Hahahah: "President Trump made some major missteps when meeting the queen"

in #news6 years ago (edited)

Yahoo! article: https://www.yahoo.com/lifestyle/president-trump-made-major-missteps-meeting-queen-194626332.html

The major misstep, when you dig thru it, appears to be that Trump walked maybe a hair too fast and the Queen for some reason moved over and behind him, and Trump then stopped and waited and it looked awkward for a quick second.

Lol.

Can be viewed in the article or in this Tweet: https://twitter.com/twitter/statuses/1017823574407700481

To me it seems like if anything the Queen is misstepping, but that's beside the point.

What's important is that a split second of how people are walking doesn't actually matter or mean much. And if you pretend that it does, like the Twitter user they bring to life in the article:

then the smart money knows that you're a hack. You don't like Trump, and are happy to grasp at anything that you think helps you justify that.

Not a SHRED of respect, the way he walked a little too fast for half a second there! NONE!!! 😆😆


So what's interesting to me isn't whether he technically broke protocol, but rather the way these people have an indignant attitude like that it should be such a big deal.

Funny how the anti-Trumpers suddenly turn into snob elitists who have the utmost respect for pointless displays of hierarchy and specialness.

Overall, a certain deference to the queen is expected. Arrive before her, don’t speak unless spoken to or sit or eat until she has, and never turn your back or leave before she does. Trump managed to publicly flout a few of these rules of protocol.

Why? Lol. Why is she special, and other leaders are supposed to show deference to her?

If you think other people need to bend over backwards and have all these weird rules when they visit you, then you and these weird rules are the source of the problem.

Earlier, the president and first lady Melania Trump defied protocol when they greeted the queen: They did not bow or curtsy, but instead opted to simply shake hands. It is not obligatory to bow, as Americans are not her subjects, but doing so is widely considered good manners.

Okay, so still not a "major misstep" or even anything that's technically wrong.

And, as one person pointed out, his overall behavior was disrespectful and thoughtless toward an elderly woman, queen or not.

Lol, so someone somewhere characterized his behavior as that. Sick journalism. Do you have an actual example?

My grandmothers never found it problematic when I didn't bow to them or walked half a step in front.

Ya I mean not bowing, can you BELIEVE he did that?? Or was it the part where he walked a little too fast?

Remember "Little Marco", "Lying Ted", relentlessly trolling Jeb Bush out of the debates? It's not like he has a track record of being prim and proper towards men.

But if you even hint at disrespecting someone who happens to be a woman [and in this case "disrespect" actually means not following an assortment of weird rules that actually are designed to show deference to her 🙄🙄], there are these people who want to make it about gender.

If you imagine that something has to do with gender when there isn't actually an indication to think that, quite frankly, you're the sexist.

(Kendally Brown is projecting, basically.)

Even though the royal family’s approach to royal protocol is reportedly much more relaxed than it used to be, these gaffes — intentional or not — are causing a bit of a backlash.

So no big deal, but there's backlash anyways. Seems about right.

Better title would be: President Trump Walks A Little Too Fast And The Loonies Are Losing Their Lid Over It!

While I'm sure Trump could be a little obtuse to the protocol, or be deliberately needling, these are such minor "infractions" that they could also be just par for the course and what happens when Bush, Obama, Clinton etc. or other leaders visit her.

I imagine it isn't simple to perfectly stick to weird norms like "don't turn your back to her" when you're used to being normal your whole life. So it seems like it could just invariably happen from time to time, and it's just whether or not people want to react and pretend to make a big deal out of it.

And no matter how you slice it, it shouldn't matter to you that Person A walked faster than Person B, etc. No one takes you seriously when you pretend that it does. It only matters if you're trying to use that as a cheap way to manipulate people into not liking Trump.

There are plenty of valid ways to disagree with Trump. Try it.

Sort:  

I swear I fucking hate monarchy and all these bow to the king/queen don't talk before the queen bullshit!

If I respect you enough; If you done certain shits that's made you earn that respect from me, then you dont have to tell me before I give you certain deference; but I swear to God don't expect me to bow before you just because your father's father's father's father was born into a royal family!

I made a decision to stay away from anything Trump/politics on Twitter a while ago and boy has it been splendid for my health! The internet can be really weird, least I can do is shield myself from that weirdness as best I can 😌

Smart decision! Sorry to draw it back into your awareness lol. It's like I know the smart money would say to just ignore it and not give it life, but I can't help myself lol.

I think a lot of it is that the media industry is designed to be sensational and play off of conflict, and so as the world gets relatively better, they need to fabricate hate and conflict.

At least I hope that's what it is, rather than people have actually gone so fruit loops.

That, combined with wanting to keep attention away from real issues. Like if they didn't have the fake distracting hate, more people might be focused on things that the system doesn't want to change yet.

In that regard, Trump is kind of a perfect foil. He and the media together create a kind of brilliant distraction.

I swear I fucking hate monarchy and all these bow to the king/queen don't talk before the queen bullshit!
If I respect you enough; If you done certain shits that's made you earn that respect from me, then you dont have to tell me before I give you certain deference; but I swear to God don't expect me to bow before you just because your father's father's father's father was born into a royal family!

I second that! Amen!

How does it matter😊😊!! See now people has Twitter and media has channels and they make a issue out of it. It seems there is nothing wrong in it. President Trump is young and dynamic when compared to England queen so he walked little fast. He need not to bow infront of some other people because he is representing one of the top nations of the world. Why should not England queen do this bowing first?? I'm sure Trumph would have done that if she does it earlier because he then understand that it is custom there. This misunderstanding is mainly due to culture differece ...that is all I can say😀😀

See he is cool and very good guy

1xnNq8tH2EocZ88RFX.gif

rzKSHEMN0lVkc.gif

ya!! seems about right! I agree with all of that. 😀

Have you seen this shit??😂😂
I saw this on the BBC and thought you should see it:

Thousands joined Trump protest as US leader played golf

lol 😂

It's so weird to me. I don't even believe in government or democracy, so I don't support Trump at all or have much reason to care. I just don't see what specifically he did that warrants protest and reaction like this.

Total madness lol. I wish people would be this riled up about things that actually matter, like Ross Ulbricht being locked in a cage for life. Or the millions of other people held prisoner for non-violent non-victim "crimes".

But they bark at shadows instead.

You believe he has done anything wrong??. I have just googled about him. He is very good at academics and studied in top universities.

You believe he has done anything wrong??

oh, def not..

Anyone who is the President will believe a few things that I disagree with, but I don't know what he did specifically that would deserve this kind of response.

To me it seems like they whine basically because they don't like his demeanor or tone of voice or something, lol.

It's kind of like a tipping point of needing fake reasons to be outraged (because life is actually better and more civil than it's ever been), so it's like the media machine is all about manufacturing outrage these days.

Compared to other Presidents, he actually seems better to me. He pardoned that woman who was in jail for super long on drug charges.

(And then the media actually tried to make that seem like a bad thing too.)

loll.. I just saw the gif's now.. either you edited them in later or they didn't display for me or something..

so funny.. I don't know how people let themselves be trolled by him.

I'm a very big fan of him for no reason . I saw couple of gifs download already on my phone. So I just added them now😝😝

baha nice

I just turned my pc on and this was the first thing I saw when I opened my browser. First thing that went through my mind was “what again?”. I didn’t even pay attention to it, because I know if Trump does what he always do, they will turn it completely around. They say “what an insult!”. Comon, give me a break your majesty lol.

yaaa, it's funny how much of a projection the whole thing is...

"Trump being disrespectful" is really a complaint of not dignifying or bending over backwards in her favor as much as is supposedly the custom. The custom is what's disrespectful, lol.

Get Upvotes from 350 members!

Join Our Community now.

This situation is similar to what happens in Venezuela. Maintaining the flow in the queues to buy food at regulated prices, the absence of cash, the problem of transportation that keeps things at a distance and does not allow to concentrate on the underlying problems that the country has

Hmm, ya so it's like they create a distraction so people don't think about the real problems?

To the point that we Venezuelans are super busy looking for what to eat? How to transport us? How to care for our patients? that we forget that here the problem is more serious and needs an immediate solution

Ya, there are definitely more important things than the way people walk when they're with the queen :p

Well done @full-measure! You successfully guessed the match result.

Finals - France vs Croatia
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Final results coming soon


Did you like the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest?
Vote for @steemitboard as a witness and get one more award!

w00t got the last one !!

Congratulations @full-measure! You have received a personal award!

SteemitBoard World Cup Contest
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

😊😊😊

thanks for running the contest, @steemitboard !

Congratulations @full-measure! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

another feather in my cap!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63030.98
ETH 2594.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74