Top Five Reasons Why STEEM Now Constitutes About 70% of My Crypto Portfolio

in #newsteem5 years ago

images - 2019-09-08T072738.589.jpeg

Yes, you read that correctly. This writer is not drunk. Steem presently constitutes about 70% of my crypto portfolio.

I know that you're familiar with the almighty crypto formula out there, the one that stipulates that about 70% of one's crypto portfolio should be in Bitcoin while altcoins can then claim the remaining spot.

Well, while I do not have anything against the formula, I have decided to play the game my own way. That is, by having 70% of my crypto portfolio in STEEM while Bitcoin and the rest share the back seat.

There is no guarantee that I will hold this position forever but that is what it is (at the moment) and what it will be until I have strong reasons to act otherwise.

So, without waisting anymore time, here are top five reasons why STEEM now constitutes about 70% of my crypto portfolio:


1. STEEM Is About 98% Down From Its All Time High

Trading presently below 17 cents, STEEM is about 98% down from its all-time high of $7.3. Contrarily, Bitcoin is just about 50% down from its peak of $20k which was seen in the wake of 2018.

So, even if Bitcoin spikes to $100k in the coming months, which is actually not unlikely, that will only be a X10 profit for Bitcoin maximalists.

But Steem only needs to trade at $1.65 (considering the present market price ) to make X10 profit and $16.5 to make X100 gain.

And, if you ask me, STEEM is more likely to hit $1.65 before Bitcoin hits $100,000.


2. It's Easier to Mine STEEM

Another reason why I decided to lean more towards STEEM is because it is far easier to mine (earn if you like) STEEM than it is to mine Bitcoin.

With some amount of STEEM bought in the exchanges and then powered up, one is already on the road to mining STEEM, STEEM that comes from curation rewards.

Compare that to mining Bitcoin, and you will get yourself an headache that will warrant you seeing your doctor.


3. You Can't Do Anything With Bitcoin

Bitcoin is like a smoked fish, you can't bend it without breaking it. You can't do anything with Bitcoin, except that you hold it for speculative reasons.

However, you can do many things with STEEM. You can delegate STEEM to empower others. You can reward others with Steem by upvoting them. You can even spice your pizza with STEEM. And lots more.

This makes STEEM far more interesting than Bitcoin and many of the other altcoins out there. Little wonder, cases of pump and dump are not common with STEEM.


4. STEEM is an Excellent Tool for Content Creators

Long before I heard about STEEM, I've been publishing my works on Facebook for free. A couple of friends have told me on a few occasions that they sometimes came to Facebook just to read my latest article.

As interesting as that sounds, I got nothing for my writing except some worthless likes and emojis. But STEEM has changed that story forever.

On STEEM I get rewarded for creating valuable contents and curating others. I have written a few short stories and poems that fetched payouts that could supply some of my basic needs for a few weeks.

You see why I have to convert most part of my portfolio to STEEM, the currency that empowers content creators like me?

5. Steemit Remains the Most Successful Blockchain-based Social Network

Despite the pockets of criticisms here and there, Steemit remains the most successful blockchain - based social network.

With millions of dollars already paid out in rewards through STEEM, Steemit has established itself as the convergent point for cryptocurrency enthusiasts across the globe.

As the user base of Steemit begins to expand, when we have surmounted the onboarding barrier, it will become impossible to discuss anything relating to cryptos and the blockchain without referring to Steemit. That is even happening already.

Now tell me why STEEM, the currency of Steemit and the blockchain powering Steemit should be ignored?

Until I come your way again, I wish you a full Steem ahead.

Sort:  

Well, I had not thought about what you explain about the variations in value and potential of Steem within cryptocurrencies, although if I had considered before what you said about generating content for social networks without receiving any compensation, in fact I remember that in some cases , what you share is no longer your property.
I appreciate your post and wish you much success.

I like this very much. I certainly hold strong criticism against the new system which is for me a bad design, but I still think that Steem is much more worthy of our appreciation than BTC.

I keep thinking that the best outcomes of cryptocurrencies must be linked to our real lives and our daily dynamics. I don't know if this is sad to Satoshi (whether him or them) but Bitcoin doesn't have anymore a real technical superiority. However I think it played its part. It was the initiator.

Steem and other similar proposals really have that connection with reality. It is not only about playing with money, it's about cultural creation, communities, art and innovation.

I also agree with all the vital points you've made here. There is a lot to crypto than just speculations and that's what Steem has taught us all along.

Thanks for stopping by.

Steem may never come back as you stipulate in this article and I will reverse the trajectory of your crypto portfolio and way of thinking!

Hahaha. Well, only time will tell who is right or wrong but I a student of history I believe that history will likely repeat itself.

When BTC maximalists see that they have amassed all the profit that BTC can give, they will switch to alts. We'll see. Thanks for your thoughts.

Hi @gandhibaba, an amazing piece again. Congrats friend!

However, you can do many things with STEEM. You can delegate STEEM to empower others. You can reward others with Steem by upvoting them. You can even spice your pizza with STEEM. And lots more.

Totally agree with you friend (although I have not spiced pizza with steem) steem has infinite things to do, the amount of functionality added by steem developers is increasingly surprising, and with steem engine it is crazy the amount of projects that They are based on this chain, I think it is a matter of time for Steem to be priced at a good price in the market.

  1. Steemit Remains the Most Successful Blockchain-based Social Network
    Despite the pockets of criticisms here and there, Steemit remains the most successful blockchain - based social network.

As the user base of Steemit begins to expand, when we have surmounted the onboarding barrier, it will become impossible to discuss anything relating to cryptos and the blockchain without referring to Steemit. That is even happening already.

It is by far the most successful blockchain-based network, even people who left the platform are returning, what to say from other blockchain who are bringing their projects to steem. I don't have statistics like that but I think that the user base and the activity in the chain are increasing, an example of what I wrote earlier are the chains that are bringing their tokens to the steem engine market, such as weku or eos and the They are in talks to be included.

https://steemit.com/cryptopeso/@cryptopeso/crypto-peso-is-now-on-steem-engine-and-is-being-airdropped-to-16-000-steem-accounts-help-eosvenezuela-use-steem-to-make-the

Thanks friend for sharing.
@fucho80

Thanks @fucho80 this is perhaps the best comment on this post. Thanks for the info about Weku and Eos coming to Steem engine. The future is bright for Steem because we do not have a competitor at the moment. We remain strong and ready for the brighter future ahead.

I think it is a matter of time for Steem to be priced at a good price in the market.

Yes, that's correct.

Refreshing read. It reminds me of why I was drawn to Steem in the first place.

Just you wait, hivemind communities will make this place a lot more interesting when it comes out. Glad to have productive minded people like you here.

Thanks for stopping by too. Good to have people like you on this space too. Cheers!

@gandhibaba,
Yeah most of those points are very correct, but I can't agree with Point #2. STEEM is not easy to earn now, specially after HF21!
!trdovoter 70

Cheers~

Congratulations @theguruasia, you are successfuly trended the post that shared by @gandhibaba!
@gandhibaba got 6 TRDO & @theguruasia got 4 TRDO!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

That's correct. Steem is harder to earn now but that is still far easier than it is to mine BTC. That's the point. Cheers!

Hi @gandhibaba

I definitely share your experience, however I think that in my case I can say that 85% or 90% of my crypto portfolio is STEEM, everything you say about mining is easier than mining BTC. I stay with steem.

When you mention Facebook, I remembered everything before that was published there. Now I even forgot the password to access.

When you mention Facebook, I remembered everything before that was published there. Now I even forgot the password to access.

Hahaha unlike you I still have my Facebook password but I rarely use the site despite having a lot of friends who still want to read my essays there.

Wow, 85% Steem portfolio is daring but meaningful and wise. I believe that the future looks great for us. Cheers!

Nice reasons, i am with you Steem Power on!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks buddy for sharing the same sentiments.

Congratulations @theguruasia, 70% upvote has been shared with your successful call on the post that shared by @gandhibaba!


Support @trendotoken projects by delegating : 100SP , 200SP , 500SP , 1000SP , 2000SP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63768.98
ETH 3410.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49