Just Keep Steeming Just Keep Steeming

in #newsteem5 years ago

cen4.jpg

According to Steemworld, I have now made 1435 posts in the Steem blockchain since the end of May, 2017. I have done loads of different kinds of posts from self portrait sets, to nature photography, rants, free writing and shitposting, to varying degrees of quality. What I have learned through all this creating, is that it’s very hard to accurately predict what gets people going. What I think is good, is not always good when you ask your audience, and vice versa. How I value my posts is the amount and length of comments, and not upvotes, because I have autovotes so those are not an accurate metric.

One day I’m super super excited about my latest self portrait set that I think is interesting, good quality and one of the best I’ve done, but the only comment I get is from @tts. What a bummer! The next day I throw out a fast phone selfie and write about my boring ass day, and the comments come flooding in! Who would have known something I said was so interesting!?

Seriously, you can never predict what works the best, there are so many variables. Sometimes it’s just a slow day or you happen to post at a time where your post slips between the cracks and goes unnoticed. Other times it seems everyone is online at the same time and comments flow, no matter what it is that you post. Sometimes a big account resteems your post of you get a curie upvote, which bring new eager people with their comments. Sometimes you just can’t get the attention you wished for.

Just last week I almost didn’t even post the pictures I had just done, because I thought they were lacking something, not quite where I wanted them to be and I was very hesitant in posting them. Then I remembered that a lot of my followers like the coloured images, and I do a lot of black and white, so I posted them for those followers, and it was a hit! Weird how different our views are!

It’s been really quiet in Steemit for a few days, it’s me and maybe five other active Steemians. It is a bit discouraging to see how little is happening, but I try to not take it too personally and just keep going, doing my own thing. I’ve learned that Steemit flown up and down drastically so eventually it’ll all pick back up.

Worst thing you can do is to procrastinate about what you are going to post, or stop completely. We need action in the Steem blockchain and doing something is better than doing nothing and just leaving.

Sort:  

Steem is still light years away from any other blockchain based social media – and what a diversified bunch we are! Not just a group of computer science nerds. You know, when Steem had/has its problems, people right away started to look for the greener pastures. Spoiler alert: that greener pasture doesn't exist, because Steem is the motherfucking trailblazer in its own area. And building that is gonna take a long ass time with no guarantees, but that's the risk one has to pay as an early adopter. What's so cool about Steem is that it is probably one of the most inclusive early adopter platforms that have ever existed: start mining Steem with your brain and you can become an owner on the platform by powering your earnings up. That Steem tap is going to close in the coming years though as the inflation starts to drop, so we have a truly unique opportunity, one just has to see the opportunity that is being laid before us.

What a rambly Steem comment, I can hear the anti-Steemcontent crowd jumping in: "I'M SICK OF HEARING ABOUT STEEM THIS AND THAT, WHERE IS THE REAL CONTENT???!!!"

Ok, moving on, I wanted to comment on the following also:

One day I’m super super excited about my latest self portrait set that I think is interesting, good quality and one of the best I’ve done, but the only comment I get is from @tts. What a bummer! The next day I throw out a fast phone selfie and write about my boring ass day, and the comments come flooding in! Who would have known something I said was so interesting!?

Fine photographs/self portraits are like fine wine; you need to have a taste – not necessarily to enjoy it, but at least to be able to articulate it and add on it. To give something thoughtful is going to be more rare the harder a post falls under a specific niche. Simpler posts are usually easier to engage with because then there's usually just more people who can relate and add on it. That's my theory anyway.

People want an easy, ready to use, microwave-meal type of deal. They don't wanna be a part of something that is still in the works. MULLEHETIKAIKKINYT. I can understand that, but it's so unnecessary to just bitch and moan and expect that everything will be perfect and handed to them just like they want it. If you want something, you either work for it, or you pay someone else to do it.

Fine photographs/self portraits are like fine wine

That just made me feel a whole lot better! "You just don't understand me, I'm too good for you. It's art bitch!" 😂

it’s very hard to accurately predict what gets people going.

Ass, can work :)


One day I’m super super excited about my latest self portrait set that I think is interesting, good quality and one of the best I’ve done, but the only comment I get is from @tts. What a bummer! The next day I throw out a fast phone selfie and write about my boring ass day, and the comments come flooding in!

Something about community over content. Those still grinding here want to know about their friends/fellow faithful Steemians :)

Even ass doesn’t always work! Ahh but normal people and life is so boring, I want fantasy 😂

I do agree, in particular with your last paragraph.
We have to keep this thing running!

No better time than now! Steem up for grabs and you can get away with pretty much anything because there is so little content.

Definitely last paragraph is the ultimate goal.

Gotta be the good example for those who are not posting!

Lol, It has become bone dry here I can tell by the fact that even my trash posts are getting curated and I've never bothered to really try to get much attention. I think that we kind of had this injection of users that inflated our perception of the project and spaces growth in 2017 and everyone was losing their minds trying to frantically get a piece of it.

Now doing actually hard growth isn't easy, we are getting new users every day and each day is an opportunity to grow and bring new people here.

I'll keep posting because I like it here and I don't like traditional social media, besides my comments, get way more love or hate her than it does on other sites so I have that going for me which is nice lol

That’s a positive way of looking at it being so darn slow in here 😅 I always like your comments, I don’t know why they wouldn’t work on other platforms 🤷🏻‍♀️

It’s so easy to be negative about things in life, eveyeones doing it! I guess being positive is just my way of going against convention!

That’s very sweet of you, glad you do find value in my rants lol! Well I’d say other platforms I used are very localized so the group think is much stronger and the dogma more apparent

Congratulations @eveuncovered! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 8500 replies. Your next target is to reach 8750 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The new SteemFest⁴ badge is ready
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I remember the days when I would post and in less than 24 hrs (you only had 24 hrs to get your reward) I would get $30 worth of votes. And it was only like 6 votes! Of course I had no idea what I was doing back then and kept everything in savings or SBD, and never powered up. I missed the train on that one lol.

I'm hoping with #newsteem things might get back a little closer to those "good old days". Since I know what I am doing now.

Wow, you’ve joined early! We’ll see where this place takes us, anythinf could happen.

Well put friend! We all are responsible on keeping the Steem going! <3

the only comment I get is from @tts

It would be great if @tts would customize the voice based on the content or maybe just the tags...


Based on my comment, it's obvious that depending on what folks are doing/feeling when they read determines which piece of data they latch on to. I happened to latch on to the @tts sentence. It made me smile/laugh. That's all I wanted from my read today. (Of course the photo was the original draw to the post ;-))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63191.06
ETH 2551.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65