Steemit Lotto Weekly - Introducing the result calculator tool

in #news7 years ago

With 30 participants already and a minimum pot size of around 14 SBD, the first edition of the Steemit Lotto game is on its way to a great start. If you have not played yet, hurry up as the time will be up this Sunday. Will you be the lucky winner?  Check Steemit Lotto Weekly # 0 - Minimum Pot Size 10 SBD to try your luck.

(Courtesy of @killerwhale)

Introducing the result calculator software

With the difficulties calculating the results of the Steemit Lotto game as defined in the post " Steemit Lotto Weekly - The rules explained", I have spend the last 2 days developing a software to help me find the winner(s) for the game. To find the winner for five and four correct guesses, I would have had to check each entry for each participant 23 times to ensure that I don't miss the winner.

Human error is a huge factor as can the tool already helped me in finding errors that participants have made in their entries.

The GUI is pretty simple. It takes as input the week's lucky numbers and the participants' entries to generate the full results. A task which would have taken me hours doing manually, can now be done in a few seconds.

When we click on the "Get winners" button, it gives us the results of the game.

As you can see the software is able to find the winner. It even tells me which participant has made an entry which the system cannot process. Then I will go and check manually what the issue is and check whether that participant is a potential winner.

Like this, I ran a simulation for this week's result and I found that @saffisara, who is the first person to play this Lotto game had made an error. She had made 5 guesses instead of 6 and even when I checked visually, I did not find this until the software showed it to me. 

This tool has already started proving that it was not a waste of time. I contacted @saffisara and she was able to amend her entry.

I ran some tests to ensure that it was able to find the winners for 5 and 4 correct answers as this was the most tedious results to find.

And the results were as expected.

How will the draw be made tomorrow?

I will post screenshots of the result of the software and the draw made from random.org with the timestamp or I will make a video and post it on the result post. For this first week, I will try my best to prepare the video as it feels more real and interactive with the participants.

I will be posting the results together with the next week's game. So don't forget to check the results and see if you are lucky enough on Steemit!

💸 If you have not played yet, HURRY UP:  Steemit Lotto Weekly # 0 - Minimum Pot Size 10 SBD

Good luck to everyone  😎 


Don't forget to check if you are a winner every Sunday at around 19 00 (GMT)

(created by @readallaboutit)


Like guessing games? Why not check out @killerwhale for crypto guessing games!

Sort:  

This post received a 5.68% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @pisolutionsmru! To learn more, check out @randowhale 101 - Everything You Need to Know!

Human error indeed, sorry about that.. Lol
Thank you for sharing this.
Have a great weekend. Cheers

Excellent work Thank you :)

Well... love to see you're advancing big.

A video will make them feel better, to be sure of the winnings. If not, for the beginning of times it is what it is.

I want to see more people there though ;-)

gg man and best wishes

That's awesome. Very resourceful of you to create an application to solve your problem. It shows your commitment to your project. Good luck to all the participants, and good luck with your lottery look forward to entering it later on :)

I win all the time because I do not play :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60244.17
ETH 2333.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47