The Steemit Guide is a must read and should give you a better feel for the platform. Best of luck and looking forward to hearing more from you.

YOUR MUSIC IS DIVINE!!!!

Thank you very much for the tips nightwolf! :)

Congratulations @nickz.music! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

3 years on Steem - The distribution of commemorative badges has begun!
Happy Birthday! The Steem blockchain is running for 3 years.
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57613.91
ETH 2390.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43