Microsoft Regrets "Tricking" Their Customers Into Upgrading to Windows 10

in #news7 years ago

Oh man, saw this one coming a mile away. Had this issue at work and they went as far as to make it mandatory we all upgrade. This was do to several coworkers accidentally upgrading and us all needing to be on the same OS.

Chris Capossela, Microsoft's Chief Marketing Officer says he regrets "getting too aggressive" when trying to get people to upgrade to Windows 10. Outside of actually sneaking into people's houses and clicking upgrade, I feel auto scheduling the update is as shady as it gets. The irony is his justification of it improving security, how secure does a customer feel after being tricked into doing something? Even if it is for their own it, it is up to the individual to decide.

I went ahead and did the free upgrade on my machine to get the free product key in case I needed it later for one reason or another. I even gave it a try for a few days but finally rolled back to Windows 7 after noticing the mine craft advertisements in the start menu...

That old saying of "nothing in life is free" was in my head upon during the upgrade. I kept thinking they would pick up the cost somewhere. I was not surprised when I had to log into my Microsoft account just to use my computer. Then after logging in I was bombarded by advertisements everywhere possible.

These giant companies that are too big to fail are all failing because they are too big. Small companies cannot scale to that level of demand, leaving the consumer stuck. I hope blockchain technology can solve all these problems giving people options and stake in a network or system that fits their needs. Personally I have seen a lot more terminal windows lately in search of liberation from the future corporate technocracy.

Source Article

SteemVerify

Sort:  

Linux!! Free, easy to install, does most everything windoze can do. Did I mention it is free? Plus, since Windows 10 started recording your keystrokes (research "telemetry" and you will find that Win 7 and 8 have also started doing it via "updates") Microsoft now probably has your banking password... Manjaro and Linux Mint are my suggestions for soon-to-be windoze refugees.

Wow, will have to check that out

Bastards got me, I could not even use my computer for about 6 hours. I was so pissed plus it had so many errors at first. Followed and Upvoted.

You are not alone, and our IT guy had a hellish week trying to deal with the situation. Luckily I disabled all updates during that period and removed the already installed spam notices. It eventually got down to the last day and he was still persisting. I imaged my machined onto a backup hard drive and then did the upgrade. Luckily I did the same for my boss, her upgrade got stuck and ended up putting the computer into a boot loop. I restored the previous image and mentioned the major bullet we dodged. Thanks for the follow and upvote, feel free to resteem! 😉

You don't even need block chain technology to find reasonable and free alternatives to Microsoft. Open source is awesome too.

Of course, I could not a agree more. I am 100% Ubuntu in my personal life, work requires windows. I was also referring to the latest news out of google HQ regarding the lawsuit (linked below). Open source is not readily available for the general public on a large scale yet, in my opinion.

https://steemit.com/news/@codydeeds/google-gags-employee-whistleblowers-even-from-internal-communication-with-coworkers

I think open source is far more ready than block chain technology. Certainly on the operating system level, Ubuntu, Red Hat and other variations of Linux are as easy to use as anything else and are easily available with the exception that a new PC typically still comes with Windows installed. I think Microsoft dominated for so long that many organizations became locked in but this is slowly changing. Even OS X is based largely on open source technology and what could be more mainstream than that?

I completely agree and that fits with the article. My logic was in regard to cell phones, I am not an iPhone fan and Google just got in some legal trouble for employee gag orders. Windows of course makes cell phones also, but we can see how that worked out. Are there any opensource cell phones out there?

Yeah I hate Windoze, my wife got mad it upgraded 2 of her devices to 10, but not the 3rd with out giving her much if any kind of a warning.

She probably got hit with that prompt and hit cancel like any normal person would, not knowing she scheduled the update by clicking escape....scammy scammers

Yeah, my brother works for them, I started to use Linux years ago to avoid these issues, I always hate how they force people to upgrade, and from time to time they do this without warning. I think her laptop was just forced to update, I don't think either of us told it to update.

That is very possible according to the article.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69430.02
ETH 3814.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66