Oh Mother Dearest, How I Love Thee...

in #newbieresteemday6 years ago (edited)
I came across a contest by @sillentkiller. For this contest you write a post on you mother, your Maa! If you want to learn more or join in on the contest, click HERE! Now I dont know about you all but this is a subject that I can write on all day. My mother, momma if you will,and I have a wonderful relationship. We, for the most part, always have. You see, my momma is an amazing woman, whos taught me most of everything I know. I owe her not only my life (quite literally) but soo much more. She has helped to meld me into the woman I am today. Shes showed me how to be a wonderful momma to my little girl. Without her guidance I dont know where Id be today.


We have had some great times together, whether it be at the beach, working together or home life. Its kinda funny that almost all the jobs I have had, Ive worked right along side of her. Ive been her right hand lady and shes been mine! From working in our family owned coffee shop, On Higher Grounds, to most recently working along side each other at a womans club house called The Kinsloe House where we were caterers there for some rich snooty women, and many in between! Even dealing with their attitudes we still had a blast. When we finally had enough of their holier then thou attitudes we called it quits! Walked outta there with a mic drop and a middle finger! Hey, I definitely got my attitude from my momma! Im now a stay at home momma and she has retired! Since then we have double teamed our at home lifes. She caters for her close clientele, a few of them stolen from said club house making them delicious meals! We have a beautiful garden thats growing by leaps and bounds. Recently planted 6 fruit trees and many berry bushes. Hopefully we get a beautiful crop this year!


We double team this little monster, my princess Sophia! I dont know whose luckier to have momma around, Sophie or me! Sophie absolutely adores her grandma. Mom actually went to college for child education. If Im remembering the story correctly, if it werent for the birth of my eldest sister, she would have her degree. Its okay, we will put that schooling to good use! :D Sophie has sooo much imagination, which I fully credit mom for. Mom has a way of telling stories thatll make your imagination fly. In the world of fairies and gnomes, who wouldnt believe they could fly! Peter Pan has nothing on this woman! So they sit together and come up with the grandest stories. I so wish I could remember my childhood. I can only imagine the things we came up with together, just the thought brings a big smile to my face.

Momma had to have a vivid imagination. She was the last born, the baby. She was literally the hole in the condom. Her mother was 40 years old when she became pregnant with mom. At that time, they were barely making it by as it was. This is where mom learned her ways to penny pinch! She had brothers and sisters but they were much older. There was 10 years difference in between her and the next youngest. So she played by herself, which was fun enough on its own. Dont feel bad for her, its what made her into the woman she is today. She STILL has that imagination. It comes through in all of her arts and crafts. Shes a candle maker, a wreath designer, a master chef, and so much more. If her mother had only seen what all mom would accomplish, she would be so proud of the woman she grew to be. Her mother, my grandmother, who sadly I dont remember much of, died when I was a baby. This is one of the few pictures that we have of her. Its definitely one of my favorites. Just look at that smile momma had! Even at that age she lit up the room! Just beautiful!! <3

Well, @sillentkiller, you may of bit off more than you can handle when said you would be waiting for my entry! I did say at the beginning I could go on and on! Momma didnt raise no liar! But Ill tell you what she did raise! She raised 3 girls into some beautifully talented amazing women. She taught us how to love ourselves first. She taught us how to love our children. She taught us how to appreciate what life throws at us and how to turn it around to make it work for us. Shes taught us to see our beauty from the inside out and to find that in other people. To appreciate what the world has to offer, whether it be the warm sun, the hard rain, a beautiful wave, the still water, the big bubbly clouds, the rainbows.


I love you momma! XOXO

Proud member of...

asapers 2.png
Banner by @shai-hulud

Sort:  

Mums are special, special and special. No words can describe well enough how much.

They don't only bring us to life, they keep us alive! Everything they do for us, every sacrifice we never know they are making.....

The Song Midnight Oil by Philips, Craig and Dean, for me says it all too far better than i can....how they influence us 'children'.

Give my hugs to 'mama' and just keeping near and dear that ageless heart always!

Thanks for your tribute to mama.

Thank you so much for the super special and sweet comment my dear! So happy to see you stop by! Ill pass on the hug! :)

aw loved this! and loled at the "hole in the condom"! hahaha! i could go on and on about my momma too. thanks for sharing! :) <3

Thanks for reading! And thats in her words!! The truth is the truth right?! lol
Thanks for stopping by!

What a beautiful dedication to your mom @smylie2005. I'll stop by later tonight to read more in detail. Just wanted to stop by briefly, comment, make sure I didn't forget. :)

Thank you for stopping by @beeyou! Youll learn a tad bit more about my wonderful momma! :)

This is so beautiful @smylie2005. What a special bond you have with your mother :) I used to work with my mom too as a dental assistant. Your mother sounds amazing and such creative women with a big heart. Great job on this post!

Thank you so much! We do have a very special bond. Shes a wonderful human, mother and grandma! Cant ask for better! :)

You have a Lovely family :-) am sure your mom is proud of you

Aw, thank you so very much! <3

Your Mommy is really amazing ☺
Sophie is really lucky to be with her GrandMaa

if it werent for the birth of my eldest sister, she would have her degree

Maa always sacrifices her happiness for their children. Moms are the first teachers who would teach you and be with you till her last breath.

I am really happy to read about your Maa and your "Trio Gang" You guys are really awsome. Powerpuff Girls 😁


Stay Happy Stay Blessed Always

awwww moms, I'm lucky to have a super mom, I do not know what I'm going to do without her, is not there an elixir so that people do not age anymore? xD

firma 8.jpg

I wish that too 🙁

I sure wish there was! If you come across one please share! ;)

Thank you so much! She is pretty dang amazing! Thanks for the wonderful contest, I always love talking about my Maa! :D

You are lucky to have such a beautiful relationship with your mom and have her close. Your little Sophia looks a bit like her. My mom lives on a different continent and I don't get to see her as often as I wish. Great post!

Thank you for stopping by! I am very lucky to have the relationship that I do with her. We have always been very close and having Sophia has brought us closer! Even the hubby loves having her around us!

A tribute to your ma is always special in our eyes.

Congratulations, you have been upvoted and resteemed as part of #newbieresteemday's top 10 posts for the day!

We invite you to use our tag to connect with more of our members. To learn more: Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative)

Youre awesome @newbieresteemday! Thank you!

@smylie2005 couldn't complete reading your post because it reminds me of my late mum. She passed on about 13years ago. By the way, I love the pictures.
@antigenx

Aw, Im sorry to hear that! I hope you got to spend many days with her while you could. A mothers bond is something very special and it sounds like you embraced it. Thanks for stopping by!

That is such a sweet post. I loved learning about your relationship with your mom!

Thank you for stopping by and giving it a read! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56095.11
ETH 2533.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23