Classical Liberalism 101: Facts about Gun Violence in the US of A

in #news6 years ago (edited)
Without shouting, I think I will just point out a few facts:
First, while terrible, mass shootings only account for .018% of all deaths in the USA.
Second, this most recent offender broke gun laws already -- there is no reason to think he wouldn't have broken even more had they been in place.
Third, few get into the connection between prescription medication and gun violence (or any kind of violence, for that matter), even though suicide and aggression are often listed as side-effects of the very drugs that are supposed to help people deal with their mental illness.
I trust I didn't hurt anyone's feelings. Just trying to present facts in a logical light.

brentssanders_blue.png

Sort:  

Thanks @brentssanders for Taking a #STAND against #FakeNews!

A well regulated Militia, being necessary to the security of a free State, the right of the people to keep and bear Arms, shall not be infringed.

That amendment ends with a period not a dot dot dot...
... unless there is a school shooting.
... except regarding AR-15's (the AR does not stand for Assault Rifle...)
... except for large magazines and clips.
I wish people would quit trying to turn that period into a dot dot dot...

STAND.png
STeemit
Alt-News
Domain

Still trying to explain that to people :) Thanks for your comment!

Interesting facts.
So gun related violences are not that high, who could have known...

Not people who watch the news, but maybe those who read statistics :)

Also the figure quoted above is for mass shootings, not all gun violence, whose figures include mostly suicides and "legal" police shootings.

good activity i think you have logic about this dear
thanks for the information of your own views
that is appreciated

Facts are good!
Another fact is the right to bear arms isn't for hunting or target practice, it's to take back power from a corrupt government.
Another fact is corrupt governments almost always impose "gun control" on a population before genocides.
And lastly, it's a fact that the US government is corrupt. (And Canadian government for that matter.)

Totally true, @drutter. I remembered a few more after posting too hastily: The FBI ignored specific warnings about this person. Also, gun violence in the US is way down since the 2000s.

True also.
But I think the post is good the way you did it. Just a few key points helps make your stance obvious. But don't take my advice on this... I have trouble being succinct in my own posts. I want to include as much information as possible, but I know I usually jam things too "full". I'm working on picking my battles!
PS: Could you glance at my wallet and give me feedback? As I learn about how things work, I seem to have decided I like "powering up". I haven't noticed much advantage to doing this, but I believe it's a good long term strategy. Is that right? I realize I can't get it out quickly, but I don't intend to. I'd like to "invest" a bit into Steemit, give it a real shot, and see if I can make the site better and improve myself at the same time. I don't see much reason to hold SBD, or put anything into "savings". I also don't plan to buy/use bots or other services, so won't likely be needing any SBD or Steem for that. Does my strategy seem reasonable-ish? Thanks : )

Thanks, 3 points is the classic approach. As far as your wallet is concerned, I personally split my earnings 50/50, though I have gone 100% SBD in the past. I guess the one parameter is psychological: it's nice to be able to upvote someone significantly. The other, and I may be wrong on this (at least one user told me I was wrong), is that the greater your SP, the more your share of the overall profits. Please, @j3dy, correct me if I'm wrong.

Please supply figures of children killed daily with knives or baseball bats or swimming pools or cars. Numbers matter.

Or fists, for that matter ...

And don't forget abortions: one killed every 9 seconds in the US of A.

This post has received gratitude of 2.52 % from @appreciator thanks to: @brentssanders.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66466.45
ETH 3595.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.90