CES 2017 - My Top Pick for Awesome? The EHang 184 Autonomous Aerial Vehicle...🚀steemCreated with Sketch.

in #news8 years ago (edited)

"What was the most amazing thing you saw at CES 2017 in Las Vegas?"

That's the number one "Frequently Asked Question" I get from my readers. This article is my attempt to provide an adequate answer.

I had the pleasure of attending CES last week, the massive annual trade show for electronics industry professionals. While there are countless amazing things to see at the show, for me personally, the highlight of the show was undoubtedly the EHang 184 Autonomous Aerial Vehicle.

NOTE: Don't miss my first two posts about CES: Here, and here.

The EHang 184 Autonomous Aerial Vehicle!

The EHang 184 Autonomous Aerial Vehicle - Original Photo

I had passed the EHang 184 AAV at CES last year,

but failed to realize and understand what it was at that time. Having read more about it during the past year, I made a point of finding the EHang and taking a closer look.

EHang 184 is an amazing "airborne taxi" currently under intensive development by this Chinese company. It is designed to rapidly carry one passenger by air from point to point within a city.

EHang 184 Brochure

EHang 184 Brochure - Original Photo

I want to fly! I have always wanted to fly.

That's probably why, had you been at CES a few days ago, you might have seen me drooling over this little aircar.

For the last three decades, I've repeated the following mantra to anyone who would listen:

"If we had spent 10% of the cost of the interstate highway system on research, we'd all be flying everywhere by now and wouldn't need massive concrete ribbons covering the land."

I remember as a child hearing all the promises of an amazing future, and being able to fly anywhere was one of those promises. I expected that promise to be fulfilled much sooner, but have been sorely disappointed.

As a teenager in the '60's, I saw Molt Taylor's beautiful second-generation Aerocar, and have been waiting forever for the Moller Skycar.

Molt Taylor's Beautiful Aerocar III

Molt Taylor's Beautiful Aerocar III
Photo by Jim Collaborator via Wikimedia Commons

Moulton "Molt" Taylor was,

of course, light-years ahead of his time and had fully-functional flying cars that could be converted between road mode and flight mode literally in a matter of minutes. He was very gracious to my dad and me when we "dropped in" out of nowhere at his shop in Longview, Washington to see his incredible machine.

Paul Moller is a visionary who has also inspired my imagination over the years, though (to my knowledge) he has yet to produce a reliable flying vehicle.

Given that brief background of my interest, you may be able to imagine how thrilling this EHang 184 test flight video is to me:

As you can see from this recent video,

actual flight testing of the EHang 184 is ongoing and progressing at an excellent pace with very promising results. The model 184 is designed, literally "from the ground up," with safety in mind. Multiply-redundant power and control systems ensure the safety of the passenger.

Although with four "lifter booms" the EHang looks like a quadcopter, it is in reality an "octocopter" because each boom has two independent high-power electric motors and composite propellers. Thus, if any of the motors or props were to fail, there is still adequate lift and control to bring the EHang 184 to a safe landing.

For a somewhat longer and earlier video that explores more of the development and operation of the machine, check out this YouTube video also.

Don't miss the EHang 184 web page

where you can find a fair amount of detail about the project, "straight from the horse's mouth."

The EHang 184 Autonomous Aerial Vehicle

The EHang 184 Autonomous Aerial Vehicle
Photo by Ben Smith CC BY 2.0 via Wikimedia Commons

"Private autonomous flight is the future of transportation."

You may quote me on that. It has been the future of transportation for me for all of my life. Within the past year, I have discovered considerable reason to believe that PAVs (Personal Aerial Vehicles) will become readily available within the next ten years, but that's a subject for an upcoming post; stay tuned to my blog! ;)

EHang 184 From the Back

EHang 184 From the Back - Original Photo

Seen from behind, the EHang 184

control screen is visible through the open gull-wing door. A company representative stands in front, being interviewed by media.

As an EHang 184 passenger, you can look forward to simply being seated, selecting your choice of destination from a touch-enabled map, and then sitting back to enjoy the ride.

In closing,

and consonant with earlier posts in this series, here's another lovely CES Booth Babe for you:

Furrion Booth Babe

Furrion Booth Babe - Original Photo

Vive la différence!

As an agorist, I have to stay a step ahead.

Visiting CES fairly regularly helps stimulate my imagination and renew my creative energies. I get to see cool stuff, talk to interesting people, and try out new things. If you can stand the crowds, I recommend it.


Thanks for your time and attention.

I'm here on Steemit because of you, my readers. I wouldn't be here if it weren't for you!

This post is intended to count towards @dragosroua's Challenge30.


I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about all of them.
Did you enjoy this post?

⬇️Please check out @creatr's world - CLICK each of the images below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr

Follow me, I'm @creatr

Sort:  

@creatr, your post has been chosen by @STEEMNEWS.ONLINE as one of today's promoted posts for its excellent content. We've upvoted, resteemed and published it through Facebook & Twitter.

As the author of a SNO featured article, you've been awarded one TRAIL coin. Please stop by the SteemTrail Discord server to learn more about how to claim your TRAIL coin. You will need an Open Ledger account to do so.

STEEMNEWS.ONLINE watches the #steemnews tag most closely. Please consider supporting excellent news articles by making steemnews.online one of your operators on Streemian, in addition to steemtrail.

Thank you for your hard work and contribution of excellent content to Steemit.

THANK You! 😄😇😄

@creatr

eesh! more interested in autonomous cars on terra firma - good post though :)

Thanks!

My real heart's desire is to have flight a built-in capability of my body... just levitate and float wherever I wish to go... ;)

well, you might just get your wish...soon. Maranatha :)

I always hope for that... I'm constantly straining my ears for the sound of The Trumpet! :)

This would be a cool item to test :)

Yes indeed! :)

Oh my gosh..... I know you were drooling!!!!!! Lololol
Next step... your flying house!!! :)

And you are hilarious with the booth babes! :D

Yah, doesn't take too much to make me drool... ;) I drool a lot! :) :D

hahahahahaha well as long as you're drooling over cars and not booth babes. LOL

P.S. Don't miss this morning's / today's post... R.D.J. is the Cover Boy... ;) :D

You've got that right, friend! Need this desperately! ;)

Looks awesome. Still not sure I would be an early adopter though (assuming I could afford it in the first place).

Actually, my understanding is that (at least initially) these babies will be taxis and not personally owned...

So, if that's the case - you can bet I'll pay $100 bucks (or whatever) to be delivered to my urban destination, at least once! 😄😇😄

Oh, I will too but I'll probably wait until a few thousand other people have tried it first and any bugs have been worked out :)

Sounds like a plan! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58802.33
ETH 3158.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42